• Record Label: Old West
  • Release Date: Jul 27, 2004
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Katie
    Aug 9, 2004
    8
    It's solid throughout. Won't Be Home, In the Satellite Rides a Star, and Adelaide especially are top-notch. Definitely not as bad as they say, and worth repeated listens.
  2. CliffD
    Jan 25, 2005
    8
    This album is an example of how versatile these guys can be. Adelaide is the best song the 97s have ever put together. Tracks such as Won't Be Home and Friends Forever take us back to the "Too Far To Care" era. This is a very well rounded album and a great purchase.
  3. BradB
    Jul 27, 2004
    9
    Their most carefree songs (and best album) since their quintessential "Too Far to Care."
  4. Ricky
    Jul 27, 2004
    8
    Don't look for Satellite Rides Vol. 2. The Old 97s revert back to the days of Hitchike to Rhome and Wreck Your Life. The songs remain solid, but they may pale to some listeners because of the rustic production. Just listen to it several times and the album begins to shine brightly.
  5. TonyP
    Jul 31, 2004
    7
    Considering the quality of most of todays music, this album shines although next to their past efforts this is not the strongest. Highlights are "Won't Be Home", "Valium Waltz", and "In the Satellite Rides a Star".
  6. MilanC
    Aug 1, 2004
    9
    Great CD, give it a chance.
  7. markf
    Aug 11, 2004
    8
    I hope I don't sound like a broken record, but music reviewers are some of the most-worthless, brain-dead dofuses on the face of the Earth. This album doesn't "sound" like the last few. "There's something wrong with it!" The songs seem to change in style from track to track. "It's not 'cohesive'!" Oh my, they let three vocalists sing lead. "There's weak I hope I don't sound like a broken record, but music reviewers are some of the most-worthless, brain-dead dofuses on the face of the Earth. This album doesn't "sound" like the last few. "There's something wrong with it!" The songs seem to change in style from track to track. "It's not 'cohesive'!" Oh my, they let three vocalists sing lead. "There's weak songs!" It doesn't "seem" to progress to a new level. "They're coasting!" There are some quieter, low-key songs. "It's a drag!" (Look at the title, dork.) I'll admit that when I first played the album, I was disappointed. But unlike a "music reviewer", I didn't churn out a piece on auto-pilot that used much less thought than what went into even the "weakest" song on this album. I kept playing it, alongside other googd music, and the thing just grew on me. It's very heartfelt, even when in a couple of instances, it's being humorous ( i.e. "Coahuila".) This album eventually feels as comfortable as sharing problems with your best friend. You know you might not solve anything, but you will get some relief. Plus, there's nothing wrong with ANY of the songs, and after about three listens, it IS cohesive. End of NON-review. Expand
  8. DavidG
    Jul 29, 2004
    6
    This is a very good band who has consistently put out good to great music. That being said, Drag It Up truly feels like a hodgepodge of Old 97's songs. Very little consistency as a whole and a few songs are simply weak. Production sounds somewhat flat and lacking dynamics. Overall not bad per se, just doesn't live up to previous releases that well imho.
  9. jjmoney
    Sep 19, 2004
    9
    You either got it or you don't. Hard to explain, but this one stands up with their best. It's not easy to follow a masterpiece.
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Kind of a drag.
  2. Under The Radar
    80
    Old 97's have become synonymous with infectious melodies and whip-smart lyrics, and they don't disappoint on album number five. [#7]
  3. Magnet
    50
    Gradually succumbs to torpor, with track after track given over to midtempos and pretty-yet-languid riffing. [#64, p.104]