• Record Label: Epic
  • Release Date: Jul 17, 2015
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 161 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 161
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 15, 2016
    10
    Not another Future album will top Dirty Sprite 2, this was an outstanding album. Non-stop bangers, awesome hooks, and Future's grimy voice makes the tune more unique. Love it.
  2. Jul 22, 2015
    10
    1. If you're from rap genius you're woat
    2. Future is a genius
    3. DS2 is a great album, where Future goes back to his roots and displays his ability with legendary quotables
    4. Metro Boomin is a genius
  3. Jul 23, 2015
    10
    Everything you want from a Future album, done properly. Took his recent mixtapes and built upon them while still staying in the lane that his fans know and love. The people rating this a 0 are not fans of this type of music and thus are not giving this LP a proper review, as they are judging it from their narrow perspective of what they believe music should be.
  4. Jul 21, 2015
    10
    By far best project by Future, beats are even better than they used to be. Lyrics are nothing special but that's not what it's about when talking about Future. 10/10 album.
  5. Jul 25, 2015
    8
    Future's DS2 is a great album, and his first one at that. The first noticeable improvement over his previous two projects, Pluto and Honest, is that it is more consistent. No song is above an 8.5/10, but fortunately, no song is below 7/10 either, whereas Honest had Future's best track to this date ("Move That Dope") and his worst ("I Be U") and Pluto had some outright weak tracks. This isFuture's DS2 is a great album, and his first one at that. The first noticeable improvement over his previous two projects, Pluto and Honest, is that it is more consistent. No song is above an 8.5/10, but fortunately, no song is below 7/10 either, whereas Honest had Future's best track to this date ("Move That Dope") and his worst ("I Be U") and Pluto had some outright weak tracks. This is what prevented Pluto and Honest from being great. No matter how impressive DS2's consistency was, my favorite thing about DS2 is its production. Though DS2 "bangs" like nearly all other trap albums, the production here is definitely more experimental than that of Pluto and Honest and most other trap albums. Though I didn't love a few of the tracks' production nearly as much as the others, for the most part it has the most impressive production on a trap album I've heard in a while. Though each song might sound relatively similar with its heavy basslines, rattling hi-hats and sharp snare drum hits (which is what you would expect from a trap artist) what sets each track apart is its instrumentation. "Thought It Was a Drought" is based off of an electric guitar and glockenspiel loop, "I Serve the Base" is based off of a video game-esque vibrato bassline, "Where Ya At" contains an echoing banjo riff, "Slave Master" being arguably the most cinematic song of the album, with its looped strings, "Rich $ex" containing breathy vocals and "Blood on the Money" reminiscent of a synth-string and reverbed piano ballad of the 1980s. Even lyrically, Future has improved. If Pluto was a full display of Future's prowess as an astronaut, it can be divided into two sections, Honest, his emotional side and DS2, the side of him that never wants to stop taking drugs. Along with the improved druggy aesthetic that DS2 brings to the table reminiscent of Live.Love.A$AP by A$AP Rocky, his rhymes and subject matter have seriously improved. Though he still isn't mindblowing lyrically, he definitely has improved since Pluto and Honest. Also, DS2 is the most original Future project to date: though some of the trap instrumentals and lyrics are similar to what other rappers are doing today, Future brings a druggy aesthetic to the table with experimental instrumentation that I haven't seen since Live.Love.A$AP. Overall, this is a must-listen for all fans of Future, and trap in general. Grade: B+. Highlights: "Thought It Was a Drought", "Where Ya At", "Groupies", "Rotation", "Blood on the Money". Worst song: "Freak Hoe" Expand
  6. Feb 11, 2016
    10
    Amazing, such a beautifully constructed album. Future be dropping those flames man, the heat is intense within DS2. Although, it is not as good as 56 Nights
  7. Jul 23, 2015
    7
    Okay Dirty Sprite 2 is a good album, but nothing phenomenal. DS2 is very consistent it opens up with good tracks like Thouht it was a Drought to Where Ya at. The album seems to die down a bit, but not too much with tracks like Colossal, Freak Hoe and Stick Talk. DS2 has amazing beats and Future uses them to the fullest, the album is good without features expect Drake who was good. The bestOkay Dirty Sprite 2 is a good album, but nothing phenomenal. DS2 is very consistent it opens up with good tracks like Thouht it was a Drought to Where Ya at. The album seems to die down a bit, but not too much with tracks like Colossal, Freak Hoe and Stick Talk. DS2 has amazing beats and Future uses them to the fullest, the album is good without features expect Drake who was good. The best tracks are Blood on the Money, Rich $ex, Blow a Bag and Thought It Was a Drought. This is a good Future album though it doesn't have stellar tracks like move that dope or Same damn but this is growth of Future and a Good album. Expand
  8. Aug 6, 2015
    7
    dope album but 56 nights better. Commas is good, thought it was a drought, serve the base, one of the sizable amount of dope joints on here. some are A bit monotonous for my liking. and yes bark, I'm from rap genius
  9. Jul 23, 2015
    0
    It's absolute **** Quite possibly the worst album I've ever listened to in my entire life.Sounds just like every other mixtape some guy's giving away for free on the streets.
  10. Jul 22, 2015
    0
    Just like every other trap album that there is out there. Pure garbage. I'm going back to listening to legendary albums such as Madvillainy by Madvillain and Below the Heavens by Blu and Exile.
  11. Aug 12, 2015
    4
    Future really pushed the listener on this one. And guess what, its not in a good way. 1 hour of future is too much especially when there is only one feature. Theres not really any emotion in his voice and some of these lyrics are just ridiculous (his fans seem to just give him a pass on that -_____-) its like he wants to be made into a meme .I've heard some people call him Future HendrixFuture really pushed the listener on this one. And guess what, its not in a good way. 1 hour of future is too much especially when there is only one feature. Theres not really any emotion in his voice and some of these lyrics are just ridiculous (his fans seem to just give him a pass on that -_____-) its like he wants to be made into a meme .I've heard some people call him Future Hendrix and i don't know if thats a joke or not i really hope it is. Expand
  12. Sep 11, 2015
    3
    Just a garbage, every song sounds the same. I only like Where Ya At, Blow a Bag and F*ck Up Some Commas. Every song is produced by Metro Boomin and sounds simply, and it's boring!
  13. Dec 7, 2015
    6
    Future has an untouchable style, to give him that, but this is just production carrying him through it all. He has a lot of potential as he has flow and personality but he needs to be understandable to start. Overall good production. Future has potential.
  14. Aug 17, 2015
    9
    Sonically, this is the greatest pure trap album of all time and pretty close to being a classic. So many people judge trap albums (and gangsta rap albums, as well) because of subject matter, but trap artists' music reflects their reality. Their subject matter can't be judged simply because a listener doesn't live like this (some of these feelings certainly stem from lowkey racism). This isSonically, this is the greatest pure trap album of all time and pretty close to being a classic. So many people judge trap albums (and gangsta rap albums, as well) because of subject matter, but trap artists' music reflects their reality. Their subject matter can't be judged simply because a listener doesn't live like this (some of these feelings certainly stem from lowkey racism). This is an astoundingly consistent album packed with good songs with a couple standouts mixed in. I was worried when I saw there was one feature on this album. It's always a bold move on a rap album, but it paid off for Future. He's clearly mastered his distinctive, trap ATL sound with help from Metro Boomin, Sonny Digital, Zaytoven, Southside, etc. DS2 is prime mixtape Future, with not a single attempt at mainstream crossover pop success. As he says on I Serve The Base, they tried to make him a pop star, but they made a monster.
    ~ 8.8/10 ~ including deluxe tracks: 8.9/10
    Best track: "Groupies"
    Other notable tracks: "Thought It Was A Drought", "I Serve The Base", "Where Ya At", "Stick Talk", "Trap **** "Kno The Meaning" & **** Up Some Commas"
    Expand
  15. Jul 22, 2015
    10
    1. Barrk is fgt who won't 1v1 me rust
    2. Ktt is all that matters now, the meek drake thread 14 x more active than RG LMAO
    3. That reviewer who gave this album a 1/5 stupid as **** and think they're cute saying "the future is as bleak as Future" ****ing **** don't understand music 4. Album is 8.5 out of 10 but giving a 10 to balance out all the backpackers giving it 0 bc its future
    1. Barrk is fgt who won't 1v1 me rust
    2. Ktt is all that matters now, the meek drake thread 14 x more active than RG LMAO
    3. That reviewer who gave this album a 1/5 stupid as **** and think they're cute saying "the future is as bleak as Future" ****ing **** don't understand music
    4. Album is 8.5 out of 10 but giving a 10 to balance out all the backpackers giving it 0 bc its future

    FUTUREHIVE ****
    Expand
  16. Jul 26, 2015
    7
    This album really grew on me, I'd still say that Beast Mode and 56 Nights are superior projects, but this album is a serious trip down codeine lane and I loved (almost) every moment of it.
  17. Oct 19, 2015
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Every beat that was placed on DS2 was near perfection. Future digs deep into the new Southside sound and provides his fans a great album. Only people who should have a critical review of this album are actual trap fans. You 0 raters have got to respect other genres of rap or just rap in general. If you didn't like this album at least respect it.

    every track is great.
    Expand
  18. Sep 12, 2015
    9
    Personally, it comes no. 2 in my favorite future projects (beast mode coming 1), but it is a cleaner, refined sound and future comes both in a explosive yet controlled manner and shows the mind state of a man coming off a successful 3peat of impressive mixtapes. 2015 has been a good year for mr hendrix
  19. Jun 1, 2016
    8
    This is a pretty great album. Future's album is pretty dope. From songs like Where Ya At to Blow A Bag, this is an album mainly directed at trap-rap fans.
  20. Apr 13, 2017
    10
    Not another Future album will top Dirty Sprite 2, this was an outstanding album. Non-stop bangers, awesome hooks, and Future's grimy voice makes the tune more unique. Love it. Collapse
  21. Feb 23, 2017
    7
    It's not a bad album. I hated Honest, I'm just being honest. The highest rated piece of trash I have heard (aside from Move That Dope being bump worthy) goes to that album for sure. I never understood his reason of using auto-tune as an emotional factor.......that is, until I heard this album. The atmospheric, druggy aesthetic is one of the most unique things I have heard on any hip hopIt's not a bad album. I hated Honest, I'm just being honest. The highest rated piece of trash I have heard (aside from Move That Dope being bump worthy) goes to that album for sure. I never understood his reason of using auto-tune as an emotional factor.......that is, until I heard this album. The atmospheric, druggy aesthetic is one of the most unique things I have heard on any hip hop album. The album has a subtle narrative too. Future takes drugs and takes us to a world only druggies know, with music, until the last track (Blood On The Money), where he narrates his painful story of his own drug abuse since he was a young kid, and that he's still addicted to it. This album made me more interested in Future's songs, and made me enter his 3 stellar mixtapes (Monster, Beast Mode, and 56 Nights). I love the cohesiveness of the album. However, the weakness is its strength too. The songs are so cohesive, they sometimes sound the same (Rotation and Slave Master for example). However, many of his songs were enjoyable too. The songs sounded unique but they have commercial appeal too. The subtle narrative is manic, and some of the beats hit harder than a wrestler's punch. The bonus tracks are pretty gritty too. If you want lyrics, just don't listen to this album, it's for the sound, not the songwriting.
    Fav Tracks: I Serve The Base, Lil One, Groupies, Blood On The Money (best track), Thought It Was A Drought, The Percocet and Stripper Joint, **** Up Some Commas
    Expand
  22. Jul 28, 2019
    6
    I'm not sure if it's the "borderline classic" that so many fans label it, but it's still a good project. Mostly because of the absolutely absurd production from Metro Boomin. Future's depressed, melancholic vocals around these seemingly hollow themes is pretty intriguing, but there just isn't enough substance for it to be the true trap classic people label it as, unless you grade it on aI'm not sure if it's the "borderline classic" that so many fans label it, but it's still a good project. Mostly because of the absolutely absurd production from Metro Boomin. Future's depressed, melancholic vocals around these seemingly hollow themes is pretty intriguing, but there just isn't enough substance for it to be the true trap classic people label it as, unless you grade it on a curve of how most bland most trap music is. Expand
  23. Jun 30, 2020
    10
    When we talk about "the trap album", it has to be either this or rodeo. DS2 has everything you could hope for off a track record, mix of hard-hitting, psychedelic, emotional and raw music.

    The production is on point with every track, with producers like Metro, 808 Mafia, Esco, Southside etc. you can hardly expect misses. Future's range is incredible here. He has both aggressive and
    When we talk about "the trap album", it has to be either this or rodeo. DS2 has everything you could hope for off a track record, mix of hard-hitting, psychedelic, emotional and raw music.

    The production is on point with every track, with producers like Metro, 808 Mafia, Esco, Southside etc. you can hardly expect misses.

    Future's range is incredible here. He has both aggressive and calm delivery, witty and emotional lyrics with his raw (sometimes autotuned) vocals.

    Only a few gap-tracks, maybe like 3, but even they go hard. The greatest trap record ever, the pinnacle of the genre for me. Full of tracks that now stay on my playlist.
    Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. The Source
    Oct 20, 2015
    80
    The album is sonically pleasing. [#267, p.92]
  2. Oct 8, 2015
    67
    Dirty Sprite 2, Nayvadius DeMun Wilburn's third album, is his most epicurean work yet.
  3. Aug 24, 2015
    90
    DS2 finds a hellish, motivating power by articulating how it’s possible to have the best time of your life during the worst time of your life. And it all sounds so good.