Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
Buy On
  1. 91
    Side B is that bash: intimate yet inclusive, with an invitation personally delivered by hand.
  2. Dec 12, 2016
    80
    Even if it's not as full of surprises as the original album was, E-MO-TION [Side B] might be even more cohesive--and should delight fans of perfectly crafted pop just as much.
  3. Sep 8, 2016
    80
    Carly Rae captures the glitz and glamour and grime and sex and directionless sadness and anxiety of her listeners so, so well, and the way it’s wrapped up in an endlessly compelling composition of synth jams, funk accessories, and modern electro-pop makes it even better.
  4. Sep 8, 2016
    80
    Unlike many B-side collections, much of E•MO•TION: Side B has single potential to the point where it's crazy that high-energy synth-pop gems like "First Time," "Higher" and "Body Language" were left off of E•MO•TION for mid-tempo bonus cuts like "Black Heart."
  5. Sep 8, 2016
    71
    That the songs can sound enormous while maintaining this kind of person-to-person intimacy is Jepsen’s particular talent.
  6. Sep 16, 2016
    55
    The success of Emotion and its predecessor, Kiss, was a product of balance. ... Side B does not find that balance, and is most instructive in the ways it illuminates her process. It lets us peek in on the misfits that are the product of every pop album, and hints at the unsexy labor of music-making.
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 173 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 173
  2. Negative: 12 out of 173
  1. Sep 26, 2016
    10
    O album pop mais conceitual que você respeita. Carly acertou mais uma vez nessa continuação do Emotion. Merecia ser mais reconhecida no mundoO album pop mais conceitual que você respeita. Carly acertou mais uma vez nessa continuação do Emotion. Merecia ser mais reconhecida no mundo pop atual, que está em carência de produção mais originais e criativas com essa. Full Review »
  2. Sep 17, 2016
    10
    Este lado B a demostrado ser mejor que Emotion sin duda Sonidos que te hacen volver a la Era de los 80s, Gracias Carly por dejar la buenaEste lado B a demostrado ser mejor que Emotion sin duda Sonidos que te hacen volver a la Era de los 80s, Gracias Carly por dejar la buena música Pop en Side B Full Review »
  3. Sep 10, 2016
    10
    As a pop music lover and child of the80s I feel I am frequently being disappointed, told my taste is out of date...and then this gem from CRJAs a pop music lover and child of the80s I feel I am frequently being disappointed, told my taste is out of date...and then this gem from CRJ appeared!. The songs are simple in emotion but the music is layered and rich. There is no need to over think the content . You just sit back and absorb... CRJ really understands the music of this era and produces it effortlessly. I encourage everyone to just listen! Full Review »