Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
Buy On
  1. Apr 24, 2017
    60
    She doesn’t do anything to stamp her identity on the songs: good as they are, you’re struck by the sense you could be listening to anyone. It’s one problem that all the expensive names in the credits can’t solve, a single glaring imperfection in an album of otherwise perfect pop.
  2. Aug 19, 2015
    60
    For all its unexpected sounds and catchy choruses, Emotion falters in its lyrical blandness.
  3. Aug 19, 2015
    60
    Emotion is full of pure cotton candy--delicious, distractingly sweet and filling, with a mildly suspicious aftertaste.... [The album is] full of excellent songs that seem to give up about two-thirds of the way through.
  4. Aug 18, 2015
    60
    E·MO·TION is still a very pleasing album if not just a shade overambitious, clearly trying too hard to make the same genius pop moments that Kiss churned them out with effortless flair.
  5. Due to the era the album fetishes, the music sounds inescapably chintzy.... Jepsen’s improbably young voice helps distract from that.
  6. Sep 8, 2015
    40
    Carly Rae Jepsen and her production team try overly hard to be clever. In the end, what's left is a record that takes itself too seriously to be taken seriously by anyone else.
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 750 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 38 out of 750
  1. Aug 21, 2015
    10
    Carly Rae Jepsen's E•MO•TION is a LEAP forward for, not only Carly herself but also, pop music. Kiss was a GREAT underrated cleverly writtenCarly Rae Jepsen's E•MO•TION is a LEAP forward for, not only Carly herself but also, pop music. Kiss was a GREAT underrated cleverly written and well produced pop record that didn't do well due to the general public losing interest, but E•MO•TION is past trying to chart and please the general public. E•MO•TION is a 17 track collection, handpicked out of over 200 tracks produced for this record. E•MO•TION is 80's pop GOLD, the production is filled with glittering and gleaming synths and beats, the writing is clever and matured, and (unlike with Kiss) it hits the point it was trying to reach perfectly. Highlights on the album include 'Run Away With Me', 'All That', 'Your Type', 'Let's Get Lost', 'Black Heart', and 'Love Again'. Well done Carly, you have a classic pop album under your belt! I'm very excited to see where you will go from here. Full Review »
  2. Aug 21, 2015
    10
    E•MO•TION é simplesmente perfeito do começo ao fim, Carly conseguiu trazer tudo o que qualquer admirador de musica pop espera: vocais bons,E•MO•TION é simplesmente perfeito do começo ao fim, Carly conseguiu trazer tudo o que qualquer admirador de musica pop espera: vocais bons, composições boas e produções simplesmente fantásticas. Desde a primeira faixa ''Run Away with Me'' ate a ultima ''Love Again'' podemos enxergar a evolução musical e o amadurecimento da cantora em comparação ao ultimo album ''Kiss''. Ela conseguiu construir um álbum pop maduro e com referencias oitentistas que superou qualquer álbum pop lançado nessa década. A Carly não é uma superstar mundialmente famosa, ou uma hitmarker com inúmeros hits ou uma grande diva do pop mas ela conseguiu sem duvidas trazer um álbum tão bom que qualquer artista pop gostaria de ter em sua carreira. Carly Rae Jepsen lançar um álbum pop tão bom como o E•MO•TION não é surpresa nenhuma, a Carly apenas de Call Me Maybe como é conhecida por muitos lançar um álbum como o E•MO•TION é uma grande surpresa, talvez um dia ela possa ser reconhecida pelo seu trabalho com um excelente álbum como é o E•MO•TION, e não por uma musica pop chiclete como Call Me Maybe, talvez assim eu ainda tenha esperança na humanidade.

    Melhores musicas do álbum: Run Away With Me, All That, E•MO•TION, Gimmie Love e Favourite Colour.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 21, 2015
    10
    Best songs: Run Away With Me, E•MO•TION, I Really Like You, Gimmie Love, All That, Your Type, Let's Get Lost & When I Needed You.

    Worst
    Best songs: Run Away With Me, E•MO•TION, I Really Like You, Gimmie Love, All That, Your Type, Let's Get Lost & When I Needed You.

    Worst song: LA Hallucinations
    Full Review »