User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 813 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 53 out of 813
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 16, 2018
    10
    Talented, brilliant, incredible, amazing, show stopping, spectacular, never the same, totally unique
  2. Feb 21, 2018
    10
    Uma obra prima, um dos melhores albuns que eu já ouvi na minha vida. Carly rainha
  3. Aug 4, 2019
    7
    I think in general this album is really creative and nostalgic, especially for the first half of the album! I think the weakest track would have to be Your Type, which is a song that most people like, but to me, it just sounds more bland, uneventful and flavorless compared to the others, and also the song When I Needed You. Most people dislike the track Warm Blood, but I think althoughI think in general this album is really creative and nostalgic, especially for the first half of the album! I think the weakest track would have to be Your Type, which is a song that most people like, but to me, it just sounds more bland, uneventful and flavorless compared to the others, and also the song When I Needed You. Most people dislike the track Warm Blood, but I think although hard to digest at first listens, it is one of the most creative and fun tracks on the album. Expand
  4. Nov 10, 2018
    9
    Um álbum super gostosinho de ouvir, com batidas "catchy" e músicas chicletes que ficam na cabeça o dia todo. Álbum super POP com seu tema principal baseando-se em superação de relacionamentos/relacionamentos não superados (confuso, pois é). Além do flerte inicial dos namoros e o sentimento inicial do namoro. O seja, namoros é o tema principal. (Fútil pra alguns, interessante pra outros)
    O
    Um álbum super gostosinho de ouvir, com batidas "catchy" e músicas chicletes que ficam na cabeça o dia todo. Álbum super POP com seu tema principal baseando-se em superação de relacionamentos/relacionamentos não superados (confuso, pois é). Além do flerte inicial dos namoros e o sentimento inicial do namoro. O seja, namoros é o tema principal. (Fútil pra alguns, interessante pra outros)
    O álbum perde um pouquinho de força do meio pro fim, as músicas ficam meio monótonas e iguais.
    Destaque: Pra gostosíssima "Making the most of the night", "Boy problems" com seu término de relacionamento e claro, os singles "Run away with me" e "I really like you"
    Expand
  5. May 9, 2019
    8
    A exemplary great pop album. I enjoy 13 of 15 tracks with the initial listen. The production is perfect!!! Although the songwriting is very normal, a lot of melodies are catchy. She isn't a outstanding vocalist but the vocal is still enjoyable. Hope CRJ4 is a solid follow-up album of EMOTION.
    Favs: Emotion, Gimmie Love, All that, Making The Most Of The Night, Let's Get Lost, Warm Blood,
    A exemplary great pop album. I enjoy 13 of 15 tracks with the initial listen. The production is perfect!!! Although the songwriting is very normal, a lot of melodies are catchy. She isn't a outstanding vocalist but the vocal is still enjoyable. Hope CRJ4 is a solid follow-up album of EMOTION.
    Favs: Emotion, Gimmie Love, All that, Making The Most Of The Night, Let's Get Lost, Warm Blood, Black Heart, I Didn't Just Come Here To Dance
    Worst: LA Hallucinations, When I Needed You
    Expand
  6. Dec 20, 2021
    8
    I cannot overstate the rush of pure great pop other than to say Carly has mastered it. This right here takes immediacy, quality and consistency and serves them up as if anyone one could do it(although no one could at this level). Underappreciated gem, this album is the benchmark for any pop starlet or breakout pop artists ambition, taking the familiar 80's revival pop most notable inI cannot overstate the rush of pure great pop other than to say Carly has mastered it. This right here takes immediacy, quality and consistency and serves them up as if anyone one could do it(although no one could at this level). Underappreciated gem, this album is the benchmark for any pop starlet or breakout pop artists ambition, taking the familiar 80's revival pop most notable in Taylor Swift's 1989 to higher more satisfying highs. Where ever Carly had previously lacked here she compensates with masterful writing, raspy vocals and a collaboration of enviable producer's. Monumental in the pop canon . Expand
  7. Jul 7, 2019
    10
    There is just one way to describe carly rae jepsen's discography: pop perfection. This album is not the exception, there are no skips in this piece of art
  8. Jun 7, 2019
    9
    Muito bom, pop de qualidade com letras muito boas, um dos melhores álbuns pop de 2015, pena que teve pouco reconhecimento
  9. Sep 17, 2021
    10
    Pop at its peak. Every song is great, encapsulates stuff most music doesn't or if it is a common subject it is done in a perfect way. Run Away With Me is a top 10 2010's Pop Song, and there isn't a single skip on this album
  10. Mar 11, 2019
    8
    it's a pretty solid, slick, humid and very bubblegum pop record. with some girlish poetry, humming electro-pop sounds, proper 70's references and generic hooks carly rae jepsen is picturing a warm good old fantasy of being in love and post-affection. and that's all that she could do with this emotion.
  11. Jun 18, 2019
    10
    um dos melhores albuns pop da decada, todas as musicas sao otimas principalmente favorite color
  12. Mar 28, 2020
    10
    Can you say... legendary? Goddamn miss Jepsen, you deserved grammy of the history, well no, phuck u ascammys
  13. Oct 4, 2019
    9
    Esta cm, el concepto, la voz, las letras podrá sonar un poco genérico después de las primeras 5 canciones pero si les pones atención..es pop puro
  14. May 17, 2019
    10
    Feels that you never feel before. Carly put you in a whole travel of emotions and feelings
  15. May 26, 2019
    10
    A masterclass in modern pop music. The other pop stars should be taking notes. Favorites: Run Away with Me, Gimmie Love, Your Type.
  16. Jun 7, 2019
    10
    Pop Masterpiece!!! Every song is a bop! Can't tell the number of times I've put the record on repeat! Amazing bangers!
  17. May 24, 2019
    8
    Em EMOTION, Carly Rae Jepsen constrói músicas extremamente divertidas, que não somente dialoga com o pop contemporâneo, como revive maravilhosamente a magia do pop dos anos 80.
  18. May 22, 2019
    10
    E•MO•TION is one of those albums that you wanna hear over and over again, and each time you do that, you get yourself a new favourite track. Jepsen's evolution is something remarkable as a songwritter and a competent singer, so much better than her sweet and pink Kiss (2012). This album is a prove that Call Me Maybe is not the only thing the world needs to see of her. Highlights: Run AwayE•MO•TION is one of those albums that you wanna hear over and over again, and each time you do that, you get yourself a new favourite track. Jepsen's evolution is something remarkable as a songwritter and a competent singer, so much better than her sweet and pink Kiss (2012). This album is a prove that Call Me Maybe is not the only thing the world needs to see of her. Highlights: Run Away With Me, Gimmie Love, All That, Your Type, Never Get To Hold You (Target Edition Track) Expand
  19. Jul 2, 2019
    10
    Lo mejor que el escuchado en mi vida lo amo un explorador musical
  20. Sep 13, 2019
    9
    Carly Rae Jepsen came back to prove she was not a one trick pony and you know what? She did it. Carly Rae has managed to produce an amazing pop album that is both strong and surprising. Certainly one of the best pop albums of 2015!

    Emotion is terrific, like seriously. Not only is Emotion an ensemble of sterling pop, it’s a creative breakthrough on par with Robyn and Speak Now. Forgive
    Carly Rae Jepsen came back to prove she was not a one trick pony and you know what? She did it. Carly Rae has managed to produce an amazing pop album that is both strong and surprising. Certainly one of the best pop albums of 2015!

    Emotion is terrific, like seriously. Not only is Emotion an ensemble of sterling pop, it’s a creative breakthrough on par with Robyn and Speak Now. Forgive my unbridled enthusiasm, which resembles a teenager’s lack of composure. Blame this artist’s impeccable taste and canny vision, realized on Emotion with blinding Technicolor. This is a strong album and there are no weak tracks here. In fact, I enjoyed every track on the album, obviously some more than others. The album feels a lot more focused than Kiss, it is totally energetic with a great retro 80s feel. Her voice is getting stronger and the production is not just cookie cutter pop, it is slick, polished and first class but what’s truly fascinating about the album is how naturally and authentic the music comes across here. Many singers pipe out love songs but it's obvious that the songs were entirely written by someone else.

    Where Emotion stumbles, it merely wobbles, never falling completely out of line. The albums tracks all speak to the message of Emotion and while there were moments on Carly's previous album Kiss where some songs lowkey felt like a Call Me Maybe rehash, Emotion moves out of that song's shadow and each new song offers something new and exciting. This album was destined to become a pop classic and it already is!

    - i really, really really, really, really, really like you track/s: Run Away With Me, Favorite Color, Warm Blood
    - issa skip ma’am track/s: *crickets*
    Expand
  21. Aug 29, 2020
    10
    Art pop
    the 80's is comeback , this is music , Disco and Pop , Carly is the great singer and E.MO.TION IS PERFECT
  22. Sep 14, 2019
    10
    This album was clearly a standout from 2015. It was so strong and likely Carly's most cohesive work to this date. It may not have had a huge social impact, but it remains a cult favorite, especially in LGBTQ+ circles. Carly is a great songwriter and composer and it shows on this album.
  23. Oct 21, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Nunca en mi vida había escuchado un álbum tan perfecto. Que pecado tan grande que no haya tenido el éxito que merece. Expand
  24. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    This is the definition of pop perfection! Simply one of my favorite pop albums of the decade.
  25. May 9, 2020
    10
    «E•MO•TION» is as solid and spotless a pop album as you're likely to hear this year (2015), the result of several years working alongside a storied list of contributors... but «E•MO•TION» fails to tell us who Jepsen is or wants to be. The result is a nearly anonymous album of stellar pop music, one where it seems all the attention was placed not on positioning Carly Rae as a cultural«E•MO•TION» is as solid and spotless a pop album as you're likely to hear this year (2015), the result of several years working alongside a storied list of contributors... but «E•MO•TION» fails to tell us who Jepsen is or wants to be. The result is a nearly anonymous album of stellar pop music, one where it seems all the attention was placed not on positioning Carly Rae as a cultural force, but on making sure «E•MO•TION» makes you smile. Expand
  26. Apr 30, 2020
    10
    emotion is THE pop album. the production is so beautiful and the songs on the album are all masterpieces. not a single song is bad. i can barely form words to express how i feel about this album, thank you for this album crj. my top 3 songs include run away with me, emotion, and i didnt just come here to dance.
  27. Jul 21, 2020
    9
    Carly Rae Jepsen's EMOTION is one of the best pop albums of the last decade. Absolutely love the 80s sound in her album, lots of bops. This album is beautiful, lovely, fun, fresh, young and full of emotions and I understand why it's called EMOTION.

    Fav tracks : Run Away With Me, Emotion, Your Type, Warm Blood... basically 90% of the album.
  28. Mar 28, 2021
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. THE BEST POP ALBUM OF 2010'S
    Hands down
    AND YES ADULTS DESERVE HAPPY POP ALBUMS TOO
    SO GO FOR IT AND LISTEN
    Expand
  29. Jul 24, 2020
    9
    Probably one of the best pop albums of the past decade. Rich stories told with sounds pulled from different decades past and mixed it looking to the future.
  30. Aug 7, 2020
    10
    EMOTION de Carly Rae Jepsen es el álbum perfecto para personas que aman y disfrutan de la música pop, canciones muy distintas pero a la vez unificadas con la letra que te lleva de viaje a vivir una aventura amorosa y las letras si bien son algo superficiales en algunas canciones cumplen la función de hablarnos del amor.
  31. Nov 20, 2020
    10
    Carly Rae Jepsen perfects pop on E•MO•TION, arguably the greatest pure pop album of the 2010's.
  32. Nov 26, 2020
    9
    I'm not usually a fan of pop, but holy crap is this good. The production and instrumentation is familiar but innovative enough to remain interesting. The use of saxophone and slap bass works surprisingly well with the 80s inspired 2000s pop sound. The songwriting is also immaculate. Pretty much every song has this fantastic build up to their choruses (which are amazing and anthemic)
  33. Jan 22, 2021
    10
    We are talking about one of the best pop albums of the past decade, this album is incredibly fantastic, all the songs are a masterpiece, without a doubt one of the best albums of his career, highlighting the masterpiece of "All That" is impressive what Jepsen can do!
  34. Jan 8, 2022
    9
    One of THE best albums of this decade! It is incomparable to any other record, including Carly Rae Jepsen's first album. The beats, lyrics and vocals are on point. This is a good, good, GOOD album that you should buy.
    The best songs are La Hallucinations, Run Away With Me, Let's Get Lost, When I Needed You and Making the Most Of The Night.
  35. Jul 22, 2021
    10
    One word: underrated. This is no doubt one of the best pop albums in the 2010s, if you want to listen to pop perfection then a listen to this album will make you dance all the time. All the songs slap and are total bops. It contains arguably one of the best pop songs of the decade 'Run Away With Me' and as for the others, they're all fantastic too. Extraordinary album that has everyOne word: underrated. This is no doubt one of the best pop albums in the 2010s, if you want to listen to pop perfection then a listen to this album will make you dance all the time. All the songs slap and are total bops. It contains arguably one of the best pop songs of the decade 'Run Away With Me' and as for the others, they're all fantastic too. Extraordinary album that has every element that makes it what it really is. Expand
  36. Oct 16, 2021
    10
    I call this, Pop Bible. Changed the pop industry forever. This album is just incredible.
  37. Jul 17, 2022
    10
    She made THE pop album, she made a masterpiece, every single song is amazing.
  38. Jul 16, 2022
    9
    E•MO•TION de Carly Rae Jepsen é um salto para frente, não apenas para a própria Carly, mas também para a música pop, é OURO pop dos anos 80, a produção é repleta de sintetizadores e batidas brilhantes e reluzentes, a escrita é inteligente e amadurecida, e atinge o ponto que estava tentando alcançar perfeitamente.
  39. Nov 8, 2022
    10
    It simply DID IT, addicting pop melodies, greatly produced -enough to get you relistening to everything for basically forever- Dont even get me started, its just THAT album.
  40. Dec 9, 2022
    7
    While the album has songs with a very good vibe, there are also some songs that are boring, but it's a good album.
  41. Sep 1, 2023
    10
    This album is the definition of "pop perfection" it's been 8 years since the release of the album and up to this day no one can compare to this masterpiece, Carly capture the essence of 80s, 90s synth pop into a modern day album pop. It is a experience listening to this album
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Apr 24, 2017
    60
    She doesn’t do anything to stamp her identity on the songs: good as they are, you’re struck by the sense you could be listening to anyone. It’s one problem that all the expensive names in the credits can’t solve, a single glaring imperfection in an album of otherwise perfect pop.
  2. Jun 1, 2016
    80
    E MO TION is no fluke. It doesn’t grip you by the heels but instead lures you into a full-bodied embrace that is iron-clad, it’s simply up to you to give it the chance to do so.
  3. Sep 25, 2015
    80
    Emotion succeeds on its own terms, arguably remaining truer to the spirit of the era, not to mention Jepsen’s stated aim of taking the time to craft an album rather than rushing to cash in on a YouTube sensation.