User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 813 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 53 out of 813
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 1, 2023
    10
    This album is the definition of "pop perfection" it's been 8 years since the release of the album and up to this day no one can compare to this masterpiece, Carly capture the essence of 80s, 90s synth pop into a modern day album pop. It is a experience listening to this album
  2. Dec 9, 2022
    7
    While the album has songs with a very good vibe, there are also some songs that are boring, but it's a good album.
  3. Nov 8, 2022
    10
    It simply DID IT, addicting pop melodies, greatly produced -enough to get you relistening to everything for basically forever- Dont even get me started, its just THAT album.
  4. Mar 28, 2021
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. THE BEST POP ALBUM OF 2010'S
    Hands down
    AND YES ADULTS DESERVE HAPPY POP ALBUMS TOO
    SO GO FOR IT AND LISTEN
    Expand
  5. Jul 17, 2022
    10
    She made THE pop album, she made a masterpiece, every single song is amazing.
  6. Jul 16, 2022
    9
    E•MO•TION de Carly Rae Jepsen é um salto para frente, não apenas para a própria Carly, mas também para a música pop, é OURO pop dos anos 80, a produção é repleta de sintetizadores e batidas brilhantes e reluzentes, a escrita é inteligente e amadurecida, e atinge o ponto que estava tentando alcançar perfeitamente.
  7. Jan 8, 2022
    9
    One of THE best albums of this decade! It is incomparable to any other record, including Carly Rae Jepsen's first album. The beats, lyrics and vocals are on point. This is a good, good, GOOD album that you should buy.
    The best songs are La Hallucinations, Run Away With Me, Let's Get Lost, When I Needed You and Making the Most Of The Night.
  8. Dec 20, 2021
    8
    I cannot overstate the rush of pure great pop other than to say Carly has mastered it. This right here takes immediacy, quality and consistency and serves them up as if anyone one could do it(although no one could at this level). Underappreciated gem, this album is the benchmark for any pop starlet or breakout pop artists ambition, taking the familiar 80's revival pop most notable inI cannot overstate the rush of pure great pop other than to say Carly has mastered it. This right here takes immediacy, quality and consistency and serves them up as if anyone one could do it(although no one could at this level). Underappreciated gem, this album is the benchmark for any pop starlet or breakout pop artists ambition, taking the familiar 80's revival pop most notable in Taylor Swift's 1989 to higher more satisfying highs. Where ever Carly had previously lacked here she compensates with masterful writing, raspy vocals and a collaboration of enviable producer's. Monumental in the pop canon . Expand
  9. Oct 16, 2021
    10
    I call this, Pop Bible. Changed the pop industry forever. This album is just incredible.
  10. Sep 17, 2021
    10
    Pop at its peak. Every song is great, encapsulates stuff most music doesn't or if it is a common subject it is done in a perfect way. Run Away With Me is a top 10 2010's Pop Song, and there isn't a single skip on this album
  11. Jul 22, 2021
    10
    One word: underrated. This is no doubt one of the best pop albums in the 2010s, if you want to listen to pop perfection then a listen to this album will make you dance all the time. All the songs slap and are total bops. It contains arguably one of the best pop songs of the decade 'Run Away With Me' and as for the others, they're all fantastic too. Extraordinary album that has everyOne word: underrated. This is no doubt one of the best pop albums in the 2010s, if you want to listen to pop perfection then a listen to this album will make you dance all the time. All the songs slap and are total bops. It contains arguably one of the best pop songs of the decade 'Run Away With Me' and as for the others, they're all fantastic too. Extraordinary album that has every element that makes it what it really is. Expand
  12. Jan 22, 2021
    10
    We are talking about one of the best pop albums of the past decade, this album is incredibly fantastic, all the songs are a masterpiece, without a doubt one of the best albums of his career, highlighting the masterpiece of "All That" is impressive what Jepsen can do!
  13. Nov 26, 2020
    9
    I'm not usually a fan of pop, but holy crap is this good. The production and instrumentation is familiar but innovative enough to remain interesting. The use of saxophone and slap bass works surprisingly well with the 80s inspired 2000s pop sound. The songwriting is also immaculate. Pretty much every song has this fantastic build up to their choruses (which are amazing and anthemic)
  14. Nov 20, 2020
    10
    E•MO•TION is one of the best pop albums that I have had the opportunity to listen to. There are no bad songs on this album.
  15. Nov 20, 2020
    10
    Carly Rae Jepsen perfects pop on E•MO•TION, arguably the greatest pure pop album of the 2010's.
  16. Aug 29, 2020
    10
    Art pop
    the 80's is comeback , this is music , Disco and Pop , Carly is the great singer and E.MO.TION IS PERFECT
  17. Aug 21, 2020
    10
    Uno de los mejores trabajos musicales de la década del 2010 y a su vez, el más infravalorado de todos.
  18. Aug 7, 2020
    10
    EMOTION de Carly Rae Jepsen es el álbum perfecto para personas que aman y disfrutan de la música pop, canciones muy distintas pero a la vez unificadas con la letra que te lleva de viaje a vivir una aventura amorosa y las letras si bien son algo superficiales en algunas canciones cumplen la función de hablarnos del amor.
  19. Jul 24, 2020
    9
    Probably one of the best pop albums of the past decade. Rich stories told with sounds pulled from different decades past and mixed it looking to the future.
  20. Jul 21, 2020
    9
    Carly Rae Jepsen's EMOTION is one of the best pop albums of the last decade. Absolutely love the 80s sound in her album, lots of bops. This album is beautiful, lovely, fun, fresh, young and full of emotions and I understand why it's called EMOTION.

    Fav tracks : Run Away With Me, Emotion, Your Type, Warm Blood... basically 90% of the album.
  21. May 21, 2020
    10
    the true meaning of pop perfection, this is album is just everything. I’ve been obsessed with it forever, it’s timeless
  22. May 9, 2020
    10
    «E•MO•TION» is as solid and spotless a pop album as you're likely to hear this year (2015), the result of several years working alongside a storied list of contributors... but «E•MO•TION» fails to tell us who Jepsen is or wants to be. The result is a nearly anonymous album of stellar pop music, one where it seems all the attention was placed not on positioning Carly Rae as a cultural«E•MO•TION» is as solid and spotless a pop album as you're likely to hear this year (2015), the result of several years working alongside a storied list of contributors... but «E•MO•TION» fails to tell us who Jepsen is or wants to be. The result is a nearly anonymous album of stellar pop music, one where it seems all the attention was placed not on positioning Carly Rae as a cultural force, but on making sure «E•MO•TION» makes you smile. Expand
  23. Apr 30, 2020
    10
    emotion is THE pop album. the production is so beautiful and the songs on the album are all masterpieces. not a single song is bad. i can barely form words to express how i feel about this album, thank you for this album crj. my top 3 songs include run away with me, emotion, and i didnt just come here to dance.
  24. Mar 28, 2020
    10
    Can you say... legendary? Goddamn miss Jepsen, you deserved grammy of the history, well no, phuck u ascammys
  25. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    This is the definition of pop perfection! Simply one of my favorite pop albums of the decade.
  26. Oct 21, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Nunca en mi vida había escuchado un álbum tan perfecto. Que pecado tan grande que no haya tenido el éxito que merece. Expand
  27. Oct 4, 2019
    9
    Esta cm, el concepto, la voz, las letras podrá sonar un poco genérico después de las primeras 5 canciones pero si les pones atención..es pop puro
  28. Sep 14, 2019
    10
    This album was clearly a standout from 2015. It was so strong and likely Carly's most cohesive work to this date. It may not have had a huge social impact, but it remains a cult favorite, especially in LGBTQ+ circles. Carly is a great songwriter and composer and it shows on this album.
  29. Sep 13, 2019
    9
    Carly Rae Jepsen came back to prove she was not a one trick pony and you know what? She did it. Carly Rae has managed to produce an amazing pop album that is both strong and surprising. Certainly one of the best pop albums of 2015!

    Emotion is terrific, like seriously. Not only is Emotion an ensemble of sterling pop, it’s a creative breakthrough on par with Robyn and Speak Now. Forgive
    Carly Rae Jepsen came back to prove she was not a one trick pony and you know what? She did it. Carly Rae has managed to produce an amazing pop album that is both strong and surprising. Certainly one of the best pop albums of 2015!

    Emotion is terrific, like seriously. Not only is Emotion an ensemble of sterling pop, it’s a creative breakthrough on par with Robyn and Speak Now. Forgive my unbridled enthusiasm, which resembles a teenager’s lack of composure. Blame this artist’s impeccable taste and canny vision, realized on Emotion with blinding Technicolor. This is a strong album and there are no weak tracks here. In fact, I enjoyed every track on the album, obviously some more than others. The album feels a lot more focused than Kiss, it is totally energetic with a great retro 80s feel. Her voice is getting stronger and the production is not just cookie cutter pop, it is slick, polished and first class but what’s truly fascinating about the album is how naturally and authentic the music comes across here. Many singers pipe out love songs but it's obvious that the songs were entirely written by someone else.

    Where Emotion stumbles, it merely wobbles, never falling completely out of line. The albums tracks all speak to the message of Emotion and while there were moments on Carly's previous album Kiss where some songs lowkey felt like a Call Me Maybe rehash, Emotion moves out of that song's shadow and each new song offers something new and exciting. This album was destined to become a pop classic and it already is!

    - i really, really really, really, really, really like you track/s: Run Away With Me, Favorite Color, Warm Blood
    - issa skip ma’am track/s: *crickets*
    Expand
  30. Sep 1, 2019
    10
    Only phenomenal production alone makes it a 5 star worthy! Quantum mechanics was applied to reach such particle-level perfection, I think! Catchy as super hell.
  31. Aug 4, 2019
    7
    I think in general this album is really creative and nostalgic, especially for the first half of the album! I think the weakest track would have to be Your Type, which is a song that most people like, but to me, it just sounds more bland, uneventful and flavorless compared to the others, and also the song When I Needed You. Most people dislike the track Warm Blood, but I think althoughI think in general this album is really creative and nostalgic, especially for the first half of the album! I think the weakest track would have to be Your Type, which is a song that most people like, but to me, it just sounds more bland, uneventful and flavorless compared to the others, and also the song When I Needed You. Most people dislike the track Warm Blood, but I think although hard to digest at first listens, it is one of the most creative and fun tracks on the album. Expand
  32. Jul 7, 2019
    10
    There is just one way to describe carly rae jepsen's discography: pop perfection. This album is not the exception, there are no skips in this piece of art
  33. Jul 2, 2019
    10
    Lo mejor que el escuchado en mi vida lo amo un explorador musical
  34. Jun 18, 2019
    10
    um dos melhores albuns pop da decada, todas as musicas sao otimas principalmente favorite color
  35. Jun 7, 2019
    9
    Muito bom, pop de qualidade com letras muito boas, um dos melhores álbuns pop de 2015, pena que teve pouco reconhecimento
  36. Jun 7, 2019
    10
    Pop Masterpiece!!! Every song is a bop! Can't tell the number of times I've put the record on repeat! Amazing bangers!
  37. May 26, 2019
    10
    A masterclass in modern pop music. The other pop stars should be taking notes. Favorites: Run Away with Me, Gimmie Love, Your Type.
  38. May 24, 2019
    8
    Em EMOTION, Carly Rae Jepsen constrói músicas extremamente divertidas, que não somente dialoga com o pop contemporâneo, como revive maravilhosamente a magia do pop dos anos 80.
  39. May 22, 2019
    10
    E•MO•TION is one of those albums that you wanna hear over and over again, and each time you do that, you get yourself a new favourite track. Jepsen's evolution is something remarkable as a songwritter and a competent singer, so much better than her sweet and pink Kiss (2012). This album is a prove that Call Me Maybe is not the only thing the world needs to see of her. Highlights: Run AwayE•MO•TION is one of those albums that you wanna hear over and over again, and each time you do that, you get yourself a new favourite track. Jepsen's evolution is something remarkable as a songwritter and a competent singer, so much better than her sweet and pink Kiss (2012). This album is a prove that Call Me Maybe is not the only thing the world needs to see of her. Highlights: Run Away With Me, Gimmie Love, All That, Your Type, Never Get To Hold You (Target Edition Track) Expand
  40. May 17, 2019
    10
    Feels that you never feel before. Carly put you in a whole travel of emotions and feelings
  41. May 9, 2019
    8
    A exemplary great pop album. I enjoy 13 of 15 tracks with the initial listen. The production is perfect!!! Although the songwriting is very normal, a lot of melodies are catchy. She isn't a outstanding vocalist but the vocal is still enjoyable. Hope CRJ4 is a solid follow-up album of EMOTION.
    Favs: Emotion, Gimmie Love, All that, Making The Most Of The Night, Let's Get Lost, Warm Blood,
    A exemplary great pop album. I enjoy 13 of 15 tracks with the initial listen. The production is perfect!!! Although the songwriting is very normal, a lot of melodies are catchy. She isn't a outstanding vocalist but the vocal is still enjoyable. Hope CRJ4 is a solid follow-up album of EMOTION.
    Favs: Emotion, Gimmie Love, All that, Making The Most Of The Night, Let's Get Lost, Warm Blood, Black Heart, I Didn't Just Come Here To Dance
    Worst: LA Hallucinations, When I Needed You
    Expand
  42. Mar 11, 2019
    8
    it's a pretty solid, slick, humid and very bubblegum pop record. with some girlish poetry, humming electro-pop sounds, proper 70's references and generic hooks carly rae jepsen is picturing a warm good old fantasy of being in love and post-affection. and that's all that she could do with this emotion.
  43. Nov 24, 2018
    10
    E•MO•TION es para mí de los mejores álbumes que fueron lanzados en el 2015, y es una lástima que no haya sido tan apreciado como lo merece.
  44. Nov 10, 2018
    9
    Um álbum super gostosinho de ouvir, com batidas "catchy" e músicas chicletes que ficam na cabeça o dia todo. Álbum super POP com seu tema principal baseando-se em superação de relacionamentos/relacionamentos não superados (confuso, pois é). Além do flerte inicial dos namoros e o sentimento inicial do namoro. O seja, namoros é o tema principal. (Fútil pra alguns, interessante pra outros)
    O
    Um álbum super gostosinho de ouvir, com batidas "catchy" e músicas chicletes que ficam na cabeça o dia todo. Álbum super POP com seu tema principal baseando-se em superação de relacionamentos/relacionamentos não superados (confuso, pois é). Além do flerte inicial dos namoros e o sentimento inicial do namoro. O seja, namoros é o tema principal. (Fútil pra alguns, interessante pra outros)
    O álbum perde um pouquinho de força do meio pro fim, as músicas ficam meio monótonas e iguais.
    Destaque: Pra gostosíssima "Making the most of the night", "Boy problems" com seu término de relacionamento e claro, os singles "Run away with me" e "I really like you"
    Expand
  45. Aug 28, 2018
    8
    É ótimo! Composições, ritmos... Emfim, acho esse álbum um avanço no atual pop, é muito bom e coeso.
  46. May 16, 2018
    10
    Talented, brilliant, incredible, amazing, show stopping, spectacular, never the same, totally unique
  47. May 7, 2018
    10
    Woo! Finally! some good **** that bring it up vibes from 80's years. Heavy bass, Cindy Lauper sounds and techno vibes. The album is completely over the concept, all the songs fits perfectly (20 of them on deluxe edition). The album promotion was really bad, singles choices could have been better, it doesn't pull off any merit that this album have.

    Highlights: Emotion (This would be
    Woo! Finally! some good **** that bring it up vibes from 80's years. Heavy bass, Cindy Lauper sounds and techno vibes. The album is completely over the concept, all the songs fits perfectly (20 of them on deluxe edition). The album promotion was really bad, singles choices could have been better, it doesn't pull off any merit that this album have.

    Highlights:
    Emotion (This would be lovely as a single)
    Love again
    Let's Get Lost
    Making the Most of the Night (Single missed opportunity)
    Boy Problems
    Never Get to Hold You
    I Didn't Just Come Here to Dance (this one would be a good single)
    When I Needed You (vibes of 80's are strong here)

    10/10 A masterpiece.

    Looking forward to future releases diffinitelly!
    Expand
  48. Feb 21, 2018
    10
    Uma obra prima, um dos melhores albuns que eu já ouvi na minha vida. Carly rainha
  49. Feb 10, 2018
    10
    omg this album is fantastic it's pure pop fire so many fantastic tracks are in here in my opinion with fantastic production , the album perfectly mixes the 80s sugar pop style with a little modern take with great song lyrics in my opinion and fantastic vocals by carly i mean this has to be one of the best things i've heard this entire decade omg a must listen (and the side b ep is just as good)
  50. Nov 15, 2017
    9
    This is a near-perfect pop album and a gigantic surprise from someone as average as Carly-Rae Jepsen was previously thought to be. It's excellent. Boy Problems and LA Hallucinations are particular highlights.
  51. Aug 16, 2017
    10
    OMG. Este álbum es sin duda un joya completa del pop, Carly uso sonidos ochenteros y con las letras adecuadas nos dio una biblia que perdurará por siempre, en mucho tiempo no había escuchado algo como E MO TION, que es bellisimo de principio a fin.
  52. Jun 17, 2017
    9
    Uma celebração aos anos 80 aos anos 90 Com louvor, um pop puro e cheio de energia, som e química, um verdadeiro artpop, um disco que veio cura o pop, fez seu trabalho lindamente, obrigado Carly.
  53. Jun 10, 2017
    10
    Taylor Swift who? Carly Rae Jepsen has created the best eighties inspired pop album of the decade thus far. Pop has been missing a creative voice, and I'm welcoming Carly with open arms. "Run Away with Me" is pop perfection.
  54. May 27, 2017
    10
    This album is so fantastic, well sewn and of an extremely high quality. Congralutations Carly! It is the height of the 1989, of the so underestimated Talor Swift.
  55. Apr 14, 2017
    10
    THIS IS THE ALBUM OF THE MILLENNIUM!!!!!!!!!!!! :)
    I CANT BELIEVE CARLY RAE JESPEN INVENTED POP MUSIC. WE NEED ONE MORE BIBLE ASAP!
    I'D LIKE TO THANK DANI ALMEIDA FOR THIS XOXO
  56. Feb 15, 2017
    10
    Like always Carly Rae Jepsen makes another amazing album of songs she wrote with her heart. This is the best Pop album of 2015. All of the songs are amazing on the album but my favorites are Your Type and Boy Problems. :):):):)
  57. Jan 21, 2017
    10
    This album is so better than her first one, songs are catchy and the melodies are amazing!/ Este álbum é bem melhor que o primeiro dela, as canções são cativantes e as melodias são incriveis!!!!!!!!
  58. Jan 7, 2017
    10
    This album it's a pop masterpiece, Its sounds brings you back to the sounds eighties, something fresh and new an excellent musical proposal.
    No doubt it's the best albums that can exist today, their lyrics, their sounds, everything really makes you feel the EMOTION.
  59. Nov 21, 2016
    7
    Carly Rae Jepsen returns with a rather good effort this time, involving high-class collaborators such as Dev Hynes and Rostam from Vampire Weekend. In Emotion, the "Call Me Maybe" singer follows a more lucid direction, with some simple but pretty good singles and pop tunes such as Emotion, I Really Like You or Boy Problems. The balance between electronic and organic instrumentation may beCarly Rae Jepsen returns with a rather good effort this time, involving high-class collaborators such as Dev Hynes and Rostam from Vampire Weekend. In Emotion, the "Call Me Maybe" singer follows a more lucid direction, with some simple but pretty good singles and pop tunes such as Emotion, I Really Like You or Boy Problems. The balance between electronic and organic instrumentation may be highlighted as the main upgrade from her plain debut, and when Jepsen and her producers reach this balance, the outcome tends to be pretty fun. This record certainly will stand as a highlight in her career, proving that there is more beyond "Call Me Maybe". Expand
  60. Oct 28, 2016
    10
    Carly brings emotion tracks 80, strong vocals, catchy melodies and amazing lyrics. Certainly a major milestone in his musical career and a work of art in the midst of so many generic songs that marked the pop in recent years.
  61. Sep 6, 2016
    10
    There is something so perfect about this album it's hard to place exactly what makes it stunning. The songs flow easily into one another with an infectious beat or soaring vocals to make every single one memorable. Even the weaker entries are enjoyable and the strongest entries are incredible.
  62. Aug 27, 2016
    10
    EMOTION is easily (along with Florence's How Big, How Blue, How Beautiful) the best album of 2015. Carly Rae Jepsen really worked so hard on this record, and the result of this hard work is apparent in each and every track. Not one song feels out-of-place; not one song is a filler track. Jepsen sings about different subjects, in different perspectives, with lyrics that flow through, and aEMOTION is easily (along with Florence's How Big, How Blue, How Beautiful) the best album of 2015. Carly Rae Jepsen really worked so hard on this record, and the result of this hard work is apparent in each and every track. Not one song feels out-of-place; not one song is a filler track. Jepsen sings about different subjects, in different perspectives, with lyrics that flow through, and a production so slick, it actually hurts. "Run Away With Me" is easily my song- my anthem- of summer 2015.
    Hands down, Carly Rae, your sophomore album was very-much anticipated, and it really was worth it.
    Expand
  63. Aug 16, 2016
    9
    É inegável a sensação gostosa de surpresa que a gente tem ao ouvir o novo disco da canadense, famosa pelo hit ''Call Me Maybe''. Talvez seja por isso que ela tenha sido colocado de forma tão subestimada, a menina que aqui era colocada até então como sombra de um grande hit, surpreende e o saldo ao ouvir o "Emotion" é somente positivo.
    Fica difícil não fazer comparações ao ''1989'' da
    É inegável a sensação gostosa de surpresa que a gente tem ao ouvir o novo disco da canadense, famosa pelo hit ''Call Me Maybe''. Talvez seja por isso que ela tenha sido colocado de forma tão subestimada, a menina que aqui era colocada até então como sombra de um grande hit, surpreende e o saldo ao ouvir o "Emotion" é somente positivo.
    Fica difícil não fazer comparações ao ''1989'' da Taylor Swift, que também resgata a base nas temáticas oitentistas. Carly, que nos últimos meses antes de lançar o "Emotion", escreveu dezenas de composições, inspiradas em grandes artistas dos anos 80 e em contemporâneos como Robyn e La Roux consegue nos deixar em cada faixa, uma sensação de uma época diferente e nostálgica de uma década dominada por gigantes como Madonna, Michael Jackson, Prince e Cyndi Lauper.
    A aposta certeira da ex-canadian idol se deu na renovação quase que completa dos produtores do seu disco passado, ''Kiss'', e aqui ela apostou em artistas novos e que estão despontando entre os críticos e adoradores de boa música como Devonté Hynes e Ariel Rechtshaid.
    A sensação ao terminar o disco é de como as faixas conseguem serem diferentes, criativas, mas sempre conectadas e sem perder o foco e a linha de raciocínio que inspira todo o conceito do álbum.
    Um dos melhores discos em essência pop da década, "Emotion" é sem sombra de dúvidas, inspirador e uma grande evolução pra artista Carly Rae Jepsen, que agora respira em novos ares.
    Expand
  64. Aug 1, 2016
    10
    Best pop album of the year by far. Cohesive and consistent, I can't formulate a list of 'the best songs' on the album because they're all so great. Almost a year later and it's still as fun as the first time.
  65. Jun 13, 2016
    10
    Vicious poderia ser o titulo do álbum, por ser viciante e que evolução ela teve do Kiss meio chatinho pra essa maravilha feita.

    Perfect Singles: Run Away With Me, All That, Emotion, LA Hallucinations e Your Tipe.
  66. May 6, 2016
    10
    In an era consisting of ininteresting albums and artists only interested in making hits, E•MO•TION stands out and is probably the best pop album of 2015.
    Catchy, great production, great writing, great vocals, everything is here. Carly Rae Jepsen proves herself to be more than the annoying Call Me Maybe singer with this 80s sounding album.
    This underrated album by this underrated artist
    In an era consisting of ininteresting albums and artists only interested in making hits, E•MO•TION stands out and is probably the best pop album of 2015.
    Catchy, great production, great writing, great vocals, everything is here. Carly Rae Jepsen proves herself to be more than the annoying Call Me Maybe singer with this 80s sounding album.
    This underrated album by this underrated artist is pure pop genius and anyone who claims to like pop music should give it a listen, and quickly become addicted to its catchyness.
    Best songs: Run Away With Me, E•MO•TION, All That, I Didn(t Just Come Here to Dance, Favourite Color, Let's Get Lost.
    Expand
  67. May 4, 2016
    10
    One of THE best albums of this decade! It is incomparable to any other record, including Carly Rae Jepsen's first album. The beats, lyrics and vocals are on point. This is a good, good, GOOD album that you should buy.
    The best songs are La Hallucinations, Run Away With Me, Let's Get Lost, When I Needed You and Making the Most Of The Night.
  68. Apr 21, 2016
    8
    This album definitely puts Call Me Maybe to the grave. Truly an exceptional pop masterpiece that is worth being contemplated during it's creative process.

    Standout tracks: Run Away With Me, I Really Like You, All That, Making the Most of the Night, Your Type, I Didn't Just Come Here to Dance and When I Needed You.
  69. Apr 10, 2016
    10
    This album is so underrated. Call Me Maybe has completely overshadowed this album. When I first heard Run Away With Me, I was blown away by how amazing it was. It is such a shame that it didn't even reach the charts! Honestly, this album deserves so much more recognition.
  70. Apr 1, 2016
    9
    I don't think anyone saw an album like this coming from Carly Rae Jepsen. Call Me Maybe was an instant hit, but the rest of Kiss (written in a mere three months) seemed like she would just be a one hit wonder. With E-MO-TION, Carly Rae took her time, even delaying the release by over a year, and it definitely paid off. The 80s production is immediately familiar and engaging, and while thisI don't think anyone saw an album like this coming from Carly Rae Jepsen. Call Me Maybe was an instant hit, but the rest of Kiss (written in a mere three months) seemed like she would just be a one hit wonder. With E-MO-TION, Carly Rae took her time, even delaying the release by over a year, and it definitely paid off. The 80s production is immediately familiar and engaging, and while this album is certainly not inventive or ground-breaking, it does what it does quite well, and that's really all anyone hopes for from a pop album. There are no bad songs on this album, just pure pop bliss from start to finish. I can't say I had very high expectations for Carly Rae before this album, but I'll definitely be paying attention to where she goes from here.

    Standout tracks: Run Away With Me (best pop song I've heard in a long time actually), I Really Like You, Let's Get Lost, I Didn't Just Come Here To Dance
    Expand
  71. Mar 24, 2016
    10
    best pop album released in 2015!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  72. Feb 29, 2016
    9
    one of the most joyous pop albums in a long time, EMOTION is to be taken seriously and defies genre standards while being so fun and cleverly crafted it's hard to resist playing it again and again
  73. Feb 27, 2016
    9
    Having the same production as some biggest pop hits of 2015, Jepsen's album is a masterpiece in pop music, having some inspirations in the 80's and 90's pop music, but failing to be a commercial success and getting a few recognition from critics and public as well.
  74. Jan 30, 2016
    10
    Aussi surprenant que cela puisse l'être, Carly Rae Jepsen a proposé un des meilleurs albums de 2015. Avec son côté rétro, cet album nous transporte dans les années 80 d'une manière absolument bluffante.

    Coup de cœur évident pour Your Type et I Didn't Just Come Here To Dance.
  75. Jan 27, 2016
    10
    FLOP flop FLOP flop FLOP flop FLOP flop FLOP flop FLOP flop FLOP flop FLOP flop FLOP flop FLOP flop
    Yes It flopped so hard that even Kiss makes this one look garbage but hey I love garbage! but that's none of my business Period!
  76. Jan 27, 2016
    10
    Oh wow this one snatched me from the root!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  77. Jan 16, 2016
    10
    Best pop album of 2015. Making the most of the night, Run Away with me and LA Hallucinations are the best songs in the album. the lyrics are great....
  78. Jan 13, 2016
    10
    Pure pop perfection it is. Listening to the whole album is like eating a cotton candy - sweet, young & flossy!

    My faves (in order): LA Hallucinations, Making The Most of The Night, Gimmie Love, Warm Blood & Black Heart
  79. Dec 30, 2015
    10
    E-MO-TION, es un álbum fresco, emocional como su propio nombre lo dice. Carly dentro de este nos transporta a un nuevo mundo y exploramos muchas cosas dentro de él. Amor (Your Type, Run Away With Me) Locura (LA Hallucinations, Warm Blood) Amistad (Boy Problems) y mucho más, en fin es una cúspide de emociones y aventuras.
  80. Dec 12, 2015
    10
    E•MO•TION is a perfectly crafted masterpiece. From the stunning saxophone that opens the album on 'Run Away With Me' all the way to the ending of 'Favourite Colour' absolutely amazing.
  81. Dec 7, 2015
    9
    The best pop album of 2015. Every single track is catchy as hell. Her character is relatable, fun and adorable. The production is surprisingly cohesive and pays homage to pop and dance music of the 80s and 90s.
  82. Dec 4, 2015
    10
    What an incredible album. With many influences including 80s pop, Carly Rae makes a huge leap into the right direction. It's extremely well written, produced, and contrived to leave the listener wanting more and more. There is no bad song on this record, and is in my opinion, a strong contender for Album of The Year. Although not commercially successful, the album is completely genius.What an incredible album. With many influences including 80s pop, Carly Rae makes a huge leap into the right direction. It's extremely well written, produced, and contrived to leave the listener wanting more and more. There is no bad song on this record, and is in my opinion, a strong contender for Album of The Year. Although not commercially successful, the album is completely genius. "Run Away With Me" is by far the best pop record this decade.

    BEST: Run Away With Me, LA Hallucinations, Warm Blood, Making The Most Of The Night, and Your Type.

    10/10
    Expand
  83. Dec 1, 2015
    10
    The best pop album of 2015. Amazing. Deserves a 100. it's amazing how great this is. Pop music done good. It's a shame it hasn't gotten an actual hit because it's amazing.
  84. Nov 26, 2015
    10
    Simplesmente o melhor álbum pop do ano, com uma profunda base em Synthpop e clima Oitentista, Pode se observar o um amadurecimento vocal de Carly Rae Jepsen, um álbum simpático que te conquista nas primeiras faixas. Faixas Recomendadas: Run Away With Me, Your Type, All That, I Didn't Just Come Here to Dance, Gimme Love. Boy Problems. Faixas Enjoativas: I Realy Like You, Lets Get Lost, WarmSimplesmente o melhor álbum pop do ano, com uma profunda base em Synthpop e clima Oitentista, Pode se observar o um amadurecimento vocal de Carly Rae Jepsen, um álbum simpático que te conquista nas primeiras faixas. Faixas Recomendadas: Run Away With Me, Your Type, All That, I Didn't Just Come Here to Dance, Gimme Love. Boy Problems. Faixas Enjoativas: I Realy Like You, Lets Get Lost, Warm Blood Expand
  85. Nov 21, 2015
    10
    Este álbum esta incrível, a naturalidade dele é um ponto a ser observado, todas as musicas parecem continuas e mantem o mesmo clima, surpreendendo ao longo das faixas, realmente é um álbum pra se ouvir varias vezes.
  86. Nov 21, 2015
    9
    De longe um dos melhores álbuns de 2015. Carly consegue reunir batidas oitentistas que conseguem soar bem atuais e cativam com letras geniais e maravilhosas. Realmente ela acertou em cheio dessa vez, merece o reconhecimento! #JusticeForEmotion
  87. Nov 21, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This album is great , it makes me back the 80´and 90'. Carly has done a great job with this great album. Maybe he has not had the success that was to have but with this album we know that not yet lost the pop touch that is disappearing lately. The songs are great as in the case of Run Away With Me and Your Type they are beautiful songs of the album, and that talk of Didn't Just Come Here To Dance like a song produced by the same Kylie Minogue. This album minimum should be nominated for Grammy awards. The best pop album of the year and even gave that talk. Expand
  88. Nov 7, 2015
    10
    Only phenomenal production alone makes it a 5 star worthy! Quantum mechanics was applied to reach such particle-level perfection, I think! Catchy as super hell.
  89. Nov 5, 2015
    10
    Que album, que voz, que talento! Merece muito mais reconhecimento... As músicas muito bem feitas, com uma sonoridade meio anos 80/90. Bem retrô esse álbum. Parabéns Carly.
  90. Oct 26, 2015
    10
    With this album Jepsen proves she is one of today's best pop artists. Written all by herself, E•MO•TION has deep lyrics with a fresh 80's sound that makes you want to sing along all the songs. Definitely one of the best albums of 2015, and in my opinion the best one in the Pop genre. It's a pity that, this album and her as an artist, are so underrated.
  91. Oct 23, 2015
    10
    Carly Rae Jepsen's E-MO-TION is really the album of the year! This album is a big improvement for Jepsen since Kiss. It really incorporated the retro vibe! And I liked all the songs! Props for Jepsen on creating this album!
  92. Oct 17, 2015
    9
    I love Carly since she released her smash hit "Call Me Maybe", I saw this girl future, in 2012 she released her album entitled "Kiss", a commercial album but quality, but nothing to call me so much attention
    So this year, she released this masterpiece of pop music, a mix of "Whitney" with "Baby One More Time", do not get me wrong, it's like Britney, had released "Baby One More Time," with
    I love Carly since she released her smash hit "Call Me Maybe", I saw this girl future, in 2012 she released her album entitled "Kiss", a commercial album but quality, but nothing to call me so much attention
    So this year, she released this masterpiece of pop music, a mix of "Whitney" with "Baby One More Time", do not get me wrong, it's like Britney, had released "Baby One More Time," with a touch of maturity
    Expand
  93. Oct 17, 2015
    10
    E-MO-TION é um álbum incrível. Como uma sonoridade oitentista maravilhosa, canções meigas e um conceito fielmente seguido (desde o inicio do álbum até o fim). É um dos melhores lançamentos de 2015 e merecedor de um Grammy. A Carly está de parabéns
  94. Oct 16, 2015
    10
    Pop music masterpiece of 2015 but, sadly, strongly underrated. "Call Me Maybe" was definitely the biggest song of 2012 but unfortunately labelled Carly's career as a "one hit wonder", after the subsequent singles released failed to trail "Call Me Maybe" success and KISS was declared a commercial flop. And that definitely sucks when the artist, that the world lost interest in after 2012,Pop music masterpiece of 2015 but, sadly, strongly underrated. "Call Me Maybe" was definitely the biggest song of 2012 but unfortunately labelled Carly's career as a "one hit wonder", after the subsequent singles released failed to trail "Call Me Maybe" success and KISS was declared a commercial flop. And that definitely sucks when the artist, that the world lost interest in after 2012, decides to record and release the pop album of the year but doesn't receive much recognition. This album demonstrates that Carly has so much potential of so much more than the one song that captivated the world 3 years ago. EMOTION is a synth-pop gem and, without a doubt, a better pop album than KISS; which wasn't as impressive.

    Some highlights would be: "Runaway With Me", "Gimmie Love", "All That", "Your Type" and "Warm Blood".
    Expand
  95. Oct 14, 2015
    9
    Judged by its cover or its artist, this album might seem like the generic pop album that its lead single was setting it up to be, but it isn't. Emotion is a special record because of its outstanding crew of producers (Vampire Weekend, Devonte Hynes, Ariel Rechtshaid) and its sugar sweet lyricism that matches pitch perfectly with Carly's vocals. This is the best pop album to come out ofJudged by its cover or its artist, this album might seem like the generic pop album that its lead single was setting it up to be, but it isn't. Emotion is a special record because of its outstanding crew of producers (Vampire Weekend, Devonte Hynes, Ariel Rechtshaid) and its sugar sweet lyricism that matches pitch perfectly with Carly's vocals. This is the best pop album to come out of 2015, and one of the best albums of the year.

    Go buy this album. Whether you are a fan of pop or not, there is a moment in this album that'll make you blush, swoon or reminisce about fond memories. BUY IT.
    Expand
  96. Oct 13, 2015
    10
    Amazing album. She really impressed me a lot... and that's to say the least. "All that" is for me one of the very best songs of the year... How come she's been so low profile with an album this good? I don't get it...
  97. Oct 11, 2015
    10
    This is the best album of the year contracted all the sounds of the 80 its sounds his choruses his magical voice , every song is sophisticatedly made ​​with heart and soul, His best songs allucinations , Gimmie love , love again , Let' s gets lost , Run away with me as the most outstanding song for me
  98. Oct 4, 2015
    9
    Amo a Carly, porém esse álbum não dá amiga, salvo trees ou quatro musicas, as outras escuta uma vez, vai pra outra e acabo achando que ja escutei, repetitivo, a voz dela parece chata na maioria das músicas, parece um albúm de demos dispensadas pela selena na época chata dela.
  99. Oct 3, 2015
    10
    Without competition yet, E·MO·TION is the best album of the year by far, with its amazing production and Carly's outstanding vocal abilities, this album is pop perfection. Clever, catchy, it blows you away.
  100. Sep 30, 2015
    10
    GENTE DO CÉU, ESSE ALBUM É UMA OBRA DE ARTE, SIMPLESMENTE O MELHOR ALBUM DE 2015.
    ESPERO QUE A BANCADO DO GRAMMY PERCEBA O QUANTO ELE E DIVINO E DE O TÃO MERECIDO AOY PRA ELE PQ OLHA.... ELE MERECE VIU. CARLYZINHA GANHOU MUITOS PONTOS COMIGO. E•MO•TION É SIMPLESMENTE FANTASTICO!
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Apr 24, 2017
    60
    She doesn’t do anything to stamp her identity on the songs: good as they are, you’re struck by the sense you could be listening to anyone. It’s one problem that all the expensive names in the credits can’t solve, a single glaring imperfection in an album of otherwise perfect pop.
  2. Jun 1, 2016
    80
    E MO TION is no fluke. It doesn’t grip you by the heels but instead lures you into a full-bodied embrace that is iron-clad, it’s simply up to you to give it the chance to do so.
  3. Sep 25, 2015
    80
    Emotion succeeds on its own terms, arguably remaining truer to the spirit of the era, not to mention Jepsen’s stated aim of taking the time to craft an album rather than rushing to cash in on a YouTube sensation.