Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
Buy On
  1. Mojo
    Oct 3, 2019
    60
    Though brief nautical ballad Deck Chair is a skit too far here, there's a great bubblegum-pop song fighting its way through the exploded theatrics of Heavy Metal Lover, while silly song of thanks for the six-string We Are The Guitar Men is a virtuosic hoot. [Nov 2019, p.89]
  2. Oct 3, 2019
    55
    It's not a great record by any means but it's a hell of a lot of fun and should serve as a grand excuse to get them out on the road again and into a live setting where their exciting silliness excels.
  3. Uncut
    Oct 21, 2019
    50
    Song structures are over-egged, resulting in blunted hooks and lost momentum. [Dec 2019, p.25]
  4. Oct 7, 2019
    50
    It’s not a bad album, but it is hindered with a lack of understanding on what made the band so great to begin with. So, prepare to experience as many rough moments as there is smooth ones.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. Oct 6, 2019
    9
    Once again The Darkness prove to be the current reigning champions of all things rock while at the same time exploring and experimenting andOnce again The Darkness prove to be the current reigning champions of all things rock while at the same time exploring and experimenting and pulling a few new tricks from their sleeve. The albums production is layered and huge and the songs range from full on metal assaults to introspective balladry while always maintaining that classic The Darkness tongue in cheek humor. Another instant classic to add to their impressive discography. Great job lads. Full Review »
  2. Oct 5, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Hermoso disco muy bien elaborado con la esencia del rock, buen regreso de The Darkness Full Review »
  3. Oct 9, 2019
    10
    UPD: I believe it's important to mention that my review is based on Deluxe version of the album.

    At the very first go I wasn't happy. It
    UPD: I believe it's important to mention that my review is based on Deluxe version of the album.

    At the very first go I wasn't happy. It seemed that there are too many acoustic things, that the whole album lacks cool heavy mindblowing tracks like 'Black Shack'. Perhaps, only 'Choke on It' has captured my attention from the start, though other tracks made me happy in a few next tries.

    I've listened to the album at least 5 times and I am really enjoying it now. Experiments are both bold and interesting and lyrics are great, especially Heavy Metal Lover with 'you look so happy when you're carving meat', a serenade to a chair with romantic French lines and a song about the cognitive bias ('Confirmation Bias'). 'We Are the Guitar Men' is nice with all these Queen-like harmony and backs with Van Halen's 'Eruption' in the end. 'Live 'Til I Die' is the song from 'Permission to Land' era, and you can feel it. Even the singles which I didn't like that much from the start are nice, especially 'Heart Explodes', it feels like a great song for Autumn.

    So, if you were disappointed with the album from the start, give it another go, it is worth it. I don't believe The Darkness can become as huge as they were back in 2003 but they are still a hell of a band. A decent one, at the very least, even if you do not dig them. And a great one, if you love them as I do.
    Full Review »