Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
Buy On
  1. Q Magazine
    Oct 22, 2019
    80
    It's the renewed sense of urgency and bubblegum appeal--see Live 'Til I Die--which ensures that Prof Hawkins's musical multiverse is still a thrilling place. [Dec 2019, p.109]
  2. Kerrang!
    Oct 9, 2019
    80
    For those who like their rock adventurous, Easter may be cancelled, but Christmas has come early. [12 Oct 2019, p.55]
  3. 80
    For those who remain strangely tickled by their frivolous, heart-felt one-offmanship, every track here will prick your ears. Easter might be cancelled, but for rock fans Christmas has come early. [Oct 2019, p.86]
  4. Oct 3, 2019
    70
    Easter Is Cancelled is a soaring and melodic evolution for The Darkness, a fresh step into maturation that retains their campy, fun-loving spirit without all the sleaze and filth.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. Oct 6, 2019
    9
    Once again The Darkness prove to be the current reigning champions of all things rock while at the same time exploring and experimenting andOnce again The Darkness prove to be the current reigning champions of all things rock while at the same time exploring and experimenting and pulling a few new tricks from their sleeve. The albums production is layered and huge and the songs range from full on metal assaults to introspective balladry while always maintaining that classic The Darkness tongue in cheek humor. Another instant classic to add to their impressive discography. Great job lads. Full Review »
  2. Oct 5, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Hermoso disco muy bien elaborado con la esencia del rock, buen regreso de The Darkness Full Review »
  3. Oct 9, 2019
    10
    UPD: I believe it's important to mention that my review is based on Deluxe version of the album.

    At the very first go I wasn't happy. It
    UPD: I believe it's important to mention that my review is based on Deluxe version of the album.

    At the very first go I wasn't happy. It seemed that there are too many acoustic things, that the whole album lacks cool heavy mindblowing tracks like 'Black Shack'. Perhaps, only 'Choke on It' has captured my attention from the start, though other tracks made me happy in a few next tries.

    I've listened to the album at least 5 times and I am really enjoying it now. Experiments are both bold and interesting and lyrics are great, especially Heavy Metal Lover with 'you look so happy when you're carving meat', a serenade to a chair with romantic French lines and a song about the cognitive bias ('Confirmation Bias'). 'We Are the Guitar Men' is nice with all these Queen-like harmony and backs with Van Halen's 'Eruption' in the end. 'Live 'Til I Die' is the song from 'Permission to Land' era, and you can feel it. Even the singles which I didn't like that much from the start are nice, especially 'Heart Explodes', it feels like a great song for Autumn.

    So, if you were disappointed with the album from the start, give it another go, it is worth it. I don't believe The Darkness can become as huge as they were back in 2003 but they are still a hell of a band. A decent one, at the very least, even if you do not dig them. And a great one, if you love them as I do.
    Full Review »