User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 22
  2. Negative: 6 out of 22

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 21, 2010
    4
    Probably the worst album ever from one of our most innovative modern musicians and poets. This dissonant album lacks the musical ingenuity of much of her other work.
  2. NathanielS
    Jan 20, 2004
    10
    This would have to be my favorite Ani solo recording, right behind her live Living In Clip album. I feel that the critics aren't getting what she was trying. She's never trying to have perfect harmonies. That is not what Ani is all about. She's an average person making beautiful music, and this album is her best studio album, ever. She loves being raw in her music, and that This would have to be my favorite Ani solo recording, right behind her live Living In Clip album. I feel that the critics aren't getting what she was trying. She's never trying to have perfect harmonies. That is not what Ani is all about. She's an average person making beautiful music, and this album is her best studio album, ever. She loves being raw in her music, and that is what this album has done that none of her other albums have ever tried, before. She might not have the angst of her earlier albums, but her heart is defintely there. This is an album you can't pick apart. You have to listen as a whole, and when you do, you'll fall in love with an Educated Guess about Ani! Expand
  3. CourtneyL
    Jan 20, 2004
    10
    A great Ani Difrano cd...I suggest it for any Ani fan out there. It is such a great mix of all the things she does so well. It brings the greatness of Ani to the table.
  4. jamall
    Jan 21, 2004
    0
    If you like overwrought crap, this is the cd for you.
  5. anna98
    Jan 21, 2004
    10
    an emotional rollercoaster and an artistic masterpeice....her best work in years
  6. g.
    Feb 1, 2004
    2
    Ani was my favorite until this album appeared. I suggest buying some of her earlier stuff: I could listen to "to the teeth" all day long. Skip this one.
  7. monica
    Jan 29, 2004
    10
    simply amazing
  8. JB
    Jan 27, 2004
    0
    sucked
  9. AkAk
    Feb 13, 2004
    9
    intimate and passionate..
  10. [Anonymous]
    Feb 11, 2004
    10
    This is not for the trendy, shallow Ani fan. You really need to know her intricacies as a writer and her musical history to appreciate this album for its stark, fearless ability to stand alone, naked against the wind.
  11. aniappreciator
    Feb 15, 2004
    10
    dig deeper, folks. we are lucky to be around at the same time at this album (and her others...). in the future, people will wistfully dream of living during ani's time, and you'll be napping...WAKE UP! this is a great album...
  12. SethB
    Feb 22, 2004
    10
    "I focus on the quiet now/and occasionally fall asleep somehow.." That lyric from "Bodily" just about nails it. This is a quiet album. Dealing with the loss of her lover and having disbanded her band it figures why this would be quiet record. I liked it. I like honesty in singers and artists, it's what makes them artists. I can't believe these poor reveiws from some of you "I focus on the quiet now/and occasionally fall asleep somehow.." That lyric from "Bodily" just about nails it. This is a quiet album. Dealing with the loss of her lover and having disbanded her band it figures why this would be quiet record. I liked it. I like honesty in singers and artists, it's what makes them artists. I can't believe these poor reveiws from some of you people. Artists create self-portriats in their music, it's impossible to capture an entitre "self" in one record or even two or three. Most take ten or twenty records and still are not complete. This record is Ani where she is now so sit back and listen and enjoy. Expand
  13. dorrie
    Apr 5, 2004
    10
    I believe this album is one of her greatest achievements. Along with having absolutely amazing lyrics, as usual, she is now using the music to portray the words in it's own way. In her previous albums, which were all incredible with great music, there was a level of superficiality to it. The music was there for her to sing along with. Over time, her albums have gotten better and I believe this album is one of her greatest achievements. Along with having absolutely amazing lyrics, as usual, she is now using the music to portray the words in it's own way. In her previous albums, which were all incredible with great music, there was a level of superficiality to it. The music was there for her to sing along with. Over time, her albums have gotten better and gotten more sophisticated...this one is by far the most sophisticated yet. Expand
  14. BenjaminBunny
    Apr 17, 2004
    1
    Self-indulgent waste.
  15. TonyW
    Jul 1, 2004
    9
    Loved it.
  16. MatthewB
    Jan 20, 2004
    10
    I expect the reviews won't be that great, as it isn't a really mainstream album. But just me, don't listen to critcs. If you have an avant-garde mind, try this. If you like unstable harmonies and melodies shifted to show the raw emotion, try this. It is amazing, one of Ani's best.
  17. AdamB
    Jan 21, 2004
    8
    Nearly perfect! This is what I've been waiting for! She doing it just how I like it, just guitar and killer lyrics. Ignore E! Online, I mean c'mon it's E! what do they know? Let them keep on kissing Britney's a**! Ani is singing from the heart here and you can feel it! "Bodily" is the most starkly honest and deepest song I think I've ever heard her sing. The title Nearly perfect! This is what I've been waiting for! She doing it just how I like it, just guitar and killer lyrics. Ignore E! Online, I mean c'mon it's E! what do they know? Let them keep on kissing Britney's a**! Ani is singing from the heart here and you can feel it! "Bodily" is the most starkly honest and deepest song I think I've ever heard her sing. The title song is Ani at her best, lyrics and music combining to make something just wonderfully filling and touching. There is no who can touch her! Expand
  18. MichelleC
    Feb 9, 2005
    7
    Fascinating album. I heard "swim" and "educated guess" live first-- it was quite a shock to hear them so jarringly dissonant on the album after they soar so gorgeously on the live versions. However, this may more than anything point to Ani's versitality within her own art. The album definitely speaks to her talent and independence as a writer and a performer.
  19. LeroyBY
    Jan 30, 2004
    0
    This album is very honest lyrically. It's very musically simple, but if you're an indie rock fan you may or may not like this CD. It is most definitly nit happy, but I personally strongly recommend the album. Listen to the lyrics and enjoy the mussic
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Educated Guess explores new musical territory that is challenging enough to engage even the most folk-averse listeners while it maintains a unity of tone which yields a highly listenable work.
  2. Uncut
    70
    Paradoxically, its spare, solo-voice-and-guitar format... comes closer to matching DiFranco's charismatic live performances than prior band-driven efforts. [Mar 2004, p.87]
  3. Spin
    75
    An album sanded with sad humor and a return to old loves. [Mar 2004, p.96]