• Record Label: Altitude
  • Release Date: May 18, 2004
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. The music is livelier and almost exuberant at times, and certainly more varied that on the last album.
  2. Mojo
    80
    A superior folk-tinged brand of MOR. [Oct 2005, p.102]
  3. What Emblems lacks in youthful charm it makes up in its confident and solid delivery.
  4. Alternative Press
    70
    Admittedly, Emblems begins to drag towards the end, but the album succeeds on a visceral level. [Jul 2004, p.136]
  5. Under The Radar
    70
    Not quite the career-defining album that we've been waiting for, but it is the band's most well-rounded release. [#7]
  6. Rolling Stone
    70
    Strangely, gorgeously disorienting. [10 Jun 2004, p.86]
  7. It's baffling that these songs aren't all over the radio.
  8. Uncut
    60
    The chamber-pop arrangements make pretentiously snarled lyrics slip down smoothly. [Oct 2005, p.108]
  9. Q Magazine
    50
    Perfectly pleasant, but with none of the edge that might mark them as another Arcade Fire. [Oct 2005, p.117]
  10. Emblems is numbingly repetitive.
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. benk
    Apr 23, 2006
    8
    I'm not sure if there's anything to add if you haven't read critic reviews. This music is soft enough to be listen-able to I'm not sure if there's anything to add if you haven't read critic reviews. This music is soft enough to be listen-able to anyone, but I think the reason MPPA lacks a large following is that none of the songs really grab you. The sound is simple (like the single-note opening riff of Kc) yet lush (layered strings compliment the acoustic guitar on nearly every track), and seems to wash right over the listener and vanish politely. Even so, it's worth a listen. One final note: MPPA's next album, "Several Arrows Later," is more of the same- if you like it, you'll like Emblems, and vice versa. Full Review »
  2. meganh
    May 15, 2005
    10
    amazing cd..a must
  3. MaxxK
    Jul 30, 2004
    10
    My favorite song is "Lilly" ! It's awesome "I swear". His best album to date.