User ratings in Music are temporarily disabled. More info
  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Emmaar Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 10 Ratings

  • Summary: Saul Williams, Matt Sweeney and Josh Klinghoffer appear as guests on the sixth release for the desert blues rock band from Mali.
Buy Now
Buy on

Top Track

Toumast Tincha
Walking through it Walking in the winter The desert Then I see it My beloved Dancing through fire Dancing through fire ... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Feb 6, 2014
    It’s a truly absorbing listen, almost effortless. For a band that have been through so much turmoil, they convey so much beauty.
  2. Magnet
    Feb 21, 2014
    It's a captivating album, full of gradually shifting textures, meditative chants and brilliant guitar playing. [No. 106, p.59]
  3. Feb 11, 2014
    Emmaar finds the desert-blues group returning to the crackling electric sound that is their trademark, but here the implicit knowledge of conflict lingers like a fog.
  4. Feb 7, 2014
    A band that could forever rely on their fascinating back-story and critical adoration alone, Tinariwen strives for much more on Emmaar.
  5. Mojo
    Feb 11, 2014
    Tinariwen still speak to the world as outsiders, but now they are telling us more about ourselves than we knew before. [Mar 2014, p.92]
  6. Feb 10, 2014
    It's perhaps not as immediate as 2007's Aman Iman, but no less pleasing.
  7. Feb 12, 2014
    For better and worse, surprises on Emmaar are scarce if there are any.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of