• Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: Mar 6, 2020
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 9 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
Buy On
  1. 100
    Again, he has made another record that will stay close to the hearts of a generation of rap fans. He is surely our generation’s Lil Wayne.
  2. Mar 12, 2020
    84
    Lil Uzi Vert made an event album, where the main attraction is flex raps and production that builds on its roots. Not even two years (an eternity in rap) was able to hold back Eternal Atake, an album that will be chased for years to come.
  3. 83
    Eternal Atake has moments of heartfelt candor, including “Chrome Heart Tags” and “Spread the Bag”. LUV Vs. the World 2 doesn’t really. There’s no equivalent to the “Never Bend” remix from 2018, which hinted at a world of hurt behind the “project walls.”
  4. Mar 31, 2020
    80
    There is no denying Lil Uzi Vert’s unconventional version of rap has been polarizing for the better part of the last five years yet Eternal Atake should be celebrated. He maneuvers within the cockpit of his comfort zone, navigating a galaxy of different genres while keeping the essence of rap at the forefront.
  5. Mar 23, 2020
    80
    It is part old-fashioned bluster, part flamboyant style exercise, all rowdy thrill.
  6. Mar 12, 2020
    80
    Lee’s sound design—the rush of Uzi getting sucked into a portal, the hum of the spaceship engine, the unsettling, pulsating rumble coming from the great beyond—co-exists seamlessly with the album’s production. It creates narrative tension and helps create a broader cosmic context for his sex marathons and shopping sprees, for the great eccentric force with which he raps and sings.
  7. Apr 2, 2020
    70
    Even though it's a lengthy journey and some of the songs start to feel similar, nothing here is filler.
  8. Mar 12, 2020
    70
    His puns about denial v. the Nile river, or his boasts about being like Mother Goose, land with laughable thuds (though perhaps that's this fun-loving MC's intent?). But Uzi nimbly switches from relatedly lovelorn speak-singing on "Bust Me" to rugged, speedy punch line powerhouse on the very next track, "Prices." That transition is merely one of the energetic and unpredictable performative tricks Uzi pulls off on this stadium sized LP.
  9. Apr 28, 2020
    65
    If you absolutely can not stand rappers who should be called singers then you need to take a hard pass on Vert, but if you occasionally (or more often than that) enjoy the crooning, Vert is at least someone who can put it together in a way that is surprisingly decent and occasionally quite good.
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 172 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 172
  1. Mar 13, 2020
    6
    This highly anticipated album from lil uzi was good, but certainly not groundbreaking or impact changing. This project is well produced andThis highly anticipated album from lil uzi was good, but certainly not groundbreaking or impact changing. This project is well produced and sounds good halfway through. For a non-uzi fan it's too long and is similar sounding which adds to the run time. Tbh, Uzi didn't make this project for fans of rap he made it more fans of him. Which is fine but don't expect high praise from me and other rap fans. Full Review »
  2. Mar 16, 2020
    5
    Eternal Atake is the perfect example of how hype controls the audiences perception of quality. Lil Uzi has hyped this album up for years andEternal Atake is the perfect example of how hype controls the audiences perception of quality. Lil Uzi has hyped this album up for years and it finally dropped, now if you're a Lil Uzi Vert fan, you must be pretty excited for this right? So you listen to it and it sounds great! Until you listen to it a 2nd, 3rd or even 4th time before realizing Uzi is rapping about the same surface level things on nearly every song on this album. The beats and production on this album are thrown together and not really aesthetically pleasing in the slightest. I pointed to this earlier but it feels as though Uzi hasn't grown with his lyricism at all since his 2017 project. Rapping about bands, foreign whips, and bad lil **** on nearly every single song. While there are some good beats on this album (Prices, Secure the Bag) as I said they are all interchangeable with each other so a lot of the tracks sound the same. I personally do think that Uzi is the most overrated rapper in the game right now. I'm not saying he's bad but what I am saying is he hasn't done anything to warrant this amount of praise from the music community. I felt as though the sound that Lil Uzi has and the brand that he has created with that sound did not match how long the tracks were on this album. Nearly all of these tracks are three minutes long and while I was listening to this my third time through, heck even on my first time through I noticed that I was always waiting for the songs to cut off shorter. And I don't have a short attention span or anything but, I just felt as though Uzi was buying time to get to that 3 minute mark and I'm not exactly sure why. One thing should be made clear though, I did not hate this album, I just think a lot of what this album did was very average to below average which is very disappointing considering all of the hype this project got before even being released. When you boil it down this is a collection of songs with average lyrics, average beats, and average storytelling and for that reason Eternal Atake gets a 5/10. Full Review »
  3. Mar 13, 2020
    10
    Glad that it didn’t flop, it went above and beyond the already high Expectations I had.