• Record Label: New Door
  • Release Date: Sep 14, 2004
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 61 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 61
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 61
  3. Negative: 4 out of 61

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. HYMMA
    Jun 10, 2007
    10
    we all were waiting for it, a rainbow of feelings
  2. BobL
    Oct 10, 2004
    10
    This may be the best album in the past 10-20 years. I know that is a pretty strong statement, but WOW...this is a true work of art! There is the obvious Beatles influence, but it somehow manages to be original and sincere. Incredibly well crafted songs and masterful production make this an immediate classic. I can't stop listening to it.
  3. millerz
    Oct 25, 2004
    10
    this album is fantastic. the best tears for fears yet. the devil song is the best on the whole cd. buy this now.
  4. NTZ
    Apr 3, 2005
    10
    Absolutely fantastic. Current great rock bands should have a listen to see what real music is about.
  5. JeffS
    Feb 10, 2006
    10
    Great CD. Almost on a par with Elemental (one of my favorite albums in any category). Beautiful vocals, guitar, piano and pop sound.
  6. GeorgeP
    Oct 13, 2004
    9
    "Everybody Loves A Happy Ending" does have elements of its original based tunes...but mostly the voice of both Curt and Roland have changed as expected over the last 15 years, this isn't a bad or a good thing. I find there new album very good indeed but does differentiate between their old albums from the 80's.
  7. JH
    Oct 8, 2004
    9
    This album has everything... from Queen, the Beatles, Wings, and even Jellyfish! The more I listened to it, the more I wanted to. Some of the songs are purely infectious and crawl inside your skull for the remainder of the day. If you like music, you'll love this album.
  8. DavidC
    Sep 13, 2004
    9
    This is easily their most consistent work to date, from start to finish.
  9. TonyS
    Sep 15, 2004
    8
    I sure more to come
  10. BaronS
    Sep 22, 2004
    8
    If Roland Orzabal and Curt Smith are not each secretly pleased to be playing and writing together again, you certainly can not tell from this collection of catchy, joyous pop songs. Granted, the sound is very glossy and heavily produced, but the duo have constructed enough infectious and memorable tunes here that allow the over-production to remind one more of Lennon/McCartney or Brian If Roland Orzabal and Curt Smith are not each secretly pleased to be playing and writing together again, you certainly can not tell from this collection of catchy, joyous pop songs. Granted, the sound is very glossy and heavily produced, but the duo have constructed enough infectious and memorable tunes here that allow the over-production to remind one more of Lennon/McCartney or Brian Wilson, than some pompous, over-wrought immitation. "...Happy Ending" seems to perfectly pick up where TFF left off prior to their much publicized split following the tour of 1989's "Seeds of Love", and is there greatest accomplishment since their eighties masterpiece "Songs from the Big Chair". This is one reunion that was worth the effort. Expand
  11. Larry
    Sep 27, 2004
    10
    Easily one of the best works of 2004. It hits on so many levels. Repeat listening is needed (and enjoyable) to pick up the nuance of each track.
  12. WilliamR
    Sep 27, 2004
    8
    Some really nice melodies, with some mediocre lyrics. Favorite tracks include "Call me Mellow", "Who You Are" , and "Closest Thing to Heaven"
  13. JamesC
    Jun 15, 2005
    10
    A++ in pop music! I don't understand the critic
  14. CMN
    Jun 2, 2005
    8
    Very good! but the sound is not as good as the achieved in "Seeds of Love".
  15. JohnH
    Oct 1, 2004
    10
    What pop music should be. Todays acts should listen and try it.
  16. Reggie
    Oct 18, 2004
    9
    One of the most welcome reunions of alltime is trumped by their finished product. Fascinating material, if you like surreal lyrics, swirling sounds capped by audio imagery .... this is your cup of tea.
  17. AlejandroJ
    Oct 24, 2004
    9
    It right next to Songs From the Big Chair as my favorite album from TTF, although it has a completely different sound to it, more like Seeds of Love.
  18. MaryM
    Oct 26, 2004
    10
    It`s great
  19. dougb
    Oct 7, 2004
    8
    This is no Seeds of Love, although the songs are clearly growers and Call Me Mellow is as catchy as anything they've done. I like Roland Orzabal, enjoyed Elemental and Raoul and the King of Spain, so I expect the obtuseness and pompousness in his lyrics - even look forward to it. I see that some reviewers get quite defensive about him - but c'mon now: Roland has always been an This is no Seeds of Love, although the songs are clearly growers and Call Me Mellow is as catchy as anything they've done. I like Roland Orzabal, enjoyed Elemental and Raoul and the King of Spain, so I expect the obtuseness and pompousness in his lyrics - even look forward to it. I see that some reviewers get quite defensive about him - but c'mon now: Roland has always been an arrogant, pompous genius. We love him for that! He doesn't need Curt's choir boy vocals and I'm guessing that Roland just couldn't resist the Brit-clever beauty of "Everybody Loves a Happy Ending" and needed Curt to make it legit. Expand
  20. GusP
    Sep 18, 2004
    10
    Yes! This is a pop masterpiece.
  21. JohnC
    Sep 18, 2004
    10
    And you call anything OTHER than THIS music? Please.
  22. WWJW
    Sep 21, 2004
    10
    Wow. Just "wow." I wasn't sure what to expect from TFF after such a long hiatus, but I must say that this album is incredible! Roland and Curt have delievered something better than anything I could have ever imagined. Welcome back, guys! You were missed.
  23. JacobH
    Sep 20, 2004
    9
    Do critics only listen to records once now? That's the only way you could write off this record so easily. The somewhat jarring beatles-esque opening song gives you an immediate impression that something is very different with their sound. And it might be easy for old fans to get turned off right there. But dig deeper into the album and after repeated listens, gems such as "Ladybird" Do critics only listen to records once now? That's the only way you could write off this record so easily. The somewhat jarring beatles-esque opening song gives you an immediate impression that something is very different with their sound. And it might be easy for old fans to get turned off right there. But dig deeper into the album and after repeated listens, gems such as "Ladybird" and "Closest Thing To Heaven" and "Secret World" will permeate your conciousness, never to let go. This whole disc is full of good stuff, from the stand-outs to just enjoyable music in-between. *smacks reviewers with a large fish* Expand
  24. DavidM
    Sep 22, 2004
    9
    With all the lazy, self-absorbed music that is out there today, it is a pleasure to find such a solid, start to finish album as this. TTF have done themselves and their fans proud!!
  25. Toni
    Jan 20, 2005
    9
    I love the new album. I'm so happy they are creating music together again. Especially love the tracks: Miss Tangerine, Who you are, Killing with Kindness.
  26. RichardS
    Jun 2, 2005
    10
    Easily one of the best pop albums of the last 15 years.
  27. MarkR
    Jun 30, 2005
    10
    This is my album of the year - with no close contenders. The Devil is kind of buried in the reviews, or not mentioned at all - but that's my standout track. It's just not like anything they've done before and it is so dark and perfect. I love picking up the little references here and there- to prior albums (the drum solo in the middle of Closest Thing to Heaven is a lift This is my album of the year - with no close contenders. The Devil is kind of buried in the reviews, or not mentioned at all - but that's my standout track. It's just not like anything they've done before and it is so dark and perfect. I love picking up the little references here and there- to prior albums (the drum solo in the middle of Closest Thing to Heaven is a lift from Sowing the Seeds of Love), to David Essex (Who killed Tangerinie, pretty girl I've ever seen) to a pretty decent channeling of John Lennon on the lead-off track (..and your light will shine on everyone). I would gift this album to almost everybody I know, except those of a certain age who think Paul Anka's Rock Swings is cutting edge pop. This is how pop was meant to sound! A promise fulfilled. Expand
  28. NigelG
    Sep 19, 2005
    10
    Jeez, what do critics know? This is awesome - the kind of stuff that reverberates in your head. The opening verse on Closest Thing to Heaven is possibly the greatest musical accomplishment of the century.
  29. RichardG
    Nov 7, 2006
    10
    Easily the best album of the year--certainly their best (and on par with) "Songs From the Big Chair" and "Seeds of Love" will leave fans and objective critics wondering why they split in the first place. Noisy negativists will invariably take the proverbial stance against what is a remarkable wall-of-sound, Beatles-esque achievement marking a glorious return to form with Curt and Roland Easily the best album of the year--certainly their best (and on par with) "Songs From the Big Chair" and "Seeds of Love" will leave fans and objective critics wondering why they split in the first place. Noisy negativists will invariably take the proverbial stance against what is a remarkable wall-of-sound, Beatles-esque achievement marking a glorious return to form with Curt and Roland at the helm having the time of their lives indulging arrangements far superior to anything released over what has been a mostly bland and luridly offensive line-up of inferior albums duly shunned by popular public response. I can only hope and pray that this "Happy Ending" is just a play on words--an ironic stab of the magical collaberation whose magical pen arranged lushly gorgeous new-wave symphonic ear-candy. For those of us who've been salivating for a reunion of these two masters of a genre they masterminded single-handedly, Tears for Fears goes where nobody dares tread in today's current by-numbers pop into a stratosphere of artistry seldom heard in full-length efforts by their contemporaries. My choice for the #1 album of the year, TFF once again challenges the listener to explore musical brilliance far ahead of its time. Nothing comes remotely close to this Holy Grail of the past decade; few releases take the risks of such bombastic opulance. A CD to be cherished and enjoyed multiple times for its sheer audacity, intelligently subtle political statements and dramatically beautiful arrangements, "Everybody Loves a Happy Ending" is only flawed in that it may have been released a decade too early, however, for those with an appreciation of sonic flourishes and a wildly imaginative scope, Tears for Fears offers up a nine-course meal deliciously garnished with futurism and masterfully angellic soundscapes whose fantastic voyage shall be fully realized at the appropriate time. Like most modern art under-appreciated by critical lethargy, "Everybody Loves A Happy Ending" will usher in the next new wave of infinitely superior recordings in its wake. Let us hope this "Ending" is just the beginning of glorious things to come. Expand
  30. shyman
    Feb 17, 2006
    9
    Fifteen years after the lushly produced, intimate and soul influenced "The Seeds of Love", TFF return with their follow-up as a proper band. The result is oriented towards the nature of that record, although the Beatle-esque focus is even more intense here. Roland Orzabal comes again composing new masterpieces like "Closest Thing to Heaven", "Call Me Mellow" or "Who Killed Tangerine", Fifteen years after the lushly produced, intimate and soul influenced "The Seeds of Love", TFF return with their follow-up as a proper band. The result is oriented towards the nature of that record, although the Beatle-esque focus is even more intense here. Roland Orzabal comes again composing new masterpieces like "Closest Thing to Heaven", "Call Me Mellow" or "Who Killed Tangerine", demonstrating he hasn't lost his masterful touch and again his cooperation with Curt give interesting results like in the case of "Ladybird". Another interesting point here is that this is the record where Curt Smith has put more effort, appearing on vocals on more occasion than ever and putting some songs from his catalogue, like "Eyes of Sorrow" or "Who you are". So, the comeback of this great band has been precisely that: great, although probably their finest works still remain in the 80s Expand
  31. MCPetrie
    Jul 3, 2007
    10
    Fantastic record. Best of their career.
  32. JanetS
    Nov 12, 2004
    10
    It is fantastic! I've seen them twice this year in concert and was lucky enough to meet both of them. They sound great together and the album really gets under your skin. Roland's voice is smooth as ever. Hope they stay together!
  33. MatthewN
    Nov 13, 2004
    10
    TFF does it again! Great to have the boy reunited!!
  34. [Anonymous]
    Sep 14, 2004
    9
    If you are a true TFF/Roland Orzabal fan (meaning you actually kept up with his solo albums), then you will love this album. The critics that say this album is pretentious and pompous are obviously missing the point of what Roland Orzabal has been doing since he started this whole thing. The same thing was said about Queen's Bohemian Rhapsody by the way. I'm not saying TFF is If you are a true TFF/Roland Orzabal fan (meaning you actually kept up with his solo albums), then you will love this album. The critics that say this album is pretentious and pompous are obviously missing the point of what Roland Orzabal has been doing since he started this whole thing. The same thing was said about Queen's Bohemian Rhapsody by the way. I'm not saying TFF is Queen, but I find everything Roland Orzabal has done with or without Curt Smith to be nothing less than brilliant music ...yes, I use the word brilliant. The title track is an amazing song, and instead of worrying whether they are trying to top the Beatles, why not just appreciate it as an homage, rather than a challenge? I don't know that Curt Smith is needed, however there is something different about this album, and I have to believe that he somehow brings Orzabal back to Sowing the Seeds of Love form, the best album they ever did in my book. Enjoy! Expand
  35. RonB
    Sep 15, 2004
    10
    Don't let the inarticulate and perennial detractors dissuade you from giving this landmark CD a chance. It has everything you've loved on previous TFF collections, and more, presented with more assurance and passion than ever.
  36. ToddP
    Sep 15, 2004
    8
    Excellent CD . A good mix of pop and art. Very happy with the new release.
  37. tb
    Sep 18, 2004
    10
    incredible, beautiful, happy and sad. the leaves of fall will drift sweetly with this cd in my player.
  38. PaulS
    Mar 25, 2005
    10
    Loved it, retains the classic fears sound yet posses a modern sound - awsome, good combination of chillout, sing along and mood enhancement... quality buy !
  39. BillH
    Apr 27, 2005
    10
    To my ears, this is the finest TFF music ever and one of the finest CDs ever. I can't wait to see them perform Who Killed Tangerine on next years Oscar show. The chorus that comprises the last half of this song "And when you think it's all over, it's not over" is perhaps the most magnificent sounding musical moment in my lifetime, especially its final iteration.
  40. SteveE
    Nov 18, 2004
    10
    Very different from their last joint effort (Seeds of Love), but definitely just as good with great, great tunes (and OK, some indecipherable lyrics). Beatles, U2, funk...it's all there.
  41. Aug 29, 2010
    9
    A excelent album on bad times of music. "Everybody Loves A Happy Ending" isn't the best of Tears For Fears, but this album has something that others haven't in actually... emotions and a music content that a lot of people love in music. But a lot of people don't know that it exist.
  42. Sep 22, 2011
    10
    Picking up right where the Seeds of Love left off, Curt and Roland show why they are such solid songwriters. Both vocals from the vocals are fantastic and they are not afraid to mix things up a bit. Who Killed Tanagerine is uplifting, and one of the strongest tracks on the album. While I thoroughly enjoyed Ronald's solo work through the 90's, this album is true Tears for Fears one can hopePicking up right where the Seeds of Love left off, Curt and Roland show why they are such solid songwriters. Both vocals from the vocals are fantastic and they are not afraid to mix things up a bit. Who Killed Tanagerine is uplifting, and one of the strongest tracks on the album. While I thoroughly enjoyed Ronald's solo work through the 90's, this album is true Tears for Fears one can hope that these guys continue to give the world proper music, as they always have done. Expand
  43. Oct 12, 2015
    9
    Takes a few spins, something the critics obviously didn't bother investing in, but once it hits home, it's there for the long haul. Easily their best album since The Big Chair. Yes it's that good. Sophisticated, as they've always been.
  44. Mar 2, 2015
    10
    The complaint is that it is a bit beatlisc, but to be honest, but of course they were influenced by Sgt. Pepper. Perhaps critics always wanted TFF to revert back to their melancholic hay days. I'm glad they didn't and went out (perhaps?) with something more sanguine.
  45. Jan 13, 2014
    10
    Probably the best pop album I've ever listen to, TFF mixes all the best flower psychedelic pop of the latest 60 (Beatles, Byrds, Zombies) with new sound and the result is absolutely incredible. A masterpiece.
  46. Apr 28, 2018
    10
    I've never understood why critics love to hate Tears for Fears. Fourteen years (?!) later, "Everybody Loves A Happy Ending" remains one of the best pop-rock albums of the millennium. The melodies are crisp and direct, the are songs playful and often feel effortlessly crafted, and the arrangements and production are top-notch.
    This isn't the TFF of the 1980s -- they left the angst behind
    I've never understood why critics love to hate Tears for Fears. Fourteen years (?!) later, "Everybody Loves A Happy Ending" remains one of the best pop-rock albums of the millennium. The melodies are crisp and direct, the are songs playful and often feel effortlessly crafted, and the arrangements and production are top-notch.
    This isn't the TFF of the 1980s -- they left the angst behind with young adulthood -- but there's plenty to dig into and enjoy.
    Expand
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Happy Ending acquits itself nicely by offering a compelling blend of gigantic hooks, sugary-sweet melodies, and textured production.
  2. Tears for Fears skirts the has-been trap impressively, translating years of experience into play-it-again, sophisticated modern pop worth paying attention to.
  3. Rich in melody and mood, guitar and piano; it is more rock than pop.