• Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: Nov 17, 2017
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
Buy On
  1. Nov 27, 2017
    75
    They [Sia and Greg Kurstin] bring effervescent energy to dance-minded tracks such as “Santa’s Coming for us” and the Phil Spector-inspired “Candy Cane Lane” while investing real sincerity into more introspective numbers including “Snowflake” and “Underneath the Mistletoe.”
  2. Q Magazine
    Nov 22, 2017
    60
    An LP that, on balance, really is just for Christmas. [Jan 2018, p.113]
  3. Nov 22, 2017
    60
    Over the course of the album, Sia tries to cover all the moods of the season: "Ho Ho Ho" gets into the Christmas spirit with gin, bourbon, and loopy cartoon sound effects; "Puppies Are Forever" could be from a children's holiday album; and "Sunshine" finds Sia helping a sad friend with heroic doses of Christmas cheer. However, some of the album's best moments tone down the merriment.
  4. Dec 5, 2017
    58
    There’s plenty Sia could do with an album entirely of Christmas originals, but too many are underwritten; there’s more consistency in the art direction than the songwriting.
  5. Nov 22, 2017
    50
    Sia too often sounds like she's singing with a mouthful of Christmas candy.
  6. Nov 22, 2017
    40
    That carelessness [tendency towards repetition that seems lazy], combined with Sia’s mewling, monotonous and oddly Scandi-accented vocal, means Everyday Is Christmas is unlikely to win over any nonbelievers.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 84 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 84
  2. Negative: 10 out of 84
  1. Nov 26, 2017
    9
    This album really is a masterpiece. From festive bops like "Ho Ho Ho" & "Sunshine" to emotional and heartbreaking ballads "Everyday isThis album really is a masterpiece. From festive bops like "Ho Ho Ho" & "Sunshine" to emotional and heartbreaking ballads "Everyday is Christmas" & "Underneath the Christmas Lights" there truly is something for everyone in this original holiday album. I love every song and Sia really does have a special place in my heart. Full Review »
  2. Nov 23, 2017
    10
    I don't have enough words to describe this amazing Christmas album! Sia is the only artist who took the risk to release an album with newI don't have enough words to describe this amazing Christmas album! Sia is the only artist who took the risk to release an album with new Christmas songs. The lyrics of every song are so beautiful and meaningful, Sia and Greg Kurstin did something completely different and it´s what Christmas time needed. Thanks Sia and Greg for giving a refresh to Christmas songs. Bravo!!! Full Review »
  3. Nov 23, 2017
    10
    Parabéns Sia , Músicas Espiradoras, Alegres e Divertidas ! Minhas Músicas Favoritas São '' Ho Ho Ho '' ,
    '' Santa's Coming for Us '', ''
    Parabéns Sia , Músicas Espiradoras, Alegres e Divertidas ! Minhas Músicas Favoritas São '' Ho Ho Ho '' ,
    '' Santa's Coming for Us '', '' Everyday Is Christmas '' e '' Underneath The Christmas Lights'' Parabéns pelo ótimo Trabalho. Bjs do Brasil
    Full Review »