• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Everything I Know About Love Image

Universal acclaim - based on 4 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Awaiting 3 more ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the debut full-length release for Los Angeles-based Icelandic-Chinese jazz-pop artist Laufey.
Buy Now
Buy on
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. 80
    An album as intimate as it is cinematic. Rose-tinted melodies wrap around delicate harmonies and show off Jónsdóttir’s disarming vocals as she chronicles her experiences of falling in and out of love in the digital age, and 12 tracks feel not quite long enough to experience the ethereal beauty of Laufey’s sonic universe.
  2. 80
    The vocals and instrumentation help the album ultimately overcome its few shortcomings, such as its occasionally unwieldy lyrics (“I’m scared of flies / I’m scared of guys” is one such culprit on ‘Valentine’). Yet the lyrics also give us one of ‘Everything I Know About Love’’s primary delights: Laufey’s candid self-expression wrapped in the dreamy lilt of the old jazz standards.
  3. Aug 25, 2022
    Everything I Know About Love is a strong first showing from Laufey, an effortless blend of old and new that manages to both comfort with familiarity and excite with possibility.
  4. Aug 25, 2022
    Every track demonstrates a beauty in the everyday; in the mundane; in our reality. And combining such observations with the sweeping sounds of orchestral talent and acoustic guitar, the end result, of the combination of these juxtaposing complex and simple elements, is one that feels familiar.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Aug 27, 2022
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is like a journey you're going through hills and coast. What a beautiful record. Very luscious modern jazz sound covered with chocolatey vocals. Super great debut album for Laufey. My favourite tracks are Fragile, Valentine, What love will do to you and ofcourse, Falling behind ❤ Expand