• Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: Jun 4, 2013
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 81 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 81
  2. Negative: 4 out of 81
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 7, 2013
    10
    Growing up in England with a music obsessed father from Liverpool, meant I was exposed to The Beatles at an early age. In my teenage years, living just outside of Manchester I had Oasis. I hear inspiration from both of these bands in PTM.
    They have written seven albums in eight years, displaying subtle variance, growth and continuity. Their last album 'In the mountain in the cloud' wasn't
    Growing up in England with a music obsessed father from Liverpool, meant I was exposed to The Beatles at an early age. In my teenage years, living just outside of Manchester I had Oasis. I hear inspiration from both of these bands in PTM.
    They have written seven albums in eight years, displaying subtle variance, growth and continuity. Their last album 'In the mountain in the cloud' wasn't adventurous enough, for a band with their creativity. Collaborating with Danger Mouse has really brought out the best in PTM. I could listen to this album all day, everyday. It has the songs, the production, great musicianship, thoughtful lyrics and a brings a fresh new style with it.
    Expand
  2. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    Hadn't heard of Portugal. The Man before I listened to this album but am so glad I know them now! The album is the perfect mix of catchy hooks, Thought-provoking lyrics, Impressive Instrumentals, and of course great production from Danger Mouse!
  3. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    I have been a long time fan of Portugal. the Man, and though they have become more and more influenced by the pop aesthetic, they continue to produce beautiful melodies and meaningful music. It also is incredibly catchy, hook-filled music, with choruses that will sink themselves into your subconscious. Not my favorite effort from P.tM, but still worthy of high praise.
  4. Jun 4, 2013
    9
    Best Portugal. The Man album yet. Every song on the album is enjoyable, and I really like the darker places they go on some of the songs. You should also watch the videos for all of their music, always fantastic.
  5. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    The tightest, most aggressive PTM album of their career. The threads that tie back to their previous albums are intact, but their session with Danger Mouse refined the psychedelic sensibility that sometimes sabotaged their songs in the past. For a longtime PTM fan, this is an exciting turn in their career.
  6. Sep 26, 2013
    10
    PTM's first album with Danger Mouse behind the boards most certainly shouldn't be their last. Whilst it's hardly a surprise that the resulting album falls perfectly between contemporary pop and alternative rock, what is a surprise is just how good those results are. The stomping "Purple Yellow Red and Blue", title track "Evil Friends" and the sparse-yet-dense "Atomic Man" really allowPTM's first album with Danger Mouse behind the boards most certainly shouldn't be their last. Whilst it's hardly a surprise that the resulting album falls perfectly between contemporary pop and alternative rock, what is a surprise is just how good those results are. The stomping "Purple Yellow Red and Blue", title track "Evil Friends" and the sparse-yet-dense "Atomic Man" really allow Brian Burton to sprinkle his own pop sensibilities and structure around a wonderful collection of catchy riffs and hooks. John Gourley's lyrics are as instant and accessible as anything John Lennon wrote with similarly dark undertones (I would defy anyone not to be moved into a bought of self-awareness listening to "Modern Jesus"). Buy this album, it's good. Expand
  7. Feb 4, 2014
    6
    I enjoyed this album a lot at first, but then I realized I was only listening to 5 songs. The good songs on this album are incredible and the bad songs are just plain bad; it is mainly the lyrics that ruin them with lines such as "you can't fight a war with nobody to fight back" on Waves. Danger Mouse does his job on this album with fantastic music and Gourley just fails to fill it in. TheI enjoyed this album a lot at first, but then I realized I was only listening to 5 songs. The good songs on this album are incredible and the bad songs are just plain bad; it is mainly the lyrics that ruin them with lines such as "you can't fight a war with nobody to fight back" on Waves. Danger Mouse does his job on this album with fantastic music and Gourley just fails to fill it in. The songs to listen to are Atomic Man, Evil Friends, Modern Jesus, Purple, Yellow, Red and Blue, and Creep in a T-shirt. After finally really listening to it this album just doesn't match up with Satanic Satanist or In the Mountain in the Cloud. Expand
  8. Jun 26, 2013
    10
    Thank you Spotify for introducing me to this group. The mix on this album is perfect. The combination of catchy lyrics with signature instrumentals makes this album a 10 in my book.
  9. Jun 6, 2013
    9
    Loved it. It's not as dreamy, flashy and psychedelic as In The Mountain In The Cloud and employs an overall more mainstream approach to the sound but nevertheless the result is superb. What truly moves an album forward is the same sense of pompous epicness from the sound and the vocals combined as on the previous one. An incredible collection of catchy pop-rock songs and yet another greatLoved it. It's not as dreamy, flashy and psychedelic as In The Mountain In The Cloud and employs an overall more mainstream approach to the sound but nevertheless the result is superb. What truly moves an album forward is the same sense of pompous epicness from the sound and the vocals combined as on the previous one. An incredible collection of catchy pop-rock songs and yet another great album from Portugal.The Man.
    P.S. If you want a instantly-great song that will grab you from the first time you hear and make you buy an album, listen to Hip-Hop Kids.
    Expand
  10. Sep 28, 2013
    9
    I had never heard their previous albums so come to this fresh. And fresh it is. Great songs,great production and a unique style that manages to wear their influences on the sleeve but hold its own integrity. I will be checking out the back catalogue
  11. Feb 16, 2014
    10
    mixing together amazing fuzzed out punk, introspective lyrics, catchy choruses, and layer'd synth with acoustic guitar may not sound doable but again PTM manages to amaze and deliver
  12. Jun 5, 2013
    10
    Been a Portugal the man fan for a couple of years now, but there has not been a better album then what they made with Danger Mouse. This album is flawless and the song styles range from arena rock (Atomic Man) to slow smooth songs (Waves. This album is spectacular.
  13. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    Evil Friends is incredible! Big PTM fan here and although I was a little skeptical when I hear they were making a "pop" album my worries quickly disappeared once I started listening to the album. Just another step forward for this awesome band with their most catchy and diverse album to date. Hope this will cause PTM to get some much deserved attention!

    Favorite songs: Plastic Soldiers,
    Evil Friends is incredible! Big PTM fan here and although I was a little skeptical when I hear they were making a "pop" album my worries quickly disappeared once I started listening to the album. Just another step forward for this awesome band with their most catchy and diverse album to date. Hope this will cause PTM to get some much deserved attention!

    Favorite songs: Plastic Soldiers, Modern Jesus, Holy Roller, Smile
    Expand
  14. Jun 26, 2013
    9
    It's a nice surprise from Portugal. The Man, still... I think they should consider getting back to the style of their oldest albums like Waiter!, Censored Colors or Church Mouth, they were strange as hell but extremely powerful!
  15. Aug 20, 2013
    10
    After falling off a bit with their last two albums, "American Ghetto" and "In the Mountain In the Cloud", Portugal. The Man returns with their seventh album "Evil Friends." With Danger Mouse on producing duties, PTM have managed to release their catchiest and one of their most fun albums to date. From the start to finish they mange to hold your attention with great instrumentals andAfter falling off a bit with their last two albums, "American Ghetto" and "In the Mountain In the Cloud", Portugal. The Man returns with their seventh album "Evil Friends." With Danger Mouse on producing duties, PTM have managed to release their catchiest and one of their most fun albums to date. From the start to finish they mange to hold your attention with great instrumentals and John's delightful falsetto. Even when they venture into slightly political territory with "Waves" and "Smile" they do so in a way that doesn't seem overdone. "Atomic Man" and "Purple Yellow Red and Blue" are some highlights for their sheer catchiness and addictiveness with the latter possibly being one of the best songs in their catalogue. I recommend checking it out and hopefully you'll find yourself putting it on for many repeat listens. Expand
  16. Apr 6, 2014
    10
    Before the release of Evil Friends, I had one or two Portugal. The Man songs that I had heard, like many fans, from the FIFA video games. Because of this, I gave Evil Friends a shot and decided to give it a listen. What I found is one of my favorite albums of all time, every single song is a great listen, with a wide variety of sounds for different listeners, if you can get used to theBefore the release of Evil Friends, I had one or two Portugal. The Man songs that I had heard, like many fans, from the FIFA video games. Because of this, I gave Evil Friends a shot and decided to give it a listen. What I found is one of my favorite albums of all time, every single song is a great listen, with a wide variety of sounds for different listeners, if you can get used to the vocals. This album is simply perfection Expand
  17. Apr 15, 2015
    6
    A well polished album with excellent production providing good, easy listening. The album drifts from start to finish almost in a somewhat melancholy state, tingling the eardrums and soothing the brain as it goes. This was my first venture into 'Portugal' and I am happy to go back for seconds.
  18. Mar 11, 2015
    7
    Prenez les lourds arrangements des Black Keys, ajoutez les mélodies vocales de Broken Bells et la direction artistique de Demon Days (Gorillaz), mélangez, et vous avez le huitième album du groupe américain Portugal. The man.La clique de John Baldwin Gourley roule sa bosse depuis un bon moment déjà, variant leur son d'un album à l'autre. Il a fallu l'aide du producteur Brian Burton (aliasPrenez les lourds arrangements des Black Keys, ajoutez les mélodies vocales de Broken Bells et la direction artistique de Demon Days (Gorillaz), mélangez, et vous avez le huitième album du groupe américain Portugal. The man.La clique de John Baldwin Gourley roule sa bosse depuis un bon moment déjà, variant leur son d'un album à l'autre. Il a fallu l'aide du producteur Brian Burton (alias Danger Mouse) pour donner une nouvelle direction musicale aux Américains. Sur la forme, Evil Friend est fidèle à l'ensemble de l'œuvre du groupe. Sur le fond, l'influence de Danger Mouse est tangible pratiquement sur les 12 chansons de l'album. La redondance des anciennes productions du producteur aurait dû être agaçante et lassante, pourtant le matériel du groupe complète et surmonte la ligne artistique que Danger Mouse a affligée à ses dernières productions. L'avantage d'être un groupe déjà établi sur la scène depuis un bon moment sert beaucoup à la bande.C'est une belle surprise; un album qui est calqué, mais authentique : « i think we doing it the wrong way (à propos du processus d'écriture) by judging how the producer react ». Evil Friend s'établit dès la première écoute. Un opus dreamy-pop aux refrains accrocheurs qui s'impose par sa simplicité, cosigné par Danger Mouse. Mention honorable au groupe qui étend sa musique au petit écran avec des bijoux de clips. Expand
  19. May 13, 2016
    8
    85/100. This band is really overlooked. Great listen throughout, every song is quality. Best tracks are "Sea of Air", "Waves" and "Smile". Overall a quality listen throughout.
  20. May 13, 2018
    8
    Almost five years after its release, Evil Friends still feels fresh. The albums opens with brilliant songs like Creep In A T-Shirt and Modern Jesus, the energetic Evil Friends and the epic Plastic Soldiers.
    Keeping your attention at maximum levels with Atomic Man, Sea of Air and Waves, the record closes out with a journey of a track called Smile. Also worth mentioning are the references
    Almost five years after its release, Evil Friends still feels fresh. The albums opens with brilliant songs like Creep In A T-Shirt and Modern Jesus, the energetic Evil Friends and the epic Plastic Soldiers.
    Keeping your attention at maximum levels with Atomic Man, Sea of Air and Waves, the record closes out with a journey of a track called Smile. Also worth mentioning are the references from one song to another, expressing how original and creative Portugal. The Man are.
    In general, it's an incredibly enjoyable record with very few flaws.
    Expand
  21. Jun 25, 2022
    10
    danger mouse's rock production at his absolute best. while i don't agree with some of the messages the album promotes, from a musical and artistic standpoint the album is one of the best i've ever heard.

    best song: plastic soldiers

    worst song: someday believers
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Oct 4, 2013
    89
    Sure, they're not very hip, but Portugal the Man are anything but slouches, and Evil Friends is proof that some bands get big for being good, nothing else.
  2. Sep 12, 2013
    50
    When an album’s quality level ranges from intolerable to merely tolerable, it’s not a positive sign. Middling.
  3. 35
    The songs themselves don’t shine through the production.