Excuse My French

  • Record Label: Bad Boy
  • Release Date: May 21, 2013
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 14
  2. Negative: 4 out of 14
Buy On
  1. The Source
    Jul 2, 2013
    60
    Rather than allowing the first three tracks to help craft a template for the rest of the LP, the other 10 tracks are watered down by concept-less, feature-heavy songs. [Jul 2013, p.87]
  2. Jun 4, 2013
    60
    Excuse My French so blatantly plunders rap radio's past and present that once one stops expecting anything original there's little left to do than mentally catalog the references. Yet while French Montana isn't doing anything new, he's also not doing anything wrong.
  3. May 28, 2013
    50
    On Excuse My French, he's outshone and undervalued.
  4. May 24, 2013
    60
    Excuse My French is a good album, possibly the best one the Coke Boy could make.
  5. May 21, 2013
    50
    The Moroccan born New Yorker’s long-delayed debut finally arrives, and much of it lands with blunt force without quite demonstrating a fully formed vision.
  6. May 21, 2013
    60
    The rest of the album suffers from redundancy and some wasted opportunities with the guests, but Montana is a flossy tycoon first and a wordsmith second at this point, so his handing in a high-power mixtape instead of a focused debut is to be expected, and with a little bottle service, enjoyed.
  7. May 21, 2013
    50
    Excuse My French comes off as extremely formulaic.
User Score
4.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 11
  2. Negative: 8 out of 11
  1. May 21, 2013
    1
    i wanted this to be good, i really did, but this is pure garbage. beats, weak raps, the album went downhill after max b stopped talking oni wanted this to be good, i really did, but this is pure garbage. beats, weak raps, the album went downhill after max b stopped talking on the 1st track lol. If you need me ill be bumping mac 'n' cheese 2 Full Review »
  2. May 21, 2013
    1
    This album is just pure Grade A trash. Only songs worth listening to are my guilty pleasure from this album, "F*** What Happens Tonight" andThis album is just pure Grade A trash. Only songs worth listening to are my guilty pleasure from this album, "F*** What Happens Tonight" and then "Gifted" because of The Weeknd's amazing verse and hook. Other than those two, nothing else is worth your time and you would be better off finding a different way to waste an hour of your life. Full Review »
  3. Nov 12, 2013
    0
    This album is the worst of the worst. Nothing here is good, and he is as bad as Chief Keef. What I advise you to do is move along and skip this album.