• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Excuse My French Image
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 46 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The full-length studio debut for the Bronx rapper includes guest appearances from such artists as Ace Hood, Birdman, Diddy, Drake, DJ Khaled, Lil Wayne, Nicki Minaj, Ne-Yo, Rick Ross, Scarface, and Snoop Dogg.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 14
  2. Negative: 4 out of 14
  1. 83
    French uses his debut to extend his deft command over white-knukled bangers. [24 May 2013, p.83]
  2. 80
    Every word hits hard. The quicker beat turns his lethargy into something of a strategy, and he sounds like no one but himself.
  3. May 21, 2013
    70
    When these mantras connect, they’re indelible. When they don’t, it’s like being smacked in the face repeatedly with an iced-out chain.
  4. May 21, 2013
    50
    Excuse My French comes off as extremely formulaic.
  5. May 28, 2013
    50
    On Excuse My French, he's outshone and undervalued.
  6. May 21, 2013
    50
    The Moroccan born New Yorker’s long-delayed debut finally arrives, and much of it lands with blunt force without quite demonstrating a fully formed vision.
  7. Jun 21, 2013
    10
    Montana's selection of trap beats falls flat. It's the kind of sweatshop beat-making mainstream producers have learned to accept as they cash their cheques.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 11
  2. Negative: 8 out of 11
  1. Jul 15, 2013
    8
    French is underrated. The beats were pretty good. Also, his lyrics where pretty good to. Don't hate on this. My favorite songs where "Gifted"French is underrated. The beats were pretty good. Also, his lyrics where pretty good to. Don't hate on this. My favorite songs where "Gifted" and "Trap House". My complete full opinion is this is better then Kanye West's :Yeezus. Expand
  2. May 26, 2013
    4
    I found his debut to be very poor on his part but the features he had on the album and the production is what made it pop in my eyes. HisI found his debut to be very poor on his part but the features he had on the album and the production is what made it pop in my eyes. His lyricism is very weak and repetitive and not entertaining in the slightest. The songs I applaud is Once in a While, What Happens Tonight, Gifted, Ballin Out, and Drink Freely all because of the features and production. The singles Pop That and Freaks are only popular because of the features. He should just stick to mixtapes because obviously he downloads more than this album will ever sell. I gave it a legit shot but didn't work I even listened to it twice. Sorry just not a good album but the features are great. Collapse
  3. Aug 9, 2013
    4
    French Montana is my favorite rapper. I expected his album to be very personal. Unfortunately, the first track is the only one that showcasesFrench Montana is my favorite rapper. I expected his album to be very personal. Unfortunately, the first track is the only one that showcases the French Montana I know. Hopefully next time out he'll have the balls to make his own album instead of this feature-fest of a compilation of singles. Expand
  4. Jan 10, 2014
    3
    I didn't expect much from Excuse My French but I did get a taste of what French Montana can whip up. Overall it wasn't enough though. ThereI didn't expect much from Excuse My French but I did get a taste of what French Montana can whip up. Overall it wasn't enough though. There were some club beats that will be banging till the next year but the album clearly had one direction and that was to make people bop their heads. Instead, it failed making me shake my head. The production was ordinary lacking creativity. This will be a perfect time for French Montana to redeem himself and show that he's worthy of being one of the best hiphop artists of all time. Expand
  5. May 21, 2013
    1
    i wanted this to be good, i really did, but this is pure garbage. beats, weak raps, the album went downhill after max b stopped talking oni wanted this to be good, i really did, but this is pure garbage. beats, weak raps, the album went downhill after max b stopped talking on the 1st track lol. If you need me ill be bumping mac 'n' cheese 2 Expand
  6. May 21, 2013
    1
    This album is just pure Grade A trash. Only songs worth listening to are my guilty pleasure from this album, "F*** What Happens Tonight" andThis album is just pure Grade A trash. Only songs worth listening to are my guilty pleasure from this album, "F*** What Happens Tonight" and then "Gifted" because of The Weeknd's amazing verse and hook. Other than those two, nothing else is worth your time and you would be better off finding a different way to waste an hour of your life. Expand
  7. Nov 12, 2013
    0
    This album is the worst of the worst. Nothing here is good, and he is as bad as Chief Keef. What I advise you to do is move along and skip this album.

See all 11 User Reviews