• Record Label: Epic
  • Release Date: Apr 8, 2022
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 619 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 42 out of 619
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 8, 2022
    6
    Something is missing.. And I am saying this as a huge Camila fan. She should work with Mark Ronson and give us emo bops. This Latin sound is so boring and unoriginal and I am 100% sure that she doesn’t enjoy this album. Romance remains superior for now.
  2. Apr 16, 2022
    6
    Camila Cabello turns more Latin than ever on her latest pop album. I was hoping for better, which seems to be the theme for her. While this album is in no way awful, it is filled with generic boring lyrics, with a real lack of cohesiveness and just blandness altogether. There are the occasional catchy parts and well written songs but this is mediocre in so many ways. I am a sucker for aCamila Cabello turns more Latin than ever on her latest pop album. I was hoping for better, which seems to be the theme for her. While this album is in no way awful, it is filled with generic boring lyrics, with a real lack of cohesiveness and just blandness altogether. There are the occasional catchy parts and well written songs but this is mediocre in so many ways. I am a sucker for a fun chorus, which is present in most songs, which bumped up the ranking. But her bad vocals and poor songwriting, make this album not worth checking out. Expand
  3. Apr 8, 2022
    6
    This album will be on repeat 10/10 congratulations! From the beginning with the instrumentals to the very last song it’s exceptional.
  4. Apr 8, 2022
    6
    The album has some very strong points and some dull moments. I don't observe any bad moments, but this album is mediocre. I appreciated the acknowledgment of family and home, but at times it came off as slightly cheesy. The instrumentals were good, but nothing special. The highlight track was Psychofreak, but the "tryna stay connected, no wifi" lyric makes me cringe. Overall it's a fineThe album has some very strong points and some dull moments. I don't observe any bad moments, but this album is mediocre. I appreciated the acknowledgment of family and home, but at times it came off as slightly cheesy. The instrumentals were good, but nothing special. The highlight track was Psychofreak, but the "tryna stay connected, no wifi" lyric makes me cringe. Overall it's a fine album that was a step up from Romance, but still not up to par with her first album. Expand
  5. Apr 11, 2022
    6
    Camila Cabello's "Familia" is surprisingly moving and vulnerable, encased with strong production and lyrics that pop. Cabello maturity and authenticity tastes like sweet honey, though there is still so much to be asked for.
  6. Apr 8, 2022
    5
    Increíble como camila abraza sus raíces latinas para componer este álbum, canciones como 'Lola' la dejan ver como la gran compositora que es
  7. Apr 8, 2022
    5
    The album is rich of different sounds and I love lola the most. I think Camila is a really great musician
  8. Apr 8, 2022
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Amazing voice and lyrics...Loved it ❤️
    Very relatable I must say,she have gone through a lot and we camilizers are here for her
    Expand
  9. Jun 5, 2022
    4
    Tracklist is a bit chaotic. She tried to make an album inspired in Cuban music but has English-speaking singers featured and shallow lyrics. It is nice to listen to but nothing over the top.
  10. Jul 12, 2022
    4
    With Familia, Camilla begins to enter a period of her career where nothing she does is satisfactory enough for both of her fans and critics alike. With generic Latin pop tunes screaming at you, and a misplaced EDM track (psychofreak), Familia manages numerous attempts to keep the album to sound the same - and successfully does so (it's not a good thing).
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Apr 12, 2022
    73
    A capable vocalist with a lightly nasal tone and a dramatic streak, Cabello rarely misses an opportunity to riff or sail into her wispy head voice. But her spoken delivery can be just as captivating.
  2. Apr 12, 2022
    70
    Though moments fall into realms of safety, churning out easy radio-hits, we’re hoping she continues on this venture into more diverse sounds - as those more exciting, genre-fusing tracks are pretty fabulous.
  3. Apr 11, 2022
    50
    Cabello possesses the talent to transcend it all. It’s just a shame when she succumbs to phoning it in.