• Record Label: Reprise
  • Release Date: Feb 7, 2020
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
Buy On
  1. Feb 7, 2020
    60
    Green Day’s 13th studio album set sees them step outside of their comfort zone, experimenting with a range of new sounds and styles. However, this leads to mixed results.
  2. 60
    It's clear what they've wanted to do, and in some aspects have nailed it head-on, but to execute this properly, there needs to be more focus on wrapping that pure-as-fuck punk heart that beats in their chests in something more than a cartoon unicorn.
  3. Feb 6, 2020
    60
    Granted, it doesn’t always quite connect, and it probably won’t enter the Green Day canon, but it’s a bit of fun all the same.
  4. Feb 18, 2020
    50
    Certain songs try to recapture their old glory, while others feel like an embarrassing pop ploy—but the most consistent feeling is pure disappointment. Even when Green Day is supposedly having fun here, they sound tired and overworked at best.
  5. Feb 6, 2020
    50
    It's another sequence full of common tropes and techniques (to the point of plagiarism in some cases), and at only 26 minutes in length, it rushes by without leaving much of an impression.
  6. 42
    A derivative party foul, a spirited genre game that plays like a copy of a copy. [Feb 2020, p.104]
  7. Feb 10, 2020
    40
    Father of All... is fundamentally toothless and lacking in wit, originality, and invention. Armstrong decries "fakes" across this album without once acknowledging the irony that these songs represent exactly the sort of corporate rock he is supposedly standing against. Of course, Green Day remains a competent band to the point that this slickly produced record is not an all-out disaster. But it is certainly not worth remembering.
  8. 40
    Glam, anthemic and messy Father of All… may be, but “inspired” and “baddest” it is not.
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 135 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 135
  2. Negative: 48 out of 135
  1. Feb 7, 2020
    3
    It's a really meh album. I do understand that they want to change up their sound, but it's still lacking.
  2. Feb 7, 2020
    10
    Look, this is the best album this band released since 21CB. It’s short, but is a short, sweet, neat, adrenaline shot. The production andLook, this is the best album this band released since 21CB. It’s short, but is a short, sweet, neat, adrenaline shot. The production and mixing is on top of everything, the songs are bangers, and they are so diverse. Great work from a band that has been around for over 30 years. Not something it could have been easy to expect from Green Day in 2020, in a really positive way. Full Review »
  3. Feb 7, 2020
    6
    I've been a Green Day fan for a long time now, back when I heard Holiday and Boulevard blasting on 2005 radio. They meant a lot to me duringI've been a Green Day fan for a long time now, back when I heard Holiday and Boulevard blasting on 2005 radio. They meant a lot to me during my formative years of music and adolescence, even if their music has lost that urgency and adrenaline. Father of All... is a mixed bag for me. Better than the Trilogy, not as good as Revolution Radio, which hasn't aged all too well after it's initial release. I do appreciate the lean meat-and-potatoes approach of the album and making a pure rock-n-roll, or what constitutes as rock-n-roll these days with a mainstream mainstay like Green Day, but with the short run-time and the polish sheen sounding more like it wants to be played for car commercials or iPhone commercials, it feels more like a compromise for the major labels. Some of the energetic songs are good like the title cut, Sugar Youth, and Oh Yeah!, and the throwback to garage rock felt more energetic compared to Dos, and without a cringe worthy rap rock song, however so much of the clapping and very clear dad rock blueprints, it's more of an album with singles rather than anything truly cohesive. This will probably do well with licensing than upon repeated re-listening. As for me, I still have Dookie and American Idiot to come back to. Maybe every so often I will for this album. Full Review »