• Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Jul 26, 2019
User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 64 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 64
  2. Negative: 11 out of 64
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 27, 2019
    4
    Went from original, folky Icelandic pop with magic and charm, to overly bland attempts at top 40. Hugely disappointing.
  2. Jul 29, 2019
    4
    For a person born in another part of the world OMAM's music is otherworldly and yet so relatable in their lyrics of stories and legends on mythical figures.Something I can really relate to being African is firstly, Nanna and Ragnar sing in a very familiar call and answer fashion, secondly their music reminds me of tales told by our elders under the moonlight filled with magic andFor a person born in another part of the world OMAM's music is otherworldly and yet so relatable in their lyrics of stories and legends on mythical figures.Something I can really relate to being African is firstly, Nanna and Ragnar sing in a very familiar call and answer fashion, secondly their music reminds me of tales told by our elders under the moonlight filled with magic and imagination,.I think largely this has been their appeal and selling point worldwide.This album is 'listenable' but in my opinion too overproduced with the electro-sounds, no song on Fever dream is catchy or picks my imagination like 'Little Talks' or 'Lakehouse' that induces memories of a temperate woodland forest I have never been to, or their appealing 'Crystals' or the sublime and ever haunting 'Black Water'.I expect much more from OMAM and will be generous to say hopefully they bring out a redemptive album, but in all sincerity this is their worst album so far. Expand
  3. Aug 5, 2019
    2
    I found this CD to be a major disappointment after hearing their first album (didn't enjoy the second album much either). It's way too poppy and generic or me. :(
  4. Jul 29, 2019
    3
    When I heard "Alligator" for the first time, I thought to myself: "Well, it's just a teaser, they are saving the best stuff for later." Little did I know this would be the best song on the album.
    I'm a diehard OM&M fan, and I've been dreaming of traveling to one of your concerts for years. But I can't quite believe how disappointing this album is. It sounds like an attempt to step into
    When I heard "Alligator" for the first time, I thought to myself: "Well, it's just a teaser, they are saving the best stuff for later." Little did I know this would be the best song on the album.
    I'm a diehard OM&M fan, and I've been dreaming of traveling to one of your concerts for years. But I can't quite believe how disappointing this album is. It sounds like an attempt to step into the pop waters, yet it fails miserably eliminating everything that OM&M once was.
    Hell, even those generic pop songs on the radio are more catchy than this.
    Expand
  5. Jul 28, 2019
    4
    After the knockout opening song, Alligator - which owes some vague debt to softer sound of Yeah Yeah Yeah's It's Blitz (check out the "hey!" that opens the song) - Fever Dream is mostly a meandering sampling of world muzak. The album seems more like a stroll than a plunge, veering away from the intensity of OMAM's previous albums. Alligator is one of their best efforts. After that, meh.
  6. Sep 4, 2019
    6
    Although Fever Dream is a good album, it is very disappointing that they could have reclaimed their unique indie-folk pop style but rather decided to go towards something more generic and commercial. I miss their originality, a crucial factor that this album doesn't have.
  7. Sep 4, 2019
    6
    The album has been available for over two weeks, but only a few days ago I’ve reached for this record for the first time. In summer, I choose older things that work well in the car or help me relax and forget about civilization. This is the time when you can simply miss this or that premiere. But I have an irresistible impression that I’m not the only one who missed the latest release ofThe album has been available for over two weeks, but only a few days ago I’ve reached for this record for the first time. In summer, I choose older things that work well in the car or help me relax and forget about civilization. This is the time when you can simply miss this or that premiere. But I have an irresistible impression that I’m not the only one who missed the latest release of Fever Dream. I didn’t notice any wave of admiration on the network and Polish internet with the new record of Icelanders …

    I think there are two reasons. First of all, Of Monsters And Men focused on the American audience. In Billboard USA Fever Dream climbed 9th place, in Canada jumped to 2nd. No wonder, since they started the album promotion from the USA. Following the footsteps of KALEO, they often appear in the US media, becoming somewhat exotic, but still celebrities. They give concerts in North America until the end of September and will return to Europe at the end of October. Their calendar is complemented by a tour of festivals in Australia at the turn of December and January 2020.
    Less energy?

    Secondly – despite the announcement (Alligator song) that OMAM are full of energy, their latest album definitely slows down the pace. I even dare say that they changed the style of their music a bit. Fever Dream is no longer – like its predecessors – a folk-pop album. There are less lively sounds and chanted chorus here, but more reflection, melodies, keyboard instruments and distorted guitars. The sound sometimes resembles Vök achievements (e.g. Soothsayer or Ahay) – musically and vocally. Another time, the band enters the border areas between funk and disco (Wars), to finally sound with guitars, referring to British bands from the 90s. And you know what? I like this mixture very much!

    Although the album is calm and subdued it still sounds like Of Monsters And Men. In addition, it has so many different, strange flavors! And so was the creators’ assumption. Nanna recalls that while working on the album, she didn’t want to duplicate her own, already well-established patterns. So she put down the acoustic guitar, on which she usually composed and began working on the computer. She was looking for something new. The group also decided to start producing the album. Rich Costey supported them (he produced the records of Bloc Party, MUSE and Franz Ferdinand).
    Into pop

    I may be wrong, but I have an impression that the biggest OMAM fans will have to listen to the new album at least a few times to accept it. However, from the beginning I was captivated by this delicate variety of sounds and quite a large dose of melancholy. Take, for example, Under A Dome with Ragnar’s desperate, distorted vocals or the lyrical Waiting For The Snow with a fantastic vocal show by Nanna Bryndís. I don’t even mind the fact that the next songs of the group will probably appear on the charts and in playlists of commercial radio stations. It always makes me smile when I hear Icelanders playing between a sports and economic news. For me it is definitely not their place…

    After another approach to this album, I’m quite inclined to say that Fever Dream Of Monsters And Men will taste best in the fall. I have some doubts about playing new records during summer festivals. Unless the concerts appear only modest fragments, referring to My Head Is An Animal or Beneath the Skin (lilke Alligator or Vulture, Vulture).

    In conclusion – here another Icelandic band is growing up and transforming right before our eyes. Young artists, after the undoubted success of their debut and the second album, which was its continuation, are starting to look for a different path. This opens up new perspectives for the band and allows them to break free from exhausting patterns of self-repetability. However, yet I am not sure whether Fever Dream is the new way or just a step towards it.
    Expand
  8. Jul 26, 2019
    3
    I'm a great of this guys fan but this album moves away from what is OMAM. I think the band should follow the same line as "Beneath the Skin" and "My Head Is An Animal"
  9. Jul 26, 2019
    10
    I'm amazed about how pure and unique this album is. They reinvented themselves in a way nobody was expecting and it sounds really good. The references of the others albums it's also a really positive point. OMAM won't be the same, it will be greater. Head still an animal.
  10. Jul 26, 2019
    10
    this album is unlike anything they have ever done. outperformed "beneath the skin" but is still a long way from what "my head is an animal" was. however it is wonderful
  11. Jul 26, 2019
    9
    Different but cool, OMAM comeback is more rock-pop than last 2 albums but stills with the same amazing essence, "fever dream" Is an example to how to do great changes and stills good.
  12. Jul 28, 2019
    10
    It's amazing how they change the genre of their music without losing their essence. Get over the folk, guys.
  13. Jul 26, 2019
    10
    Fortune favours the brave! OMAM totally reinvented themselves in this eccentric, fun, and fresh album.
    Artists evolve and change over time, and it's nice to see they did what they wanted and not what the fanbase wanted. Well done OMAM!
  14. Jul 26, 2019
    8
    New taste from the band didn't lowering my hype from them, but too much electronic effect make them different
  15. Jul 26, 2019
    7
    Gone is the raw folk sound of the debut, and in comes an album full of slick production and commercial pop clichés. This isn't necessarily a bad thing however. The opening track "Alligator" sets the stage with some killer vocal melodies that never fail to capture my attention with each listen.

    Having only heard the lead single prior to release, I went in expecting a harder hitting album
    Gone is the raw folk sound of the debut, and in comes an album full of slick production and commercial pop clichés. This isn't necessarily a bad thing however. The opening track "Alligator" sets the stage with some killer vocal melodies that never fail to capture my attention with each listen.

    Having only heard the lead single prior to release, I went in expecting a harder hitting album than what we received. The following track "Ahay" brings that train to a halt with a slower groove, and introduces the super slick production that makes this song, as well as tracks such as "Waiting For The Snow" and "Stuck in Gravity" sound rather boring in comparison to the dirtier sounding opener.

    Meanwhile, tracks such as "Vulture, Vulture" and "Wars" make me want to hear some more of OMAM's take on the synth-pop/wave genre as they bring fun dance grooves (and in "Wars" case, a killer bass line) that will surely make them great live tracks, while "Róróró" sounds like it could be a CHVRCHES b-side (that's a compliment) and "Wild Roses" hits an emotional high point that could result in a stellar unplugged performance down the road.

    The biggest issue I take with this album is that there seems to be no continuity with its track listing. It overall sounds as if I had thrown the album on shuffle, when in fact, I'm listening to it in order (I even checked my audio player's settings during my first listen to ensure I hadn't hit shuffle accidentally).

    Overall, there is nothing on this album that is outright bad. In fact, I enjoy the album overall. I just wish it sounded a bit dirtier, and not squeaky clean (a sound that plagues most mainstream pop music these days). I'm glad to see and hear that the band is willing to experiment, and if anything, it makes me more excited to see what comes next. If I could award half points, I'd give FEVER DREAM a 7.5/10
    Expand
  16. Jul 27, 2019
    9
    This is a Of Monster and Men album. Easy to recognise, their style is present in every single music of this album. Another great piece of arte from them.
  17. Jul 27, 2019
    10
    OMAM shows us a new "style", that same "style" executed perfectly, also the band does not forget its origins, each song is a new world that the band could reach in the future
  18. Aug 5, 2019
    10
    Of monsters and men vuelve con un álbum energico, dinámico y lleno de vida, sin duda un gran cambio de un indie/folky a un pop- rock synth muy bien trabajado, demuestra mucha capacidad de versatilidad en distintos ámbitos, un álbum que al principio te va costar trabajo asimilar el cambio abismal de la banda pero mientras más lo escuches más quedarás maravillado de esta joya.
  19. Jul 20, 2020
    0
    Written very well, mixed well. But after waiting years for this, I was ultimately let down. Way too slow for me and I’m all for trying something different, but this just didn’t even sound like them :-/
  20. Aug 2, 2019
    10
    I must admit I was kinda disappointed when I heard this album for the first time. It sounded too mainstream to me.

    But I think Fever Dream is actually far from being mainstream. It takes a few listens to appreciate the beauty of gems like Róróró or Waiting For The Snow, and that's what I love about this album: it requires time and interest to fully understand and appreciate it. While the
    I must admit I was kinda disappointed when I heard this album for the first time. It sounded too mainstream to me.

    But I think Fever Dream is actually far from being mainstream. It takes a few listens to appreciate the beauty of gems like Róróró or Waiting For The Snow, and that's what I love about this album: it requires time and interest to fully understand and appreciate it. While the more mainstream sounding songs might be disappointing, this record has some of OMAM's most solid tracks to date.
    Expand
  21. Aug 13, 2019
    6
    I like the fact they’ve tried to change up their sound on this album. I think if they’d produced another album in the mould of the first 2 they’d have sunk into a bit of a rut.

    The 2 singles are excellent tracks and by far the best songs on the album. Sadly for me I don’t think the synth pop sound of a lot of the other tracks really suits the songs. Stuck In Gravity, Waiting for The Snow
    I like the fact they’ve tried to change up their sound on this album. I think if they’d produced another album in the mould of the first 2 they’d have sunk into a bit of a rut.

    The 2 singles are excellent tracks and by far the best songs on the album. Sadly for me I don’t think the synth pop sound of a lot of the other tracks really suits the songs. Stuck In Gravity, Waiting for The Snow and Under a Dome are for me just missing something, that killer hook that OMAM do so well. They are a bit too bland for my ears.

    I’d rate the album a 6.5. I’m looking forward to seeing their tour and hope the trumpet player is still on board.
    Expand
  22. Aug 23, 2019
    10
    This is one of the best albums I have heard in a long time. Wild roses is by far the best song of 2019, I just can’t stop listening it. Others highlights from the album are Wars and Stuck in gravity (the last minute of this track is fantastic). Great work OMAM! Your old music style was amazing but you’re new one is even better!
  23. Sep 9, 2019
    2
    Aptly named, the album is dull, uninteresting, uninviting, and off-putting for those who like OMAM for their originality and special touch. Granted, OMAM fans who also like bland pop music would disagree and welcome this new effort. As for me, if a change was so sorely needed I wish they'd tried prog-rock, goth or even full-blown heavy metal instead.
  24. Sep 5, 2019
    7
    A more subdued and radio-friendly fare, Fever Dream retains some of the band's original charms and sensibilities. Nevertheless, departing from their original sound is anything but a disservice.
  25. Oct 12, 2019
    9
    Very soothing and atmospheric sounds. I seldom come across an album that I like 90% of its contents, but this is definitely one of those.
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Aug 5, 2019
    70
    Fever Dream is a very good album. ... The problem with Fever Dream isn't exactly that it sounds so different from its predecessors. It's that Of Monsters and Men have lost some of their uniqueness and quality in the process.
  2. 70
    There is not as much variety on Fever Dream as “Alligator” had seemed to indicate, but there is a clear shift – it feels more open, musically, than ever before. There’s a confidence mixed with fragility, like a band born again.
  3. Jul 29, 2019
    70
    Luckily the album is the group's strongest and most enjoyable album to date. ... There are moments however when things quite work as well as on their previous albums, but these are the moments that are the most interesting and exciting.