• Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Jul 26, 2019
User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 64 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 64
  2. Negative: 11 out of 64
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 26, 2019
    10
    I'm amazed about how pure and unique this album is. They reinvented themselves in a way nobody was expecting and it sounds really good. The references of the others albums it's also a really positive point. OMAM won't be the same, it will be greater. Head still an animal.
  2. Jul 26, 2019
    10
    this album is unlike anything they have ever done. outperformed "beneath the skin" but is still a long way from what "my head is an animal" was. however it is wonderful
  3. Jul 26, 2019
    9
    Different but cool, OMAM comeback is more rock-pop than last 2 albums but stills with the same amazing essence, "fever dream" Is an example to how to do great changes and stills good.
  4. Jul 28, 2019
    10
    It's amazing how they change the genre of their music without losing their essence. Get over the folk, guys.
  5. Jul 26, 2019
    10
    Fortune favours the brave! OMAM totally reinvented themselves in this eccentric, fun, and fresh album.
    Artists evolve and change over time, and it's nice to see they did what they wanted and not what the fanbase wanted. Well done OMAM!
  6. Jul 26, 2019
    8
    New taste from the band didn't lowering my hype from them, but too much electronic effect make them different
  7. Jul 26, 2019
    7
    Gone is the raw folk sound of the debut, and in comes an album full of slick production and commercial pop clichés. This isn't necessarily a bad thing however. The opening track "Alligator" sets the stage with some killer vocal melodies that never fail to capture my attention with each listen.

    Having only heard the lead single prior to release, I went in expecting a harder hitting album
    Gone is the raw folk sound of the debut, and in comes an album full of slick production and commercial pop clichés. This isn't necessarily a bad thing however. The opening track "Alligator" sets the stage with some killer vocal melodies that never fail to capture my attention with each listen.

    Having only heard the lead single prior to release, I went in expecting a harder hitting album than what we received. The following track "Ahay" brings that train to a halt with a slower groove, and introduces the super slick production that makes this song, as well as tracks such as "Waiting For The Snow" and "Stuck in Gravity" sound rather boring in comparison to the dirtier sounding opener.

    Meanwhile, tracks such as "Vulture, Vulture" and "Wars" make me want to hear some more of OMAM's take on the synth-pop/wave genre as they bring fun dance grooves (and in "Wars" case, a killer bass line) that will surely make them great live tracks, while "Róróró" sounds like it could be a CHVRCHES b-side (that's a compliment) and "Wild Roses" hits an emotional high point that could result in a stellar unplugged performance down the road.

    The biggest issue I take with this album is that there seems to be no continuity with its track listing. It overall sounds as if I had thrown the album on shuffle, when in fact, I'm listening to it in order (I even checked my audio player's settings during my first listen to ensure I hadn't hit shuffle accidentally).

    Overall, there is nothing on this album that is outright bad. In fact, I enjoy the album overall. I just wish it sounded a bit dirtier, and not squeaky clean (a sound that plagues most mainstream pop music these days). I'm glad to see and hear that the band is willing to experiment, and if anything, it makes me more excited to see what comes next. If I could award half points, I'd give FEVER DREAM a 7.5/10
    Expand
  8. Jul 27, 2019
    9
    This is a Of Monster and Men album. Easy to recognise, their style is present in every single music of this album. Another great piece of arte from them.
  9. Jul 27, 2019
    10
    OMAM shows us a new "style", that same "style" executed perfectly, also the band does not forget its origins, each song is a new world that the band could reach in the future
  10. Aug 5, 2019
    10
    Of monsters and men vuelve con un álbum energico, dinámico y lleno de vida, sin duda un gran cambio de un indie/folky a un pop- rock synth muy bien trabajado, demuestra mucha capacidad de versatilidad en distintos ámbitos, un álbum que al principio te va costar trabajo asimilar el cambio abismal de la banda pero mientras más lo escuches más quedarás maravillado de esta joya.
  11. Aug 2, 2019
    10
    I must admit I was kinda disappointed when I heard this album for the first time. It sounded too mainstream to me.

    But I think Fever Dream is actually far from being mainstream. It takes a few listens to appreciate the beauty of gems like Róróró or Waiting For The Snow, and that's what I love about this album: it requires time and interest to fully understand and appreciate it. While the
    I must admit I was kinda disappointed when I heard this album for the first time. It sounded too mainstream to me.

    But I think Fever Dream is actually far from being mainstream. It takes a few listens to appreciate the beauty of gems like Róróró or Waiting For The Snow, and that's what I love about this album: it requires time and interest to fully understand and appreciate it. While the more mainstream sounding songs might be disappointing, this record has some of OMAM's most solid tracks to date.
    Expand
  12. Aug 23, 2019
    10
    This is one of the best albums I have heard in a long time. Wild roses is by far the best song of 2019, I just can’t stop listening it. Others highlights from the album are Wars and Stuck in gravity (the last minute of this track is fantastic). Great work OMAM! Your old music style was amazing but you’re new one is even better!
  13. Sep 5, 2019
    7
    A more subdued and radio-friendly fare, Fever Dream retains some of the band's original charms and sensibilities. Nevertheless, departing from their original sound is anything but a disservice.
  14. Oct 12, 2019
    9
    Very soothing and atmospheric sounds. I seldom come across an album that I like 90% of its contents, but this is definitely one of those.
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Aug 5, 2019
    70
    Fever Dream is a very good album. ... The problem with Fever Dream isn't exactly that it sounds so different from its predecessors. It's that Of Monsters and Men have lost some of their uniqueness and quality in the process.
  2. 70
    There is not as much variety on Fever Dream as “Alligator” had seemed to indicate, but there is a clear shift – it feels more open, musically, than ever before. There’s a confidence mixed with fragility, like a band born again.
  3. Jul 29, 2019
    70
    Luckily the album is the group's strongest and most enjoyable album to date. ... There are moments however when things quite work as well as on their previous albums, but these are the moments that are the most interesting and exciting.