Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
Buy On
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    Feb 10, 2015
    91
    Aside from throwback cuts from Sinatra and the Stones, it's all woozy, vampirically nocturnal reports from the leading edge of pop and R&B. [13 Feb 2015, p.65]
  2. Feb 10, 2015
    70
    Of the book, the flick, and the soundtrack, only the music really hits hard enough to leave a lasting mark.
  3. The album, which features Beyonce, Ellie Goulding and Sia, stresses soft-edged production and slow build rhythms, bunched into some fairly catchy pop songs.
  4. Feb 10, 2015
    60
    The soundtrack to Fifty Shades of Grey winds up as something conventional: high-thread count seduction with nary a hint of menace, suitable for any romantic evening you choose.
  5. Feb 10, 2015
    60
    Sexing up the affair are new songs by artists like Sia and Ellie Goulding, a couple of hot Beyoncé remixes and the occasional classic (Rolling Stones, Frank Sinatra).
  6. Feb 17, 2015
    50
    At 16 tracks, though, Fifty Shades of Grey is a bit of a slog, with too many dreary midtempo numbers--by Sia, Laura Welsh and Skylar Grey--that only feel more glazed (and less enticing) the longer you listen.
  7. Feb 10, 2015
    50
    Crazy In Love aside, this generically pleasant and wafty album makes a better accompaniment to laundering sheets than rolling in (or being tied up with) them.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 56 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 56
  2. Negative: 9 out of 56
  1. Feb 10, 2015
    8
    This soundtrack sounds so good and deep as if ... You cannot stop listening!

    Annie introduces all with the wonderful "I Put a Spell on
    This soundtrack sounds so good and deep as if ... You cannot stop listening!

    Annie introduces all with the wonderful "I Put a Spell on You", giving a perfect harmony of a loving and gloomy case. It is followed by relaxed "Undiscovered" from the newcomer Laura Welsh.

    The Weeknd has two tracks, "Earned It" and "Where You Belong", next to sex and love at the same time, while Ellie Goulding, Sia and Skylar Grey give casual and momentary passion show with a great sentimental appetite in "Love Me Like You Do "," Salted Wound "and" I Know You ".

    We cannot forget that Beyonce, Jessie Ware and Frank Sinatra gave a more classic and seductive air to soundtrack.

    For me, it's a great soundtrack for a dramatic erotic movie, especially the lyricism of the tracks and the tense atmosphere that the songs bring to us.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 10, 2015
    8
    Possibly one of the best soundtrack albums I've ever heard. Love Me Like You Do, I Know You, Crazy In Love are among the best songs of thePossibly one of the best soundtrack albums I've ever heard. Love Me Like You Do, I Know You, Crazy In Love are among the best songs of the album.
    It still has some songs that feel like fillers but the album is very good overall.
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 21, 2018
    4
    After listening to the lead single "Love Me Like You Do" you stay with the high expectations of what the album will be, however it falls shortAfter listening to the lead single "Love Me Like You Do" you stay with the high expectations of what the album will be, however it falls short of what it promises. Full Review »