User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 65 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 65
  2. Negative: 4 out of 65

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 7, 2010
    10
    in my opinion, Elliott's best album... the first listen is nice but almost forgettable, but as great music does, Figure 8 just keeps getting better. ...
  2. EvilEd
    Feb 6, 2009
    7
    Although not as good as Either/or or X/O its still a good album. If your a music fan you must have this album.
  3. eric
    Jan 28, 2004
    10
    Probably not favorite of his, but brilliant and utterly unique it's one of the best albums I've ever heard. Delicate poetry wrapped around beautiful sounscapes, Elliot does a whole lot of experimenting on the final record of his lifetime, rocking out on tracks like "L.A. and "Junk Bond Trader" and "Stupidity Tries", trying out new otherwordly piano on "Everything Means Nothing Probably not favorite of his, but brilliant and utterly unique it's one of the best albums I've ever heard. Delicate poetry wrapped around beautiful sounscapes, Elliot does a whole lot of experimenting on the final record of his lifetime, rocking out on tracks like "L.A. and "Junk Bond Trader" and "Stupidity Tries", trying out new otherwordly piano on "Everything Means Nothing to Me" and "In the Lost and Found". But still manages to deliver a fine supply of good old fashion elliott acoustic ballads including my favorite track "I Better be Quiet Now" First album of Smiths I ever bought and boy am I glad I did. Rest in Peace Elliott. "All I used to be will pass away And then you'll see That all I want now, Is happiness for you and me." (Track 11 "Happiness") Expand
  4. Paul
    Jan 9, 2006
    10
    It's difficult to give a CD (or movie, or book...) a 10 on metacritic, because a 10 implies perfection, but I LOVE this album. I LOVE IT! I've had this album for over a year now and I've been listening to it constantly since. This album was my first E. Smith album and it encouraged me to get all his other stuff. I can listen to this whole album and not want to skip a single It's difficult to give a CD (or movie, or book...) a 10 on metacritic, because a 10 implies perfection, but I LOVE this album. I LOVE IT! I've had this album for over a year now and I've been listening to it constantly since. This album was my first E. Smith album and it encouraged me to get all his other stuff. I can listen to this whole album and not want to skip a single song. Highlights include the whole album, but the cream of the crop include Son of Sam, Junk Bond Trader, LA, Easy Way Out, Happiness, Pretty Mary K, Can't Make a Sound... Do yourself a favor and GET THIS ALBUM! Expand
  5. MickS
    May 1, 2006
    10
    As one of the reviews said, this one is a grower. The first time it starts out ok, then every time you listen, something new pops up that you hadn't noticed before. I feel like that happens with all his albums, but with Figure 8 it has been especially true. It has slowly grown into possibly my favorite Elliott Smith album.
  6. borgy
    May 6, 2006
    10
    Fantastic.
  7. Andy
    Aug 16, 2006
    8
    THis is a great album.
  8. MichaelK
    Oct 28, 2003
    10
    Rest in Peace, Elliott. We'll always remember you.
  9. oronbenari
    May 30, 2004
    10
    one of the best albums ever made!
  10. GeoffM
    Jan 19, 2005
    10
    I thought that the album was f***ing brilliant, and could listen to it a million times over and never get tired of it. Elliot Smith was a genius and if people knew the truth about him and everything that wnet on in that head of his, they would thing so too.
  11. AlexanderS
    Jan 25, 2005
    10
    I don't understand how anything bad can be said about this CD. It's amazing.
  12. TeganM
    Apr 23, 2005
    10
    one of my most favourite cds of all time mm.. elliott
  13. matta
    Aug 8, 2005
    9
    What is New York Magazine talking about? The dude must hate just about all music if he's that nitpicky. This is a great album. XO is still probably his masterpiece, but this album is right behind, followed by his swansong, From A Basement..... This album is simply a must-own.
  14. chrish
    Mar 19, 2007
    10
    Great tunes. Great voice.
  15. Afan
    Oct 22, 2003
    10
    we will miss you.
  16. JaredSS
    May 24, 2004
    9
    Beautiful album full of beautiful songs. Such a sad loss in every way imaginable. RIP Elliott...we'll surely cherish your final work forever.
  17. SaraH
    Sep 25, 2006
    9
    i agree, elliott's work is great the first listen, and it grows on you more and more every time you listen to it. figure 8 is no exception, its up there with my favorites, right behind XO.he was truely an amazing artist.
  18. buds
    Dec 31, 2005
    10
    One of the greatest albums ever released.
  19. Mar 5, 2014
    9
    Figure 8 is the first exposure I've had to Elliott Smith, and what a great album it is. The entire record is a deep, passionate statement from Smith. The songwriting is superb, and his vocals are fantastic. He sings of heartbreak, moving on, and generally growing older, but with such poetic finesse you really sink yourself into these tracks.

    All In All, Figure 8 is a brilliant record,
    Figure 8 is the first exposure I've had to Elliott Smith, and what a great album it is. The entire record is a deep, passionate statement from Smith. The songwriting is superb, and his vocals are fantastic. He sings of heartbreak, moving on, and generally growing older, but with such poetic finesse you really sink yourself into these tracks.

    All In All, Figure 8 is a brilliant record, and one that really shocked me. A-
    Expand
  20. Jul 10, 2011
    9
    it started off really good. the it kinda died down near the end. but the album is still wonderful. its a masterpiece. his melodies are great. 9 out of 10
  21. Aug 14, 2011
    8
    I found this more difficult to get into than other Elliott albums, but it's also by far his least depressing if you're (understandably) looking for something a little less brutal than From a Basement on a Hill or Either/Or. More Beatlesy than probably any of his others, musically speaking, and more dream-like lyrically speaking.
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Even if it is a very impressive statement overall, Figure 8 isn't quite the masterpiece it wants to be -- there's something about the pacing that just makes the record feel long...
  2. A strong collection of lush, densely arranged power-pop and inimitably intimate ballads?
  3. 90
    This relentlessly engaging album hangs together even better than its illustrious predecessor.