Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Jan 18, 2022
    100
    With less dissonance and psychedelic experimentation than Jon Hopkins or Four Tet, Fragments may be too care-home comfort for some, but it’s brilliant, wondrous work.
  2. Jan 10, 2022
    100
    A masterpiece in wistful, cathartic electronica, his seventh studio album Fragments.
  3. Jan 13, 2022
    90
    He remains unchallenged when it comes to his ability to create organic sound that is at once full-bodied, warm, and filled with textures from around the world. Bonobo's growth, too, across the past two decades has seen a natural and consistent progression; each record building beautifully on the last. Fragments is no exception.
  4. 80
    Fragments feels like the culmination of everything that Simon Green has been building up to over the last 20 plus years. A rich and cathartic release from a musician at the very top of his game.
  5. Jan 11, 2022
    80
    A work of subtle evolution, it’s a record that rewards repeated listens, with patience allowing these fresh elements to rise to the surface on an album that underlines Bonobo’s role as one of UK electronic music’s most consistent, and pervasive voices.
  6. Mojo
    Jan 10, 2022
    80
    A richly downcast experience, his deft arrangements recalling the powerful, orchestrated cloudbursts of Curtis Mayfield's solo debut. [Feb 2022, p.82]
  7. 80
    This is the most engaging record Green has released since 2010’s ‘Black Sands’ – it is light, airy and remarkably well pieced together.
  8. Jan 25, 2022
    70
    A reflection of its creator’s state of mind, Fragments is the perfect soundtrack to re-entry into normalcy after an extended stressful period.
  9. Jan 19, 2022
    70
    Green continues to take us on a steady ride on Fragments.
  10. Jan 13, 2022
    70
    His productions are just the right balance of lush and gritty, blending rich string arrangements by Miguel Atwood-Ferguson and lovely harp playing by Lara Somogyi with modular synth swells and soulful organs.
  11. Uncut
    Jan 10, 2022
    70
    Fragments could have been made any time in the last 25 [years], yet the down-tempo warmth, tasteful orchestrations and immaculate production are still a winning combination. [Feb 2022, p.26]
  12. Jan 12, 2022
    60
    With ‘Fragments’, Bonobo is as listenable as ever. But this locked groove is one he seems too comfortable in. Once you hear where he can go, there’s a frustrating desire to see him latch on to that fragment of himself rather than the familiar.
  13. Jan 18, 2022
    54
    In its endless, flavorless drift, the album amounts to little more than a modern-day take on easy listening, with all the signifiers of lush, aesthetic experience and none of the stakes.
  14. Jan 21, 2022
    50
    Fragments sounds too much like a victory lap to feel like a compelling artistic statement. There’s nothing wrong with being accessible, but Fragments just doesn’t bring enough new ideas to the table. The album represents a rare step back from one of the 21st century’s leading electronic luminaries.
  15. Jan 13, 2022
    50
    Fragments does not outstay its welcome, but only because it isn’t distinctive enough to be consciously welcomed in the first place. Recommended for owners of trendy cafes and companies in need of hold music.
User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Jan 14, 2022
    8
    Signature Bonobo sound, familiar from the first seconds you hear it.
    He’s playing safe and does what he known best for: masterful blending of
    Signature Bonobo sound, familiar from the first seconds you hear it.
    He’s playing safe and does what he known best for: masterful blending of warm dancy electronic with some ethnic and vocal pieces. Jordan Rakei track is especially beautiful.
    Solid 8/10
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 25, 2022
    6
    Honestly I am not a fan of EDM albums with no lyrical contents. And Fragments is one of those album. I love the production but can't reallyHonestly I am not a fan of EDM albums with no lyrical contents. And Fragments is one of those album. I love the production but can't really grasp every single tracks especially those with no lyrics. Full Review »
  3. Jan 22, 2022
    7
    I've been a huge Bonobo fan since 2013, when I found myself at one of his DJ sets. I fell in love with his very unique sound, using bassI've been a huge Bonobo fan since 2013, when I found myself at one of his DJ sets. I fell in love with his very unique sound, using bass influenced grooves and melodies to drive the feeling of his music...

    While I do find this project to be playing it on the safe side a bit, Fragments does not disappoint. The features on this album are like if Simon asked me, "Who do you want to hear over my production?" Jamila Woods, Jordan Rakei, and Joji, all mesh so perfectly with his style and their voices blend nicely into the rest of the mix.

    The grooves on this album, while not overly experimental or groundbreaking, leave a lot to be discovered upon further listens of the project.

    I'm giving it a strong 7 to light 8
    Full Review »