• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Free Spirit Image
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 64 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second full-length release for the R&B artist features guest appearances from John Mayer and SAFE.
Buy On

Top Track

Talk
[Chorus] Can't we just talk? Can't we just talk? Talk about where we're goin' Before we get lost, let me out first Can't get what we want without... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Apr 5, 2019
    84
    The El Paso-raised vocalist and composer kicks--or shuffles--everything up a notch with a handful of fresh producers (including Digi, Charlie Handsome and Hit-Boy), richer, more lustrous sounds, and further explorations into AutoTune.
  2. 80
    On the new album, Khalid embraces a fuller sound that often harks back to the 1980s and 1990s, with pillowy synthesizers, tickling guitars and multiple layers of his own vocal harmonies.
  3. 60
    A very credible record with no real mistakes--but no real personality, either.
  4. Apr 5, 2019
    60
    The LP isn’t overly burdened by the bold-faced guest spots you’d expect on a follow-up by an artist coming off a Top 10 debut. Instead, it gets tripped up by a different sophomore pitfall: Now that he isn’t an underdog, Khalid lapses into a little too much new-star introspection, exploring an ivory-tower aloneness that can recall the Weeknd’s goth-‘n’-B.
  5. Apr 17, 2019
    60
    Free Spirit isn’t an outright failure. For it to be a failure, Khalid would have to at least take a few risks.
  6. 58
    On Free Spirit, Khalid sounds caught between wanting to play a superstar and wanting to be himself, with the result that he sounds like neither.
  7. Apr 4, 2019
    40
    It’s hard to escape the feeling that something of his originality has been lost en route.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Apr 7, 2019
    10
    This album surprised me, as I see an artist who has seen beyond his fame, and world acclaimed first album to a thought provoking second album.This album surprised me, as I see an artist who has seen beyond his fame, and world acclaimed first album to a thought provoking second album. It's a journey toward his ideas and his fears and that is definitely a trait in Khalid's new album. In addition to diverse types of R&B records, from your summer hit 'Talk', to the collaboration with John Mayer in 'Outta my head', you have an album where guitars, and synthesizers blend out perfectly with the beat.

    I would totally recommend this album as a follow up to Khalid's Suncity and his debut album American Teen, as he progresses as an artist who acknowledges the path that brought him recognition, but dares to explore his demons in a fully charged R&B record.
    Expand
  2. Apr 5, 2019
    10
    Coming from someone with no prior exposure to Khalid's work, I was thoroughly impressed with this album and enjoyed it from start to finish.Coming from someone with no prior exposure to Khalid's work, I was thoroughly impressed with this album and enjoyed it from start to finish. His unique vocal style works well with the R&B beats of the songs, and many of the tracks have honest, relatable lyrics, with some great collaborations thrown in as well. One of my favourites of 2019! Collapse
  3. Apr 8, 2019
    9
    Great production and one of a kind Khalid,s voice. Thats all you need for a great album. Incredible album and the vibes are amazing.
  4. Apr 8, 2019
    6
    It's okay at times but mostly boring the majority of the time. A little letdown.
  5. Jun 8, 2019
    6
    "American Teen" practically bought Khalid has fame. With numerous hit singles and features from the release of his debut to now, he has been"American Teen" practically bought Khalid has fame. With numerous hit singles and features from the release of his debut to now, he has been arguably one of the most important pop stars in the past few years.

    "Free Spirit" is not "American Teen", however. Khalid has now experienced the all too familiar sophomore slump. It just seems like everywhere you go in pop, every turn you take, there's Khalid.

    "Intro" is the best song on the record, with its spacious synths and reverb-soaked vocals. Mostly every song talks about getting inebriated, drunk-texting your ex-girlfriend, and then waking up to not remember a thing. "Right Back" and "Outta My Head" are the tracks that stand out (even though they are still about love). Oh, and John Mayer stops by to lay down some guitar on the latter track.

    Khalid's newest record is ordinary. That's it. It's just ordinary, love-infested, scorned pop. His vocals are up to par, but the variety and overall greatness of the record is not.
    Expand
  6. Apr 16, 2019
    6
    Khalid has a great voice and people where expecting this album as the release of the year, it is dull, sometimes a little boring and lacks theKhalid has a great voice and people where expecting this album as the release of the year, it is dull, sometimes a little boring and lacks the spark. Do not buy it just stream your favorite song. Expand
  7. Apr 7, 2019
    0
    This album really disappointed me. I was looking forward to it as I loved his debut album and I even saw him in concert which was amazing.This album really disappointed me. I was looking forward to it as I loved his debut album and I even saw him in concert which was amazing. This album to me was a a lot of skips and the stands that did stand out were in no way up to par with the songs from his debut album. Expand

See all 15 User Reviews