• Record Label: Nonesuch
  • Release Date: Feb 24, 2017

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Feb 24, 2017
    At the outset, it seems austere, but by its conclusion it's a robust celebration of all the weird, wonderful parts of America.
  2. Feb 22, 2017
    On Freedom Highway, Giddens juxtaposes historical narratives with present-day contexts for an emotionally powerful record.
  3. Feb 21, 2017
    Whether she shuck’n’shimmies through the flirty trombone-laced “Hey Bebe,” the bowed cello and moan lullaby “Baby Boy” or the staccato romance denied “Love We Almost Had” (featuring fellow roots journeyer Bhi Bhiman), the emotions of desire and elation run strong.
  4. Feb 23, 2017
    [A] powerful and timely set.
  5. 80
    [A] terrific, moving and occasionally emotionally intense examination of the black experience in America.
  6. Feb 21, 2017
    A vital album for an anxious era. [Apr 2017, p.90]
  7. Uncut
    Feb 21, 2017
    [A] remarkably wise and timely album. [Mar 2017, p.18]
  8. Feb 21, 2017
    The album is alive with energy and playfulness.
  9. Feb 21, 2017
    A timely, arresting album.
  10. Feb 23, 2017
    As a songwriter, Giddens achieves immediacy by imbuing her stories with striking interpersonal drama and emotional depth.
  11. 60
    On Freedom Highway, Rhiannon Giddens animates black American history--notably, the arduous journey from slavery to civil rights--in songs which pair her strong, sonorous delivery with arrangements echoing pre-blues minstrel music.
  12. Q Magazine
    Feb 21, 2017
    To a soundtrack of country blues and earthly soul, parallels are drawn with past and present injustices. [Apr 2017, p.112]
User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 5 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Apr 18, 2017
    First of all, Rhiannon Giddens has an amazing voice. This is a different type of album from "Tomorrow is my Turn" in that most of these songsFirst of all, Rhiannon Giddens has an amazing voice. This is a different type of album from "Tomorrow is my Turn" in that most of these songs were written by Rhiannon. These songs are more definitely in the folk music vein (like Carolina Chocolate Drops) and a lot of them relate to slavery or the civil rights era, yet they are still relevant today. One song is a bit jazzy, for a change in pace. Overall, great vocals, tuneful music and meaningful lyrics, better than 90% of the music being released. Full Review »