Metascore
100

Universal acclaim - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
Buy On
  1. Dec 18, 2019
    100
    Taken together, these 97 minutes of music provide a tantalizing glimpse of the direction the group could have taken had it not disbanded at the end of 1989. Absolutely essential.
  2. Mojo
    Dec 10, 2019
    100
    there are shivers galore on this box. [Jan 2020, p.96]
  3. Q Magazine
    Dec 10, 2019
    100
    28 [demos] are included in all their fascinating what-if promise, some heralds of later solo recording. ... This collection catches the band at their peak of their powers, the space between the tension and the tenderness still full of revelation. [Jan 2020, p.116]
  4. Dec 10, 2019
    100
    16 Lovers Lane arguably even shades the triumphant Liberty Belle… when it comes to defining the Go-Betweens apogee. The extras, meanwhile, are both plentiful and tantalising.
  5. Uncut
    Dec 10, 2019
    90
    This anthology perfectly encapsulates The Go-Betweens' irresistible, evergreen and still expanding appeal. [Jan 2020, p.34]
User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 16
  2. Negative: 7 out of 16
  1. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    Stan art, Stan Selena
    Cuando @selenagomez sacó su album "Revival" yo estaba rota al igual que mi autoestima. Ese album me hizo cantar, bailar,
    Stan art, Stan Selena
    Cuando @selenagomez sacó su album "Revival" yo estaba rota al igual que mi autoestima. Ese album me hizo cantar, bailar, sanar, y amarme...sigo trabajando en eso, "Rare" sale a las 12am y estoy emocionada por escuchar como ella también siguió adelante @selenagomez sacó su album "Revival" yo estaba rota al igual que mi autoestima. Ese album me hizo cantar, bailar, sanar, y amarme...sigo trabajando en eso, "Rare" sale a las 12am y estoy emocionada por escuchar como ella también siguió adelante. #RAREday #1DayToRare https://t.co/u68gSEmvmW
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 7, 2020
    10
    I haven't heard most of the rarities on this box set yet, but I want to spread the gospel of the Go-Betweens a bit here in hopes that someoneI haven't heard most of the rarities on this box set yet, but I want to spread the gospel of the Go-Betweens a bit here in hopes that someone might take the dive in. The time period of this set includes what is probably my favorite album run in history. Liberty Belle..., Talullah, and 16 Lovers Lane are damn near perfect. Even the flaws are charming and warm. The music is wonderful and ear tickling, the songs are pitch perfect. It's worth the jump. Enjoy. Full Review »
  3. Dec 13, 2019
    10
    An amazing box. The main LP's are powerfully remastered with great detail. Many highlights among the generous bonus tracks. I normally dislikeAn amazing box. The main LP's are powerfully remastered with great detail. Many highlights among the generous bonus tracks. I normally dislike live albums, but the one in here is excellent. Full Review »