• Record Label: Rhino
  • Release Date: Jun 22, 2004
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. An unexpected but dazzling return to the top form of the later Beach Boys years.
  2. Q Magazine
    80
    He has rediscovered the knack of making Beach Boys records again. And make no mistake, in sound if not personnel, this is a Beach Boys record. [Aug 2004, p.119]
  3. Uncut
    70
    A valuable addition to his catalogue: the most consistent and sympathetically constructed solo album he's made. [Jul 2004, p.96]
  4. Los Angeles Times
    63
    Too many lyrics are more serviceable than insightful or inventive. [20 Jun 2004]
  5. Perhaps it's best to think of Gettin' In Over My Head as Wilson's celebrity children's record.
  6. Although the musicians here understand how to convey complex emotions in a pop song, Wilson and his co-songwriters obviously don't, and it's with them that the blame for this record lies.
  7. It's probably safer to view "Gettin In..." as the sound of an old man lying back in the ocean with well-deserved drink. A straight-up collection of rock n roll songs that he probably enjoyed playing on as much as anything else in his bizarre life.
  8. His voice is rough, the melodies fall flat, and there's even a guitar solo by Eric Clapton.
  9. If you've followed Wilson's treacherous saga, it's heartening how upbeat Getting' in Over My Head sounds, even with a fair number of tracks misfiring.
  10. Blender
    40
    He's labored, bombastic and pitch-challenged.... The lyrics are embarrassing. [Aug 2004, p.143]
  11. New Musical Express (NME)
    40
    Wilson's voice is a sorry wisp of what it once was. [19 Jun 2004, p.57]
  12. It's not so much that he's over his head as much as just past his prime, and though his love of creating music that aims to communicate a very simple and honest message is respectable, he's ultimately unconvincing and awkward with tepid melodies, gimmicky guest spots and subpar lead vocals.
  13. The evidence now seems indisputable that Wilson is completely, totally, finally spent as a creative force—as it is, we’re treading dangerously close to “How many failed collaborators does it take to produce a half-decent Brian Wilson album?” territory (answer: you can’t count that high).
  14. Everyone wants Brian Wilson's story to have a happy ending. The worst thing about Gettin' In Over My Head - far worse than the mediocre songs and the MOR guest appearances - is that it doesn't sound terribly happy.
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. Nov 15, 2013
    5
    An awkward affair. Sounds like what it is. A release of newly recorded previously unreleased material.

    Only ones that should have seen the
    An awkward affair. Sounds like what it is. A release of newly recorded previously unreleased material.

    Only ones that should have seen the light of day are "Soul Searchin'", "You've Touched Me", "Gettin' In Over My Head", "Saturday Morning In The City" and "Don't Let Her Know She's An Angel".

    Even these tracks are a laborious listen.
    Full Review »
  2. SeamusS
    Mar 30, 2006
    6
    I, as many die hard Brian Wilson fans, can recognize his genius from his fun stuff. This is fun stuff, straight up. There's not alot of I, as many die hard Brian Wilson fans, can recognize his genius from his fun stuff. This is fun stuff, straight up. There's not alot of depth to it. It's got a nice feeling and gives you (somewhat) of an Idea as to what he's going to do on smile. There's some humor and some beauty. Not enough beauty to be a masterpeice though. Full Review »
  3. VictorVictor
    Oct 23, 2004
    4
    I am one of the longest Brian Wilson Fans- I grew up around the corner from Brian, and loved each and every work he produced. I am 53 and I am one of the longest Brian Wilson Fans- I grew up around the corner from Brian, and loved each and every work he produced. I am 53 and follow him from my youth. He is a genius- things happen and this album sucks. I think it should be renamed, "Get Those Other Folks Outa My Life" I could not even finish listening too it. Brian is still there and one one wonderful, but this is not him- odd, I kind of knew it before I got the album, really odd, it sent off a vibe- I am just listening to the album now, and it took me a long time to come to it. Some wrong management seems to be around Brian- Smile, while having nice pieces was released(i got it too!- my son sent to to me for my birthday- he a Marine in Iraq-and you can listen to it- and it was never complete, which was why brian never released it. The fact that is was released now, tell us more about people who want money than who is controlling the art- gets me to wondering. Yes, the album sucks, if left alone Brain can produce wonderful works still, he just needs the time, place and peace. Full Review »