User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 82 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 82
  2. Negative: 4 out of 82

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JoshS.
    Dec 18, 2001
    0
    slayer sucks and always sucked they should fall dorment and ill and have his larynics carved out with a spoon
  2. Brian
    Sep 6, 2004
    10
    One of the best purchases I've ever made...
  3. [Anonymous]
    Oct 12, 2001
    10
    wish i could give it 11on 10. Incredible. Fast, gruesome and dark. You can't pick one particular track. They're all brilliant!!!!
  4. Michael
    Nov 9, 2001
    10
    Unrelentless, brutal, accurate, moving. Slayer have never dissapointed, the sound is fresher and the anger is even more evident. Simply the angriest, heaviest, and most clear-cut album I have ever heard. Slipknot is a joke compared to this.
  5. HadezAngel
    Dec 20, 2004
    9
    Slayer are back with a vengence. After some overly technical releases and an over-produced (but still great) album of punk covers the return to their bloodied and defient roots and scare the hell out of everyone with this brutal rampage of an album. There are a few forgettable tracks but the killer tracks Disciple, Exile and Payback prove they still have what it takes.
  6. GeoffreyK
    May 8, 2004
    10
    Absolutely excellent album, this and Diabolous are different from the prior albums - but both have full rich and nasty sounds.
  7. PeterT
    Aug 14, 2005
    10
    Most powerful Slayer CD. A rush from start to finish.
  8. SeamusS
    Oct 3, 2006
    10
    Okay, I dont listen to metal ever, and I'm not sure as to what their other albums are like but I'm pretty sure this is probably the most (tastefully) progressive metal album I've ever heard. Beyond how exhausting it is, it's a thrillride with (most importantly) something to say. It puts alot of other bands that have hid behind their image to shame. (For anyone who Okay, I dont listen to metal ever, and I'm not sure as to what their other albums are like but I'm pretty sure this is probably the most (tastefully) progressive metal album I've ever heard. Beyond how exhausting it is, it's a thrillride with (most importantly) something to say. It puts alot of other bands that have hid behind their image to shame. (For anyone who cares, I normally listen to Wilco, The Beach Boys, Big Star and Sonic Youth to put it things into persepective, for the "non-fan"I guess) Expand
  9. JakeJ
    Aug 22, 2006
    10
    Possibly the best Slayer album ever. Certainly in the running with Reign in Blood and South of Heaven. Whoever is saying Christ Illusion is a true return to form and citing Seasons in the Abyss as its inspiration is missing the point with Slayer entirely. Seasons in the Abyss is a 7 at best, and Christ Illusion doesn't even match that. Sad, after the brilliance of God Hates Us All.
  10. KumarA
    Apr 17, 2007
    7
    The most brutal Slayer album ever. I don;t know why so many hate it. Of course, it's not the unparallelled gem that Reign In Blood is...but it's my 4th favourite Slayer album after RIB,Seasons and Christ illusion(yes, you read that right..Christ Illusion).
  11. JordanH.
    Nov 13, 2001
    10
    One of the best Slayer albums ever
  12. [Anonymous]
    Oct 12, 2001
    10
    wish i could give it 11on 10. Incredible. Fast, gruesome and dark. You can't pick one particular track. They're all brilliant!!!!
  13. AphryoH.
    Oct 17, 2001
    8
    Well... it's not seasons... but damn it brings me back. definatly a must have for past, present and undoubtedly, future slayer fans.
  14. AaronM.
    Oct 22, 2001
    10
    This album is one of Slayer's best. This record kicks ass from start to finish
  15. KimB.
    Oct 25, 2001
    10
    Their best album since Reign in Blood. Sounds more refined and more focused that on Diabolus... and Divine. Exellent cd!
  16. HeatherF
    Oct 8, 2001
    10
    THIS ALBUM IS A WAY OF LIFE!!!!666
  17. JasonH.
    Sep 14, 2001
    9
    kicks ass. if tired of the new metal rap scene, then this is were you are at, south of heaven strikes again
  18. AaronA.
    Feb 6, 2002
    10
    HOLY SHIT THIS ALBUM'S AWESOME
  19. SteveC.
    Apr 8, 2002
    2
    This is pathetic. 8 albums in 21 years or somein'? When your 40 something years old and still talking about how god hates us all and killing people, you know your fuc*ked up badly. Nothing but lazy old men.
  20. yaright
    Jan 10, 2005
    6
    it is a true return to form for slayer. they havent made a decent record since dave lombardos exit back when the released seasons in the abyss. this is still hard to listen to. reign in blood is where its at.
  21. MartinK.
    Nov 19, 2001
    10
    Slayer are back !!!!!!!!
  22. JesseL
    Nov 2, 2001
    10
    Slayer has never displayed rage so accurately.
  23. AaronP.
    Oct 13, 2001
    10
    Slayer is, and always will be the one who would remain after nuclear winter and slaughter the poseurs where they may still remain. This album goes to show that its not about the nookie or the motherfucking end of everything.....This is real metal, refined metal and if you are anything close to human and have a rebellious mind...I highly recommend this satanic relic
  24. AaronP.
    Oct 13, 2001
    10
    Slayer is, and always will be the one who would remain after nuclear winter and slaughter the poseurs where they may still remain. This album goes to show that its not about the nookie or the motherfucking end of everything.....This is real metal, refined metal and if you are anything close to human and have a rebellious mind...I highly recommend this satanic relic
  25. MTerra
    Oct 24, 2001
    10
    Slayer's best since Seasons. Incrediblly powerful and intense. Easily the best CD I've bought in years.
  26. LeoZ.
    Oct 25, 2001
    9
    Brutal, heavy and totally unmerciful to those who cannot stand this kind of heavy shit. Play this way too loud at night and you can feel every dark and demonic forces crawling themselves around you...
  27. GERY
    Jul 11, 2002
    10
    For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Sons: SLAYER
  28. zachh
    Dec 31, 2005
    4
    For Slayer it's terrible! There's none of thier classic demonic riffing like in reign in blood or show no mercy. Kerry King can NOT sing either, Tom's not the lead singer anymore. Slayers made a change for the worse in this album.
  29. VenomOcean
    Dec 14, 2001
    10
    Kickass trash metal music.This is the most brutal music by slayer.It brings out the darkest feelings from deep inside of me.Its as venomous as me!!!people who cant stand it can kiss my venomous ass!!!
  30. Jul 16, 2018
    7
    Incredible how this album squanders evilness and aggressiveness. God Hates Us All is one of heaviest Slayer and metal albums of all time. It got pinch of nu metal (that's new no more) that listener notices for minimalist riffs, that makes album sounds a little repetitive, even for band's standards, which for itself has few variations. It doesn't forgotten excellent work by Paul Bostaph'sIncredible how this album squanders evilness and aggressiveness. God Hates Us All is one of heaviest Slayer and metal albums of all time. It got pinch of nu metal (that's new no more) that listener notices for minimalist riffs, that makes album sounds a little repetitive, even for band's standards, which for itself has few variations. It doesn't forgotten excellent work by Paul Bostaph's aggressive and technical drums. Although repetitive and not too creative, it's incredibly evil and hostile, in the manner that Slayer always had done. Expand
  31. Feb 8, 2014
    5
    Well, this album doesn't deserve that score. Songs does not have that unique Slayer atmosphere in my opinion, it sounds so generic. Riffs are not enough fast, wicked and complex. They all sound same and all of them are repetitive. Tom is just yelling, it's not his style. I can't hear "real Tom" in this album. I just can't hear the brutality. Solos suck as usual. The only song that I loveWell, this album doesn't deserve that score. Songs does not have that unique Slayer atmosphere in my opinion, it sounds so generic. Riffs are not enough fast, wicked and complex. They all sound same and all of them are repetitive. Tom is just yelling, it's not his style. I can't hear "real Tom" in this album. I just can't hear the brutality. Solos suck as usual. The only song that I love is Disciple. That's it. It would be good album for a generic band maybe but not for Slayer. Expand
  32. Sep 15, 2015
    9
    One of the best albums in their discography!
    Every song is cool.Pure Slayer through and through!
    I like Disciple most of all.
    Energetic , awesome job!
  33. Mar 26, 2016
    8
    This was Slayer's first album in years that sounded truly legitimately angry. After the nu metal tendencies of Diabolus in Musica, fans were left wondering if Slayer had begun to ababdon their roots, and this album quickly eradicated those fears. Songs such as "Disciple" and "Bloodline" are right up there with classics such as "Angel of Death" and "War Ensemble". "Payback" is one of theThis was Slayer's first album in years that sounded truly legitimately angry. After the nu metal tendencies of Diabolus in Musica, fans were left wondering if Slayer had begun to ababdon their roots, and this album quickly eradicated those fears. Songs such as "Disciple" and "Bloodline" are right up there with classics such as "Angel of Death" and "War Ensemble". "Payback" is one of the angriest, least commercial sounding songs to be released by a band with this much recognition. The lyrics are full of profanity on some tracks, unlike earlier albums, but this tends to work to the band's advantage, as Tom Araya sounds like he's far beyond his breaking point on these songs, like he's legitimately going to emerge from your speakers and tear out your eyes and rip off your flesh. God Hates Us All is terrifyingly brutal. Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. God Hates Us All is Slayer's most brutal record since 1986's immortal (or undead) Reign in Blood.
  2. Slayer do what they do with impassioned authority, which is what makes an album full of vileness so compelling.
  3. Slayer remains an elemental metal band, continuing to surge on something high-grade and uncut.