• Record Label: Virgin
  • Release Date: Jun 19, 2001
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 284 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 284

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 26, 2010
    9
    I can't believe how mind-bending this album is. You get a song that comes out of some random Japanese show ("19-2000") and then turns into a day into the streets of Mexico ("Que Pasa Contigo"). Damon has created something not only for him, but created something entirely different. Listening to this album in the dark is just plain out creepy, with the tracks "Slow Country" and "SoundI can't believe how mind-bending this album is. You get a song that comes out of some random Japanese show ("19-2000") and then turns into a day into the streets of Mexico ("Que Pasa Contigo"). Damon has created something not only for him, but created something entirely different. Listening to this album in the dark is just plain out creepy, with the tracks "Slow Country" and "Sound Check". This was something really new for me, and helped me expand my joy for music genres, rap being the most influential. If you hate it the 1st time, trust me, it will get better short after. Standouts : "5/4", "Clint Eastwood", "19-2000", "M1A1"

    Overall Score : 8.9
    Expand
  2. Oct 19, 2010
    9
    Having had a decade to dwell on the Gorillaz--I've decided they are VASTLY underrated. The basis for critical attack being the very concept itself--that the concept band is (as P4K wrote) "smarmy, promotional gimmick." I tend to disagree. Instead, I submit that Gorillaz is the fulfillment of every artistic aspiration--humane creativity, comraderie, collaboration, and recognition. Taking aHaving had a decade to dwell on the Gorillaz--I've decided they are VASTLY underrated. The basis for critical attack being the very concept itself--that the concept band is (as P4K wrote) "smarmy, promotional gimmick." I tend to disagree. Instead, I submit that Gorillaz is the fulfillment of every artistic aspiration--humane creativity, comraderie, collaboration, and recognition. Taking a wider view of the decade that was Gorillaz...it is now clear that Damon Albarn's vision is the clearest--to work with, for, and support friends and fellow artist--with a somewhat cohesive songwriterly basis in Albarn's brain....Gorillaz is the social network of bands--bringing together disparate influences and players. Since this record came out Gorillaz has proven that the spirit of amalgamation is long-term viable (on Demon Days, Plastic Beach and the 2010 tour) collaboration, having included members of Lou Reed, Snoop Dogg, The Clash, De La Soul, Shawn Ryder (Happy Mondays), Ike Turner, Bobby Womack, and many individual performers some quite famous.

    As to the record at hand, you have to get dub/ska to really get it. Dub, as handed down from Lee "Scratch" Perry, The Specials, and The Clash (esp. on Sandinista!, Gorillaz are Son of Sandinista!). Anyhow, the thematic accuracy of overlooked tracks like "New Genious", "Man Research", "Tomorrow Comes Today", and "Starshine" are the area where Gorilaz contribute their breakthrough (this is amplified on the side project "Gorillaz vs. Spacemonkeyz....cf. Mutant Genious).
    Expand
  3. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    Although it took me 12 years to listen to it, The Gorillaz debut with the former Blur star is a huge hit. Most notably Clint Eastwood helps carry this amazing album to a decade great.
  4. Jun 20, 2016
    10
    One of the greatest albums I have listened to. I would recommend listening to every Gorillaz album. Also the music videos are great as well. I give this 10/10
  5. Jul 8, 2017
    10
    This is one of my all-time favourite albums, hands down. It's so expertly crafted, with each and every track being experimental to the extreme, yet still retaining it's groove. It can go from silly, upbeat tracks like 19-2000 and Rock the House to depressing and slow tracks, like Slow Country, Latin Simone and even Double Bass, to a mix of the two, with tracks such as M1A1, Tomorrow ComesThis is one of my all-time favourite albums, hands down. It's so expertly crafted, with each and every track being experimental to the extreme, yet still retaining it's groove. It can go from silly, upbeat tracks like 19-2000 and Rock the House to depressing and slow tracks, like Slow Country, Latin Simone and even Double Bass, to a mix of the two, with tracks such as M1A1, Tomorrow Comes Today and 5/4. It's honestly a must-have, especially if you're into experimental music and/or trip-hop. Do yourself a favour and listen to this album. Expand
  6. VadamercaN
    Jul 27, 2007
    10
    Both energetic and easy-listening, this CD brought together so many fans and listeners, the world could even be saved from global warming. If your looking for pop, rock and hip-hop all in one album, this is a must-have.
  7. MarikoH
    Aug 5, 2003
    10
    I just love this album!!! I don t even know what to say! I am listening twice time a day with the G SIDES and the SPACEMONKEYS
  8. Eirinjas
    Jan 26, 2006
    5
    Not impressive. Also, the term band tends to connotate people who actually play instruments. This is just sampled crap.
  9. randomperson
    May 25, 2006
    2
    Greatest Cd EVA !!
  10. Oct 22, 2010
    10
    WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOoooooot
  11. kazimierc
    Jun 6, 2005
    10
    This was excellent. I believe this is the best cd I heard in the past week and I am suprised at how much I like it. Everyone you likes rock/rap should listen to them.
  12. Mace
    Sep 8, 2001
    10
    The CD of Gorillaz Rocks. Tommorow Comes Today and Clint Eastwood rock too.
  13. KaetM
    Sep 20, 2003
    10
    Great CD with an assortment of songs that continues to rock you, drawing you in and making you an addict, I CAN'T STOP LISTENING TO THIS CD!
  14. AshG
    Feb 5, 2005
    10
    This album even though it is getting older just grows on you the more you listen to it!! best ever album
  15. LawrenceP
    Mar 7, 2005
    10
    My mind knows this not the best LP ever made, but i just can't stop listening to it!
  16. LucasM
    Jan 18, 2006
    10
    I listen to the CD every day!! never get boared of it.
  17. dre
    Jan 30, 2006
    9
    well....just like demon days....the album does sound like absolute rubbish when you first listen to it....but when you begin to know the lyrics and listen to it second time around...you realise that this is one of the maddest albums ever!!!!! =)
  18. JamesS.
    Nov 17, 2001
    10
    I really liked this cd it's a very cool group thanks for this song
  19. JoanieK.
    Dec 28, 2001
    10
    The the lyrics and the animation kicks ass.
  20. ChloeH.
    Aug 17, 2002
    10
    this is my fave cd. i had to buy a second one because i listened to it too much. PS. 2-d and murdoc rule!!!!
  21. nf
    Sep 16, 2002
    10
    yep
  22. robbinn
    Mar 15, 2003
    10
    den e bra
  23. SS
    Mar 17, 2003
    10
    this is the best cd on the planet in my mind.
  24. ElijahE
    May 8, 2003
    10
    Its the best!
  25. Paul
    Jun 21, 2003
    10
    When I first heard and saw the video for Clint Eastwood, I had to get this album. The Gorillaz are a genre of their own. 2D is the coolest cartoon I ever saw. I could just go on and on about this album.
  26. bryanf
    Apr 26, 2004
    10
    This album is an addictive drug that combines many elements of hip hop, dub, and zombie rock. It is an eerie mixture of creative and dynamic music that takes you to another world.
  27. rewdcoolrettw
    May 25, 2004
    10
    this the best band ever I like clienteastwood russel and d2 rock but I want them to make a new CD...
  28. VictorN
    Apr 3, 2005
    9
    this cd rocks!!!i strongly advise ppl to buy this perfect cd. good to party too and/or listen toooo.
  29. MichaelS
    Jul 11, 2005
    10
    Its Gorilazishious!
  30. Romys
    Jul 3, 2005
    10
    gorillaz are the coolest band ever. im trying to save a money to bying all there other cds well at least a few of them !!! 2D and murdoc are hot ! :) :) ;0
  31. TurkRocks
    Nov 15, 2006
    10
    Amazing! Not their best, but some of the best! It doesnt quiet fit as a 10 but it definatly is worth a bit more than a nine ; but since there is no '9.5' rating available - I give it a ten to maybe raise it up a few :P Enjoy life, and enjoy the gorillaz. Gorillaz - original, beautiful, wonderful
  32. T-demon
    Jul 22, 2006
    10
    The josie and the pussy cats of this century my foot. This band may just revolutionize the way people look at music. From its thought invoking lyrics to it's curious way of presenting people, I'd say this is a must have CD. After all, even though only two people started them, over 50 people are behind them, and it's all wrapped up in an animated ball.
  33. VidM
    Aug 13, 2007
    6
    Largely a very forgettable album. Makes me miss Blur...
  34. AndrewE.
    Dec 9, 2001
    8
    This CD is good, except you need to listen to it a few times before understand the mood of it. When you understand the whole 'mood' you'll like this album.
  35. ChadM.
    Aug 11, 2001
    8
    It's not that great of a cd the first couple times you listen to it but the more u listen to it the better it gets.
  36. YatenK.
    Jul 27, 2002
    10
    This is my all time favorite album; period. I love all of the music on the album. The first time I listened to it I thought "What the heck is this crap?" But I started to appreciate it more and more. I strongly suggest this album.
  37. 18Uh,Smith?
    Jan 16, 2004
    10
    Best. Band. Ever.
  38. landeef
    Jun 25, 2005
    10
    this is my favorite band in the entire world!!!!!!...only because they r the absolute best ;)
  39. JonathanGarciaA
    Sep 27, 2006
    10
    The best band ever along with Deltron 3030! The music is just great and it also reminds me of good time! :)
  40. FistfullofPeanuts
    Jun 14, 2007
    10
    This album is a perfect mix of everything! I never get bored of it. I got bored with demon days kinda quick because there were too many rap songs and demon days just didn't contain as much originality as this one. Also there were a few songs on here I hated at first now I only hate 1! =)
  41. ChrisK.
    Dec 23, 2001
    10
    Did you know there is another version of Clint Eastwood after Left hand suzuki method?
  42. afdfs
    Nov 29, 2005
    9
    you stupid critics
  43. Oct 1, 2010
    9
    A very innovative and amazing album by Gorillaz. If you like rock, pop and hip-hop, then this is a must-have. Once again, Damon Albarn does a great job at bringing something new and fresh.
  44. Oct 11, 2010
    8
    Gorillaz first album is easy going and as free as anything Albarn has ever done. Although a touch too long especially with the remixes of the brilliant singles 'Clint Eastwood' and '19-2000' the album is memorable. At many points the genres are so daring they are impossible to categorize especially 'Latin Simone' which is somewhere between Latin and Trip-Hop. There are also funny moments,Gorillaz first album is easy going and as free as anything Albarn has ever done. Although a touch too long especially with the remixes of the brilliant singles 'Clint Eastwood' and '19-2000' the album is memorable. At many points the genres are so daring they are impossible to categorize especially 'Latin Simone' which is somewhere between Latin and Trip-Hop. There are also funny moments, 'Punk' is a very comical look at punck music and its stereotypical rhythms and songs. There is just a bit of everything in this first Gorillaz album that at times it does become too much. Apart from that it is just about one of the most original things I have ever heard. Expand
  45. Nov 6, 2010
    8
    It's a little weak compared to the likes of Demon Days, D-Sides and Plastic Beach, but the debut Gorillaz album is still great. Some of the tracks are a little boring in my eyes, unlike the Phase 2 and Phase 3 albums that were awesome pretty much all the time. I still know all the lyrics for Clint Eastwood :P
  46. Jan 6, 2011
    6
    A pretty alright debut. Nothing like Demon Days but it's still a solid debut. "Tomorrow Comes Today" is a great track. "Clint Eastwood" is my favorite on the album. It mixes a blend of music all together and it's a good concept. The second half falls a little flat though. It could've been better. All In All, While not the best record ever, Gorillaz 's self-titled debut album is a good jamA pretty alright debut. Nothing like Demon Days but it's still a solid debut. "Tomorrow Comes Today" is a great track. "Clint Eastwood" is my favorite on the album. It mixes a blend of music all together and it's a good concept. The second half falls a little flat though. It could've been better. All In All, While not the best record ever, Gorillaz 's self-titled debut album is a good jam to listen too sometimes. B- Expand
  47. Jan 5, 2011
    9
    Amazing CD. It contains almost anything good that could be on a CD. Creative lyrics, a sound like no other band out there. Definitely one to buy. 10/10.
  48. j30
    Dec 9, 2011
    7
    A rocky debut from Damon Albarn's self-titled side project. Even though some of the LP feels uneven in a few places, the record contains some of the best pop songs you'll here from the past decade. Clint Eastwood is a classic.
  49. Feb 3, 2012
    9
    Some songs in this album make it great to listen but some without a doubt do not belong in it. Many people will think that for a few songs this is ''crap'' but to me it's genius work from Damon Albarn and the other people who did this album. Before making any critics people have to understand the world around Gorillaz because this music is amazing.
  50. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    With the blend of so many musical styles, this flowing album bounces from high energy beats (punk, M1A1), to some chill songs (5/4, re-hash), to laid back melodies (starshine, slow country), to some mashup raps (clint eastwood, rock the house), sprinkling in some mixes of each genre (left-hand-suzuki method). Awesome album that established the offbeat style of Gorillaz and turned me into aWith the blend of so many musical styles, this flowing album bounces from high energy beats (punk, M1A1), to some chill songs (5/4, re-hash), to laid back melodies (starshine, slow country), to some mashup raps (clint eastwood, rock the house), sprinkling in some mixes of each genre (left-hand-suzuki method). Awesome album that established the offbeat style of Gorillaz and turned me into a life-long fan Expand
  51. Jun 11, 2012
    10
    There's something for everyone in this album. The album covers genres from pop to funk to punk to hard rock. Definitely worth the money if you're ever curious.
  52. Jul 8, 2014
    10
    This is a terrific album because in each song you get a different genre and you can tell thay they experimented with trip hop. And they get really imaginitive with the songs espicially with "Clint Eastwood.".
  53. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    The outstanding debut album of the concept band Gorillaz. This is definitely their most underground-sounding album, with mostly very alternative rock-ish tracks, but with some soaring and catchy hip-hop moments "Clint Eastwood" and "Rock The House" featuring out-of-this-world rhymes from Del Tha Funkee Homosapien( of Deltron 3030 and Hieroglyphics) and some head bopping pop favoritesThe outstanding debut album of the concept band Gorillaz. This is definitely their most underground-sounding album, with mostly very alternative rock-ish tracks, but with some soaring and catchy hip-hop moments "Clint Eastwood" and "Rock The House" featuring out-of-this-world rhymes from Del Tha Funkee Homosapien( of Deltron 3030 and Hieroglyphics) and some head bopping pop favorites "19-2000" and "Slow Country" all with superb production by Dan The Automater(of Handsome Boy Modeling School, Lovage, etc.) This was the first Gorillaz album I ever heard, and I'm still hooked. The first of many incredible works of art that are Gorillaz albums. Expand
  54. Jan 4, 2015
    7
    The Gorillaz first album is full of very trippy and funky tunes. Quite a few work, yet there's a chunk that doesn't. But still, this is one of the most original sounding albums out there and it's definitely worth picking up.
  55. Jul 23, 2018
    7
    Not great, but it's more important for what it started than what it is. Being made in 2001, it's very much a product of its time, with a lot of the songs sounding dated. But songs like "19-2000" and "Clint Eastwood" make up for it.
  56. Jan 26, 2016
    10
    I Love so much this album! :D
    When I bought this album in 2001 I running in my house, I put the CD in my CD player.
    Then I looked more similar bands to it (Deltron 3030)
    And now I listen to this in 2016!!! ^_^
  57. Aug 6, 2015
    9
    Great for a first album. Some excellent classics here as it combines alternative rock and alternative hip hop with a gorgeous dub feel! Other than one or two "flat" tracks, it's a great album.
  58. Apr 26, 2016
    8
    I am a long-time fan of Gorillaz. Gorillaz does really fascinating modern alternative rock that can change it's whole generation forever!. This album is really good!. The songs are really catchy. I highly recommend new Gorillaz fans this album.
  59. Aug 20, 2016
    7
    An intriguing blend of various styles, genres and moods and it contains elements ranging from deep heavy sounds to playful melodies. This album does a good job of linking up different genres.
  60. Sep 3, 2016
    10
    It is an impressive work, being their first album, they did something incredible, bth energetic and easy-listening is one of the best albums of Gorillaz has made, with his "dark pop" or "zombie hip hop" they did something amazing, the history of all the songs, with all their videos, all the lyrics. It ends up being an album that should not be ignored at all.
  61. Nov 19, 2016
    10
    Gorillaz is to me the best band ever and they did start by Rocking Clint Eastwood's House 19-2000 times, not their best album, that would be Demon Days, but definetly their 2nd best.
  62. Jul 26, 2017
    10
    Amazing soundtrack! If you listen to it over and over they sound even better as you notice the background sounds or something. Truly this album is genius and if you have not yet listened to this album all the way through you should. My favorite is Sound Check (Gravity) as it has a depressing guitar and vocals. Better than pop music believe me.
  63. Feb 18, 2018
    8
    Gorillaz's debut album Gorillaz is one of the best albums I've listened to recently. I especially loved the fact that their music is essentially genre-less. The songs are catchy and are pretty good. The album is great and I'm gonna give it a solid 8.5/10.
  64. Jun 1, 2018
    10
    Very good album that was the world's introduction to a very good band ! ! !
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Alternative Press
    80
    Whereas the Beckster tends to wriggle cheekily along to his funk, and Badly Drawn Boy does his own thing in spite of it, Gorillaz don't give a rat's ass about acting funky; they just are. [July 2001, p.68]
  2. A couple of tracks flounder around South of no North but as a whole Gorillaz, should be pretty pleased with what they've been able to achieve, considering the high risk concept involved.
  3. 60
    Taken only for what it is, Gorillaz is an engaging, if not entirely arresting, journey through sluggish mood rock and jazzy hip-hop. Taken for what it aspires to be, though, it's more disappointing than awe-inspiring...