• Record Label: ATO
  • Release Date: May 19, 2017
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 11 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
Buy On
  1. Oct 13, 2017
    89
    Green Twins realizes a sound that's truly Hakim's own.
  2. The Wire
    Aug 8, 2017
    80
    For all its kinkiness Green Twins is indubitably an R&B record (tracks like “Cuffed” and “JP” really can’t be described as anything else) and an exceptional one at that. [Jul 2017, p.52]
  3. May 22, 2017
    80
    His voice, like the music, has a dream-like quality. ... Superb.
  4. May 19, 2017
    80
    Lush and atmospheric, with shades of the paisley funk of Shuggie Otis, the laid-back, freewheeling early ‘70s Marvin Gaye and Todd Rundgren’s cosmic mishmash (with centrepiece soul medley)--A Wizard, A True Star, Green Twins demands your attention, in a subtle but compelling way.
  5. Q Magazine
    May 18, 2017
    80
    Green Twins is high on sonic invention. [Jul 2017, p.108]
  6. May 18, 2017
    80
    Gleaning from such artists as Robert Wyatt, Marvin Gaye, and Shuggie Otis to The Impressions and My Bloody Valentine, as well as the personae of hip-hop elite like RZA, OutKast, and Madlib, Hakim has cultivated an abstract soul virtuality with elements of all the above. [Apr - Jun 2017, p.81]
  7. May 18, 2017
    80
    The album's potent mix of soul-searching lyrics and spaced-out sonics lends itself to deep thought and accompanied stargazing.
  8. May 23, 2017
    79
    The songs on Green Twins feel like attempts to save remnants of the cherished encounters that fill up a lifetime. So few of these moments last long. But Nick Hakim has set out to preserve his any way possible.
  9. Uncut
    May 18, 2017
    70
    A truly futuristic slice of R&B. [Jun 2017, p.30]
  10. Jun 23, 2017
    60
    You unpeel this 12-song collection’s layers track by track, with repeat listens yielding new surprises as rifts and melodies that you missed first time around float to the fore.
  11. May 25, 2017
    60
    Green Twins is impeccably tailored and has some gorgeous ideas. What it lacks is the confidence to stretch its colour palette into areas the listener might not immediately associate with other, trailblazing artists.
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Jul 15, 2019
    10
    This album has the greatest vibe and consistency of all his releases. Its just great
  2. Jan 9, 2018
    9
    Astonishingly beautiful. Nick's voice and aesthetic is unique and refreshing. A sonically incredible album.
  3. Jun 5, 2017
    8
    “A beautiful, eerie, green nightmare”

    I was scrolling someday for new music to listen to and stumbled across the Green Twin album artwork
    “A beautiful, eerie, green nightmare”

    I was scrolling someday for new music to listen to and stumbled across the Green Twin album artwork which looks like a beautiful painting of a big eyeball staring at itself through a mirror with green texture background which made me want to badly listen to what inspired this art.

    The opener starts off with a haunting voice getting louder and louder, taking us into the nightmare as piano with Nick’s wonderful voice appears later kicking into the chorus with lo-fi drums and lyrics about his love for someone (‘I wanted to start it with you but somebody said we ain't ready’) later turning into describing his nightmare (‘They will always haunt my dreams, The green twins with your eyes’)

    The atmosphere in this albums stays till the end as the instrumental and vocals start getting louder, experimental and sometimes out of tune (the right way!), TYAF is another favourite of mine which contains simple lyrics which I think is about telling his parents he doesn’t want to live anymore. (‘You brought me here, you could take me out, what are you waiting for?’)

    I don’t want to spoil too much about this album because I really enjoyed listening to this with no context but art and music so give this a listen right now!

    Good: Bet She Looks Like You, TYAF | Least: Needy Bees, Miss Chew
    Full Review »