GUV I Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Be the first to review!

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third full-length release for the indie-pop solo project of Fucked Up/No Warning's Ben Cook was self-recorded in New York City.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Aug 5, 2019
    Take the tapes back in time to 1992 or so, and Young Guv would be right in holy firmament of that era's power pop scene right next to Mr. Sweet, Teenage Fanclub, Sloan, and Velvet Crush. Maybe even slightly ahead, or at least a little to the left, of a few of them. It's certainly the best power pop anyone is likely to hear in 2019.
  2. Aug 5, 2019
    These songs are infectious enough that they ought to catch just about anyone's ear.
  3. Aug 5, 2019
    At times GUV I can feel like indie rock cosplay, especially coming from a shapeshifter like Cook. When an artist genre-hops with such agility and totality, with titles and performances as goofy as Young Guv’s can be, it’s harder to lose yourself in the familiar comforts of a fuzz pedal and a charmingly off-key vocal. Even so, there’s an ease to the mimicry.
  4. Aug 5, 2019
    He’s managed to inject this compact collection of eight tunes with more than a whiff of 90s alt-radio nostalgia, but the songs are hummable enough to rebuff anyone inclined toward cynical eye-rolling.