User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 517 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 72 out of 517

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SeanF
    Dec 5, 2008
    10
    Fantastic considering the worst song on the album was a number 1 Hit!
  2. GillesB.
    Apr 30, 2008
    9
    I really enjoy this record: impressive production, quality song writing and, above all, an amazing Madonna. I had been expecting such quality since Music: no fillers, only potential hits. I was worried the album would sound ordinary, too similar to Nelly Furtado and Gwen Stefany, but the people who say it does have NOT listened to Hard Candy properly: it's a pure Madonna style, with I really enjoy this record: impressive production, quality song writing and, above all, an amazing Madonna. I had been expecting such quality since Music: no fillers, only potential hits. I was worried the album would sound ordinary, too similar to Nelly Furtado and Gwen Stefany, but the people who say it does have NOT listened to Hard Candy properly: it's a pure Madonna style, with a lîtlle (excellent) Timerberlake urban flavour now and then. Expand
  3. kirkorkirkella
    Apr 30, 2008
    8
    Metacritic's score seems to be a bit skewed towards the negative - I've read lots of positive reviews from reputable sources that aren't included here. it's not at all surprising that places like pitchforkmedia don't like this - they don't want to alienate their hipster indie-rock audience by acknowledging that something good can occasionally come out of the Metacritic's score seems to be a bit skewed towards the negative - I've read lots of positive reviews from reputable sources that aren't included here. it's not at all surprising that places like pitchforkmedia don't like this - they don't want to alienate their hipster indie-rock audience by acknowledging that something good can occasionally come out of the mainstream. for the rest of us who aren't quite so stuck-up, this album is a big old slab of fun. enjoy it for what it is. Expand
  4. CavitD
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    I'm in love with this album, it's one of her best. Funky!
  5. Mar 25, 2012
    6
    I'm really waiting MDNA, because i don't like this a lot. Sure, this is Madonna's worst album. Yes there are good songs ( I think that Miles Away it's fantastic ) but there are bad songs like "Spanish Lesson" and "incredible", too. And this is the first Madonna's album that doesn't have a particular or revolutionary sound. So, a quite good album but when you are Madonna people want fromI'm really waiting MDNA, because i don't like this a lot. Sure, this is Madonna's worst album. Yes there are good songs ( I think that Miles Away it's fantastic ) but there are bad songs like "Spanish Lesson" and "incredible", too. And this is the first Madonna's album that doesn't have a particular or revolutionary sound. So, a quite good album but when you are Madonna people want from you a great album, not quite good. (sorry for my English) Expand
  6. IanR
    May 25, 2008
    3
    As a huge Madonna fan, I'm disappointed. Never has she sounded more bored and more like a guest on her own songs. Enlisting the help of Timbaland and Timberlake reeks of desperation, and this half-baked effort contains no Madonna classics and only a handful of tolerable songs. Her worst studio effort without question.
  7. RezJ
    Apr 28, 2010
    5
    I think Madonna lost her way in music with this album. she wamted to try something new but it didn't work. i think R&B beats don't fit on her. the only songs u can bear in this album are "Miles Away" and "Devil Wouldn't Recognize You". they sounds like real Madonna. we all expected more from her after her huge success in "Confessions on a Dancefloor".
  8. JoshP
    Jan 3, 2009
    10
    Hard candy is a rare gem that is full of life and perfection and excellently produced by Timberlake, Timbaland, Pharrell, kanye and The Neptunes. Madonna is at the top of her game with this album and it is one of her better efforts,the noughties are the new eighties for Madonna. tracks-4 Minutes,Give it 2 Me,Miles Away,She's Not Me,Beat Goes On,Dance 2night,Spanish lesson,and Devil Hard candy is a rare gem that is full of life and perfection and excellently produced by Timberlake, Timbaland, Pharrell, kanye and The Neptunes. Madonna is at the top of her game with this album and it is one of her better efforts,the noughties are the new eighties for Madonna. tracks-4 Minutes,Give it 2 Me,Miles Away,She's Not Me,Beat Goes On,Dance 2night,Spanish lesson,and Devil are exceptional songs. Expand
  9. SantixRdeCh
    Jun 11, 2010
    10
    Great album. i didn't like 4 minutes at first, but i was only a matter of time so I could like it. My favs: Spanish Lesson, She's not me, Heartbeat, Give it to me, Candy Shop, Beat goes on.
  10. Justin
    Apr 29, 2008
    0
    She's now old enough to be a grandma, which is why her childish need for attention and shock is so pathetic... and thanks again for ruining Guy Richie's career.
  11. DaveR.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    wow Hard candy is just the best madonna album ever!!!!!
  12. MichaelK
    Oct 6, 2008
    1
    Creativity is a word out of madonna's vocabulary. The album is irritating, futile, hypocritically innocent and all in one: show of. Is the worst of a
  13. Max
    Apr 30, 2008
    8
    It's not her best album but it is good!
  14. Anti-K
    Apr 30, 2008
    8
    Well, if musicOMH.com and Karen/Brent says Madonna sucks then that must be true, right? Well, no. Sorry to disappoint but that isn't necessarily the case here. First off, let me state for the record that I can't stand Madonna. Everything about her grates me the wrong way but I do have the conviction and the scruples to give someone their dues when...well, it's due. This is Well, if musicOMH.com and Karen/Brent says Madonna sucks then that must be true, right? Well, no. Sorry to disappoint but that isn't necessarily the case here. First off, let me state for the record that I can't stand Madonna. Everything about her grates me the wrong way but I do have the conviction and the scruples to give someone their dues when...well, it's due. This is a good album because no album that Timberland has been near could ever be rubbish. Except that one had did in the late '90s...when he was still fat. Buy this album so that Madonna can afford that extra black child she's always wanted. Expand
  15. JosiM
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    Though same tracks are pretty weak, there are a lot of gems here. They jsn't need some time to shine. It's not an album you'll love on the first listen. I wouldn't even call it a grower. You just need to feel the music, 'cause above all this is a straightforward dance album...
  16. RobertM.
    May 10, 2008
    7
    There is more single material rather than a great album full of strong songs Best Songs-4 Minutes,Give It To Me,Heartbeat,Beat Goes On
  17. GabrielC.
    May 2, 2008
    10
    Excellent!
  18. KennyC
    Jul 1, 2009
    8
    This album is not as good as Confessions; it doesn't have that album's brilliant combination of back-to-basics dance and the emotional core of Ray of Light and Like a Prayer. However, that being said, Hard Candy is still an extremely enjoyable record, filled with thumping modern beats (see the production credits) and catchy choruses. Anyone who claims that the music and This album is not as good as Confessions; it doesn't have that album's brilliant combination of back-to-basics dance and the emotional core of Ray of Light and Like a Prayer. However, that being said, Hard Candy is still an extremely enjoyable record, filled with thumping modern beats (see the production credits) and catchy choruses. Anyone who claims that the music and Madonna's personality have been drowned out by the production just isn't giving the album the chance it deserves. Expand
  19. Smarts
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    Best pop album so far this year.
  20. SarkesY.
    Apr 30, 2008
    9
    NO WAY NEAR AS BAD AS SOME ARE MAKING IT, not better than confessions was but i think the pre-buzz is trying to kill it, really fun party/dance album more 80's vibe than anything she's done recently: CANDY SHOP, GIVE IT 2 ME, MILES AWAY, INCREDIBLE amd DEVIL are my FavEs!!!!!!
  21. mathewd.
    Apr 30, 2008
    3
    There are only about 3 or 4 good songs thanks to her team of producers. Nothing original here. It all sounds what's been on the radio for the past few years. What would Madonna have done through her career without the great record producers she's hired.
  22. J.D.
    Apr 30, 2008
    3
    Atrocious by anyone's standards. Is incredibly sad to hear her get down to this kind of mess she has been able to avoid for so long.
  23. [Anonymous]
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    Fantastic.
  24. JohnS
    Apr 30, 2008
    1
    Not great. The songs are all generic. She's too old to be singing these kinds of songs.
  25. PhilipG.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    Excellent! I'm so relieved.
  26. mugul16
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    I love it....!!!! Madonna have done a great job again!!!
  27. KevinS
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    Don't listen to anyone that says this is not a good album. This is one of Madonna's BEST albums. The majority of the tracks are just awesome, and this album deserves to be listened to with the volume up and the bass pumping! A real crowd pleaser of an album. Fun, exciting, and very danceable.
  28. EAB
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    She hasn't had this fun on an album since Like A Prayer and hasn't gotten as artistic as Ray Of Light.
  29. PeterJ.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    What can you say to describe this, this is gobsmackingly brilliant, didn't think it would go right but it's a Madonna record at heart! Madonna never lets you down, with every album being a stunner! Love Madonna, she's right up there as one of the best artists of all time, you'll never regret loving Madonna!!!
  30. svc.
    May 1, 2008
    3
    First album where it doesn't sound like Madonna is calling the shots. She should be ahead of the curve, not following it. No stand out tracks. No intelligence. No good. (And I am a fan).
  31. Mark
    May 1, 2008
    6
    It's fine, but I feel like I've heard it all before.
  32. misk
    May 1, 2008
    4
    Madonna at it's worst. Generic US stuff. Another BigMac but this time unedible even on cnbs. Bedtime Stories crap at least had Human Nature and Bedtime Stories.
  33. Chris
    May 1, 2008
    1
    Queen of reinvention is desperate. Maybe two ok tracks at best.
  34. WilliamV.
    May 2, 2008
    2
    it seems Timbaland makes all albums looks like the same thing. For me, Hard Candy is a more pop "loose". Terrible. Madonna is a good singer, but she doesn't need to put sexuality in evidence all time. This is soooo boring. Missing "Erotica" so much.
  35. WilliamG.
    May 2, 2008
    10
    Great new sound. Perfect follow up to last CD.
  36. AndreaM
    May 2, 2008
    10
    Awesome album, every song on it is excellent and I just can't stop listening to it!
  37. AlexJ.
    May 3, 2008
    6
    Its good, for both fans and typical listeners. Many funky and catchy beats, but its not great and nowhere near as good as some of madonna's other albums.
  38. Bardo
    May 4, 2008
    10
    hard candy is her best album of a decade.
  39. Magnolia
    May 5, 2008
    2
    The biggest disappointment of the year! Young stars, such as Adele, Duffy, Estelle and even Britney released much and much better albums. What a shame for Madonna!
  40. EnriqueF.
    May 7, 2008
    8
    It´s a good album, it has excellent tracks, but I think that Madonna could have done something more exciting like Confessións. Anywaysm it has the "MADONNA" seal, and that is guaranteed.
  41. DanielC.
    May 9, 2008
    10
    Great album...!!!
  42. Nickalli
    Jul 17, 2008
    9
    Madonna the Best!
  43. ClifC.
    Jul 21, 2008
    6
    Okay people!... Madonna is one of the greatest thing that happened to Pop music... Until 2005's "Confessions on a Dance Floor". Could she be called "Queen of Pop" with an album like Hard Candy?! Not sure. There is no creativity (using the same notes and sounds that Timbaland used in Nelly Furtados and Justin Timberlake's music... They even sound disgusting now!), no sincerity, Okay people!... Madonna is one of the greatest thing that happened to Pop music... Until 2005's "Confessions on a Dance Floor". Could she be called "Queen of Pop" with an album like Hard Candy?! Not sure. There is no creativity (using the same notes and sounds that Timbaland used in Nelly Furtados and Justin Timberlake's music... They even sound disgusting now!), no sincerity, no re-invention, it's BRAINLESS... There's absolutely nothing special. It would be a great album for Britney Spears, but for Madonna...!? The greatest songs are from co-producer Pharrell Williams ("Give It 2 Me", "She's Not Me", "Incredible" and "Beat Goes On"), and I only credit Timbaland for "4 Minutes". Expand
  44. John
    Jul 2, 2009
    9
    Far from perfect, I have yet to find any Madonna album that is, Hard Candy is, however very close. Of course it lacks the huge stand out moments that its predecessor had in Hung Up, Sorry and Jump. But it, as a complete album, holds together well, it flows better than any other Madonna album I can think of. The stand out tracks for me are: She's Not Me, Beat Goes On (Feat. Kanye Far from perfect, I have yet to find any Madonna album that is, Hard Candy is, however very close. Of course it lacks the huge stand out moments that its predecessor had in Hung Up, Sorry and Jump. But it, as a complete album, holds together well, it flows better than any other Madonna album I can think of. The stand out tracks for me are: She's Not Me, Beat Goes On (Feat. Kanye West), Spanish Lesson, Give It 2 Me, Heartbeat and Devil Wouldn't Recognize You. In typical Madonna style, the balladry, is Excellent. In truth the only, and regretably longest, mistake on the album is Incredible, which really shows how weak her voice is if not treated properly. This coupled with the dreadful lyrical content and rather passe beats, it adds up to being the albums only real mistake. Expand
  45. MichaelS
    Apr 26, 2008
    2
    Wow, this is her worst album! :| R.I.P Madonna.
  46. SidS
    Apr 26, 2008
    7
    Good enough! A couple of tracks are excellent (Miles Away, Gi2M) but it doesn't come anywhere close to her last album's giddiness.
  47. BrettR
    Apr 27, 2008
    10
    Amazing! My favorites are Heartbeat, Give It 2 Me, and Devil Wouldn't Recognize You. I haven't stopped playing it for 3 days. I am thrilled and think it's the best dance album in years.
  48. ChrisR.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    Amazing album!!! One of her best!!!
  49. HenryG
    Apr 29, 2008
    4
    Atrocious for an artist of her calibre. So dissapointing. 2, maybe 3 decent tracks tops. I love her too.
  50. sRe78
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    Her best album in ten years. Catchy, fun and lighthearted.
  51. RickyH.
    Apr 29, 2008
    8
    Not her best, but it's a grower so far. I'm on the 3rd listen and some of the tracks are getting infectious. Some are a bit overdone. Dance2night is adorable.
  52. Val
    Apr 30, 2008
    9
    Every song has something great to offer and you won´t stop dancing...it´s not a producers album. Madonna´s stamp is all over the place.
  53. MarcoC.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    Simply put: A masterpiece!!!
  54. EH
    Apr 30, 2008
    9
    Amazing album. I think she has the right, after all her years in the record business, to make an album that is just pure fun to listen to, which is what hard candy is all about.
  55. TristanC.
    Apr 30, 2008
    8
    And one more thing... Entertainment Weekly gave this album a B+, how does that factor in as an 83??? The accuracy of this website is definitely questionable.
  56. SaraZ.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    I love hard candy its her best album.
  57. Tom
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    Great catchy songs
  58. AlexisN.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    Amazing album...i love it!
  59. AndrewH
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    Madonna is simply brilliant. Always. I love her stuff with a message, but this is perhaps her best album since "Ray of Light." (And I love the others, so that means something.) It's not as serious, but it's where she is right now and at the end of the day, it's good stuff. "Give It 2 Me," "She's Not Me," "Beat Goes On," "Dance 2 Night," etc. are among her best dance Madonna is simply brilliant. Always. I love her stuff with a message, but this is perhaps her best album since "Ray of Light." (And I love the others, so that means something.) It's not as serious, but it's where she is right now and at the end of the day, it's good stuff. "Give It 2 Me," "She's Not Me," "Beat Goes On," "Dance 2 Night," etc. are among her best dance songs. "Devil" and "Voices" are beautiful, and "Miles Away" is perhaps the most gorgeous Madonna song ever. The album's full of good stuff; even the weakest track ("Spanish Lesson") is decent. Expand
  60. LeonardoC.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    This is amazing! It's retro and futuristic at once, and even thou she requested the fashion producers, she didn't become a plastic icon as it happens for 8 of 10 artists when they adventure themselves that side... Go, Madge!
  61. MartinC.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    One of the most innovative Madonna album
  62. JamieI.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    One of her best in my opinion. Love Give it 2 Me, Beat Goes On, Miles Away, Heartbeat.
  63. DanielC.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    Great album...!!!
  64. JK
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    Awesome work. Probably her best.
  65. MohamadA.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    One of her best ! The perferct follow-up to "Confessions on a dance floor" ! :>
  66. franl.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    It¡s fantastic dc, madonna is the queen.
  67. RobertH.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    This album is flawless! The production is so layered and constantly surprising. Standout tracks for me are 'She's Not Me', 'Incredible', 'Give It 2 Me', 'Miles Away and 'Devil Wouldn't Recognise You' 10 Out Of 10
  68. JoeS.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    FANTASTIC album! One of her most consistent!
  69. JohnP.
    Apr 30, 2008
    6
    Not a bad record, but not great either. After becoming relevant again with Confessions, Madonna has lost some momentum. By the way, folks, perfect scores should be reserved for transcendent works -- this one simply doesn't qualify.
  70. michalis
    May 11, 2008
    9
    A very good disc that brings Madonna up to date but the album's producers don't leave her the space she needs to be Madonna. Quite fun and easy listening but we demand more.
  71. DickyMix
    May 1, 2008
    7
    Let's face it, we've grown to expect more imaginative things from Madonna. But the bottom line is that it's quite a good pop record. Not earth-shattering or genre-bending. Just sugary pop fun. The title says it all.
  72. killerblow
    May 11, 2008
    8
    This is how a pop album should be: no pretensions, no nonsense, with feet-stomping, finger-snapping danceable tunes that would appeal to everyone.
  73. DeeDeeDee
    May 11, 2008
    8
    Hard candy is sweet, tasty but have empty calories. Guilty pleasure. It's fun but complitly dispossible. She could have it so much better.
  74. GradyP.
    May 13, 2008
    10
    No, it's not the soul-searching journey Ray of Light is, nor is it the amazing space disco odyssey Confessions on a Dance Floor is; however, Hard Candy is a constantly dancable (is that a word?) album that still ranks among her best work, number 5 on my personal list of favorite Madonna albums. It's like she looked back on that girl that was rolling around in a wedding dress at No, it's not the soul-searching journey Ray of Light is, nor is it the amazing space disco odyssey Confessions on a Dance Floor is; however, Hard Candy is a constantly dancable (is that a word?) album that still ranks among her best work, number 5 on my personal list of favorite Madonna albums. It's like she looked back on that girl that was rolling around in a wedding dress at the MTV awards, going back in time, kicking her ass, then drinking her blood while recording the new album. Madonna is just THAT badass. Definitely worth a listen. Expand
  75. JoeP.
    May 1, 2008
    3
    Just one decent song(4 minutes).
  76. DenysL.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Madonna successfully integrates the musical styles of her new producers without losing her own sound. "Miles Away, " with its heartbreaking lament, "So far away" is classic Madonna. The song should be her 3rd release after "Give It To Me." Her promotional concert at the Roseland Ballroom confirms the fact that she is simply unrivaled!
  77. MickaP
    May 2, 2008
    3
    This album sucks! Disappointing doesn't even begin to describe it!
  78. yori
    May 3, 2008
    10
    For me the album is a perfect hybrid of all the Madonna personas and sounds we've heard over the years but with an up to date vibe....there's RnB,Disco,Electonica,Retro etc etc...there's Bitchy,Fun,Lonely and Self-Reflective....from her vocals to the sound and vibe....a perfect goodbye record to Warner and 25 years Yeap,she's not steps ahead but she has been so many For me the album is a perfect hybrid of all the Madonna personas and sounds we've heard over the years but with an up to date vibe....there's RnB,Disco,Electonica,Retro etc etc...there's Bitchy,Fun,Lonely and Self-Reflective....from her vocals to the sound and vibe....a perfect goodbye record to Warner and 25 years Yeap,she's not steps ahead but she has been so many times AND after the block she received from american radio who can blame her for wanting to go mainstream and lighter this time....T-H-I-S is the dance record she set out to make a couple of years ago... The people she worked with this time are as familiar in the music world as her,so people seem to have a hard time accepting their presence or influence.But the record still screams Madonna. i can live without one or two songs but the rest... gems :) Everything she does gets reactions from both extremes but rarely gets apathy,which is always preferable in life....lol. ....which is also another reason to love her! Stop complaining,play the album,dance and enjoy your summer soundtrack! Expand
  79. EinarJ.
    May 3, 2008
    3
    You must be joking.
  80. ChsM
    May 4, 2008
    8
    Sure it's safe, by Madonna's standard. But like the album "Music," this is a fun record but with lots more potential hits: Beat Goes On, Miles Away, Heartbeat. Pharell's tracks are, surprisingly to me, much better than the Timbaland/Timberlake collaborations.
  81. KholbyW
    May 5, 2008
    5
    This cd sounds like Spice Girls without the Spice Girls...So many of the beats remind me of early spice girls songs. I feel like the only way this cd will be decent is through remixes. I guess there's the occasional decent song, but it's really a step down from confessions.
  82. KIR
    May 6, 2008
    10
    Old-school, funky, as fresh as her first album... just great!!!
  83. JoeB
    May 8, 2008
    3
    Very disappointing...this cd feels forced, like Madonna knows as it goes along that it's just not working...her collaborators have too much leeway, and they're terrible. Timberlake's 4 Minutes is putrid, and why do hip-hop artists feel the need to repeat names a dozen times in songs??..."Madonna...Madonna....Madonna..." so lame it's laughable....Madonna needs to grab Very disappointing...this cd feels forced, like Madonna knows as it goes along that it's just not working...her collaborators have too much leeway, and they're terrible. Timberlake's 4 Minutes is putrid, and why do hip-hop artists feel the need to repeat names a dozen times in songs??..."Madonna...Madonna....Madonna..." so lame it's laughable....Madonna needs to grab the reigns again, these Bozo's ruined this effort. I have no problem with a misstep, I haven't disliked anything from her before this, but I guess her big mistake was letting over-rated drecks take over her album entirely. Expand
  84. DejanS.
    Aug 20, 2008
    10
    So far... Her best work! She's in pop again!
  85. VictorC
    Apr 5, 2009
    8
    Madonna now adds a new type of sound to her array of styles. "Miles Away" really shines on this album.
  86. JensO
    Aug 1, 2009
    8
    She doesn't reinvent the wheel on this one, but the album contains some great tracks.
  87. Jack
    Jun 8, 2010
    6
    This is not one of Madonna's stand out albums. It lacks the depth of Ray of Light or the fantastic feel-good moments of confessions; I can think of more stand-out moments for Madonna. Having said that, the album does contain many good songs, highlights being Give It 2 Me, She's Not Me and Beat Goes On. After Confessions, I was expecting something special from the Queen of Pop, This is not one of Madonna's stand out albums. It lacks the depth of Ray of Light or the fantastic feel-good moments of confessions; I can think of more stand-out moments for Madonna. Having said that, the album does contain many good songs, highlights being Give It 2 Me, She's Not Me and Beat Goes On. After Confessions, I was expecting something special from the Queen of Pop, but this sadly, despite being co-produced by some of the top producers around, lacks the magic of some of her previous albums. Expand
  88. RichH
    Nov 12, 2008
    8
    Its an album which takes time to be appreciated. I now love the album, it has some awesome tunes and some hot beats but it's not a Madonna album. Its not innovative enough, too main stream and too contrived to be a Madonna classic. Its hot, it's no confessions, but its hot. Could do with less JT, shoe doesnt need him.
  89. AnnAnne'
    Nov 21, 2008
    10
    This album sure is hot!Best songs are Devil wouldn't recognize you,miles away,voices and beat goes on!
  90. PaulineD
    Nov 25, 2008
    9
    The first Madonna album with all that hip-hop, R&B, and dance music experimenting, this CD will make the perfect party going wild.
  91. JerrodL.
    Apr 23, 2008
    8
    Okay, so it's not a Confessions, Ray of Light or even Music, but it's great. Madonna's going back to an American radio friendly sound, and she works it out. Usually opting for lesser known producers, Madonna's decision to work with Timbalake and Pharrell left me a little worried. Although their trademark sounds are all over this album, Madonna really makes it her gem, Okay, so it's not a Confessions, Ray of Light or even Music, but it's great. Madonna's going back to an American radio friendly sound, and she works it out. Usually opting for lesser known producers, Madonna's decision to work with Timbalake and Pharrell left me a little worried. Although their trademark sounds are all over this album, Madonna really makes it her gem, not theirs. Standout tracks for me include Candy Shop, Give It 2 Me, Dance 2night and the breakdown halfway through Incredible. Expand
  92. RyanK.
    Apr 27, 2008
    10
    I was a little worried about whether I would like Hard Candy after the first single, 4 Minutes, was released. Now that I've heard the whole album, I would say that 4 Minutes is possibly the weakest track, and not really indicative of the album as a whole. Hard Candy is being hyped as a kind of R/B/Hip-Hop album, but it's not hip-hop at all. In fact, I would say that this album I was a little worried about whether I would like Hard Candy after the first single, 4 Minutes, was released. Now that I've heard the whole album, I would say that 4 Minutes is possibly the weakest track, and not really indicative of the album as a whole. Hard Candy is being hyped as a kind of R/B/Hip-Hop album, but it's not hip-hop at all. In fact, I would say that this album is what Confessions on Dancefloor was supposed to be: a return to Madonna's 80's club roots. This album actually has more of a retro/disco vibe than Confessions. Stand-out tracks: Heartbeat, Miles Away, Incredible Low points: 4 Minutes, Pharell's singing, and Kanye's lame rap on Beat Goes On Expand
  93. JonathanD.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    This score is not accurate; the New York Daily News gave it 5 out of 5 stars, and People Magazine gave it 4 out of 4 stars...there are countless other amazing reviews, but this site picks and chooses which ones they're going to use.
  94. Karen/Brent
    Apr 29, 2008
    1
    Dire one down.
  95. BJN.
    Apr 29, 2008
    9
    Hot and Jumpin' new and freshly fun
  96. chinap.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    Yes, metacritic forgot to post the great reviews from: Salon.com, About.com, Sputnikmusic, Attitude, the LA times, and the New York Times.... Hmmm....
  97. JoeC
    Apr 29, 2008
    9
    An excellent CD. True the Madonna form and includes some of the best songs of her career. It's a pity that Metacritic has failed to look more broadly for reviews - you will find some give this record 5/5 and 4/4...but bias will always exist when Madonna is reviewed!!
  98. IvanC.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    Absolutely brilliant album! She did it again.
  99. BitBurn
    Apr 29, 2008
    5
    Madonna & hip-hop was never a very successful marriage. And, stubborn as she is, she had to go back again on that road that leads nowhere. When will she ever learn that her niche is, and always was, dance music? And that is why this album compared to her previous masterpiece "Confessions On A Dance Floor", is quite forgettable and bleak.
  100. MaryannW.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    love it!
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. 80
    It's fun to hear here negotiate the contours of Top 40 pop for the first time since "Like A Prayer," without any European house music hose-head gumming up the pleasure and catharsis with mediative schmaltz. [May 2008, p.73]
  2. Candy finds her dropping her Kabbalah string on the dance floor and readopting an American accent to offer up an unpretentious, nonstop dance party.
  3. Whenever Hard Candy threatens to get boring, something always happens to recapture your interest, but the three songs in which Madonna actually seems to forge a genuine connection with her musical helpmeet leave the rest of the album in the shade.