• Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Jul 2, 2002
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 107 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 107
  2. Negative: 16 out of 107

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TonyS
    Sep 18, 2005
    7
    This is a good album by Oasis but when you're one of the all time greats, good isn't good enough. There are 6 classics on here but 4 very ordinary tunes a very short instrumental. The band produced the record themselves and apart from a few inspired moments, it's clear the boys should have got someone in, who knows what they're doing. The biggest crime is not knowing This is a good album by Oasis but when you're one of the all time greats, good isn't good enough. There are 6 classics on here but 4 very ordinary tunes a very short instrumental. The band produced the record themselves and apart from a few inspired moments, it's clear the boys should have got someone in, who knows what they're doing. The biggest crime is not knowing how to mix Liams vocals, he sounds too tame on certain tracks here, while Noels voice sounds too loud in the mix on some of his vocals. Overall, a good album but quite forgettable. Expand
  2. EricC
    Aug 14, 2007
    0
    Pick up a guitar, put your fingers anywhere on the strings, and just strum that cord over and over. Than sing whatever the hell you want, or just whine in a singing voice, and you have as much creativity as a band like Oasis.
  3. Fred
    Jul 11, 2002
    8
    This is a solid album with a great sound.
  4. StewartM.
    Jul 17, 2002
    10
    Superb. Best album ever by Oasis. Liam at his best. Deserves all the aclaim it can muster. This is not pop its Oasis at their best. Fantastic lads, keep it up.
  5. JimB.
    Jul 7, 2002
    9
    it's their best yet.
  6. wangl
    Feb 11, 2005
    0
    no way sis' or bro!
  7. MikeJ.
    Aug 19, 2002
    7
    Solid record. I like the further involvement of Liam contributing with some tunes. I have heard reviews very critical of some of the songs sung by Noel this time out. This is pretty much on the same level as Standing on the Shoulder of Giants. Not quite as good as Be Here Now, further below What's the Story Morning Glory, and alot behind Definitely Maybe. It is refreshing, however, Solid record. I like the further involvement of Liam contributing with some tunes. I have heard reviews very critical of some of the songs sung by Noel this time out. This is pretty much on the same level as Standing on the Shoulder of Giants. Not quite as good as Be Here Now, further below What's the Story Morning Glory, and alot behind Definitely Maybe. It is refreshing, however, that in the last two efforts, the band seems to be more about the music, not the hype and trying things. Some things that work and some that miss, but are admirable. I don't think this is a band that is done yet. Look for a better album the next time out, and that is not saying that this one is bad because it is far from being a bad record. Expand
  8. dannys
    Jul 7, 2003
    10
    Top!!
  9. TomasC
    Sep 26, 2003
    1
    Shit... BLUR RULZ
  10. JennyK
    Jul 23, 2004
    7
    I know this album isn't as amazing as Definitely Maybe or Morning Glory, but that shouldn't detract from the fact that it's still a very good record. The highlight is "Little By Little," which sounds like a classic anthem that would fit nicely on Morning Glory.
  11. pm
    Sep 28, 2004
    9
    this is a great album and if you like oasis its definetly the best since morning glory. Im a big fan of oasis and have seen them live many times. Its no Definetly Maybe but then again its impossible to recreate an album as brilliant as that. This album is easily enjoyable ,easy to understand and easy to sing along to, is that not what rock and roll is all about? If you want to listen to this is a great album and if you like oasis its definetly the best since morning glory. Im a big fan of oasis and have seen them live many times. Its no Definetly Maybe but then again its impossible to recreate an album as brilliant as that. This album is easily enjoyable ,easy to understand and easy to sing along to, is that not what rock and roll is all about? If you want to listen to calculator music and get depressed i would recommend most radiohead albums.Music is there to be enjoyed and make you feel good and thats what this album does.By the way i do like radiohead and have seen them ilve too , twice but its hardly uplifting music. Expand
  12. andreal
    Mar 20, 2005
    10
    i think this album is fucking awesome! how can anyone rate this below an 8? oasis is comprised of musical geniuses!! i think that they are an amazing band and they are true musicians!
  13. JoshH
    Apr 1, 2005
    7
    This is my least favourite Oasis album, but it is still better than almost any other rock album from the last 20 years.... The major problem is when Noel sings songs Liam should have been singing.... With the current production quality (almost too good) songs sung by Noel sound to shiney and overproduced, whereas if Liam sang "Force of Nature" and "Little By Little", this album would have This is my least favourite Oasis album, but it is still better than almost any other rock album from the last 20 years.... The major problem is when Noel sings songs Liam should have been singing.... With the current production quality (almost too good) songs sung by Noel sound to shiney and overproduced, whereas if Liam sang "Force of Nature" and "Little By Little", this album would have had the attitude and feeling to be a legitimate classic. The more Liam and the less Noel the better. Force nature would've gone from a boring pub song to a sneering exciting rocker.... Oh well. Lyla (from the upcoming album Don't Believe The Truth) finally sounds like the exciting days of Oasis are back, with an upbeat shuffle and carefree lyrics. Don't Believe The Truth will bring it all back for Oasis their fans; I am now sure of it after hearing Lyla...and it was not even supposed to be a single! Expand
  14. Joris
    Apr 7, 2005
    7
    This album is quite good, not top but definitely not bad. Maybe because I'm not prejudiced by the fact that is't "Oasis" "again" like some defnintely are. Songbird, I love that song, simple but brilliant brings Wonderwall to mind. The Hindu Times sounds like Oasis' glorious days are back, but this is not for the whole album. I hope they will deliver something real stunning This album is quite good, not top but definitely not bad. Maybe because I'm not prejudiced by the fact that is't "Oasis" "again" like some defnintely are. Songbird, I love that song, simple but brilliant brings Wonderwall to mind. The Hindu Times sounds like Oasis' glorious days are back, but this is not for the whole album. I hope they will deliver something real stunning like their first 2 albums with the upcoming Don't Believe the Truth. Expand
  15. SteveK
    Mar 29, 2006
    7
    Not bad like some songs solid it led htem to dont believe the truth which is awsomee so good job.
  16. Sean
    Apr 17, 2007
    10
    Brilliant....Stop comparing everything to Definitely Maybe and look at it as just another album and it comes out brilliant
  17. CarineD
    Jul 28, 2002
    7
    I think this is their best effort yet. Lyrically they have improved and there is much more variety in sound. I personally enjoy it and I stop being a fan when I saw them live with all their arrogance, but this album renewed my faith in them.
  18. JB
    Aug 12, 2002
    2
    Go away, please.
  19. JonC.
    Aug 21, 2002
    9
    Best work since Morning Glory, and a breath of fresh air in a generally tired music scene in the US.
  20. RicardoM
    Oct 14, 2003
    9
    Its a thrilling, provocative and superb new album of the mancunians. Songbird would fit perfectly in "Imagine" and Little by Little sound like an early Wings hit (and its a huge compliement).
  21. JasonD
    Mar 28, 2004
    4
    About as disappointing as it can get. Noel Gallagher has never penned more below average songs than on Heathen Chemistry. Not to mention all of the stolen bits that plague the songs.
  22. JoshP
    Mar 30, 2004
    1
    It's funny how Oasis fans blame bad reviews on "backlash" and cant accept that Heathen Chemistry is a very bland and average record by a band that is getting worse and worse with each album.
  23. JavierK
    Apr 14, 2004
    9
    Ok, Ok, maybe this is not oasis at it's best, but it still is a freakin assome new album. Songbird it's fantastic, it's a song so beautiful and powerful at the same time, one of oasis best! Generally it's a great album, but it just doesn't have the same quality as the previous albums.
  24. TimE
    Jan 19, 2005
    10
    Another solid record. There's a reason that Oasis were considered groundbreaking and this record just proves that they've still managed to live up to all their hype by creating some of the best music in their illustrious career!!!!!!!
  25. Morvit
    Apr 3, 2005
    5
    This album was BAD. Oasis has just gone downhill ever since Be Here Now. It's better than SOTOG, but really, SOTOG is like a 2/10. I just heard Lyla, their latest single., and i thought that song sucked as well. I guess Oasis' dead. Maybe i should stop caring for them from now on. Mmm, when's the next album coming out again?
  26. ChrisG
    May 28, 2005
    8
    Very good album, creep closer to that original greatness. 'Songbird,' 'The Hindu Times,' and 'Force of Nature' are all highlights. Liams two songs at the end of the album are also quite good.
  27. EthanC
    Jun 18, 2005
    8
    I think it's a very good album...not their best but good. I admitt Morning Glory was very good and this isnt that good but still good, solid, and very enjoyfull music
  28. dsd
    Dec 27, 2002
    0
    awful, just awful
  29. DaveL
    Aug 22, 2002
    10
    So far....album of the year. No matter what they release, critics will always have their pre-conceived opinions about the band. Their best album since "Morning Glory".
  30. AK
    Aug 29, 2004
    10
    Absolutely brilliant... she is love, stop crying your heart out, little by little... If oasis is your style of music or you've ever enjoyed an oasis song, buy this album. (or definitely maybe, morning glory, & be here now)
  31. seanj
    Jan 29, 2005
    10
    pure brilliance,every song simple as that
  32. Givemeginandtonic
    Mar 22, 2005
    8
    Their only fault was signing with Sony, if it werent for that I would have given it a nine. It was a horrible album for an Oasis album. It was still great though, perfect even. It was still far beyond the above average that most bands only dream of achieving. It was Oasis, but it was different, it was beautiful but it was mellow. It was perfect, but I still yearn for the old days, Their only fault was signing with Sony, if it werent for that I would have given it a nine. It was a horrible album for an Oasis album. It was still great though, perfect even. It was still far beyond the above average that most bands only dream of achieving. It was Oasis, but it was different, it was beautiful but it was mellow. It was perfect, but I still yearn for the old days, hopefully tunes like that of Be Here Now, Definitely Maybe, and WTSMG come back (even just a little) with the March 30th(?) release of Don't Believe the Truth. Expand
  33. KazzS
    May 18, 2005
    9
    People are far too critical of Oasis. They still produce quality albums like this with some great songs such as Little by Little and Stop Crying Your Heart Out.
  34. RicoR
    Nov 28, 2006
    9
    I'm tired of people giving this album a bad rap, its got some really great songs. I'm biased perhaps because I first saw oasis play live on the heathen Chemistry tour and I was blown away. These songs have a special place in my heart.
  35. evanj
    Dec 16, 2006
    10
    This truly a great Oasis album. From the moment it starts to the end of Better Man you're constantly pulled into the album. The production and flow are amazing. Definately one of the most underrated albums ever.
  36. daven
    Sep 22, 2006
    6
    Nobody in their right mind saw Oasis crashing and burning as much as they did after they released "Morning Glory". The first two CDs were absolutely brilliant, but then they released their third CD and it was crap. It didn't get much better after that. Finally comes Heathen Chemistry which offers a glimmer of hope into Oasis future. While it doesn't even compare to the greatness Nobody in their right mind saw Oasis crashing and burning as much as they did after they released "Morning Glory". The first two CDs were absolutely brilliant, but then they released their third CD and it was crap. It didn't get much better after that. Finally comes Heathen Chemistry which offers a glimmer of hope into Oasis future. While it doesn't even compare to the greatness of "Definitely Maybe" or "Morning Glory" its their best effort besides those two and that definitely provides some light in an otherwise black tunnel. Expand
  37. Sep 10, 2011
    9
    Its not as immediately brilliant as morning glory or definitely maybe, but there are some fantastic songs on here! 'Force of nature' has a great edge to it, while s'top crying your heart out' and 'little by little' are captivating ballads. Pretty much every song is worth listening to again and again, overall the album is far better than it is given credit for
  38. Mar 13, 2012
    8
    After the disappointment of Be Here Now and Standing on the Shoulder of Giants, the singles that came off Heathen Chemistry really gave Oasis fans a lot of cause for optimism. The Hindu Times has the typical Oasis swagger in abundance, Stop Crying Your Heart Out is as sleek and smooth a ballad as you'll hear. Then you have Liam's surprisingly brilliant Songbird, not to mention Noels doubleAfter the disappointment of Be Here Now and Standing on the Shoulder of Giants, the singles that came off Heathen Chemistry really gave Oasis fans a lot of cause for optimism. The Hindu Times has the typical Oasis swagger in abundance, Stop Crying Your Heart Out is as sleek and smooth a ballad as you'll hear. Then you have Liam's surprisingly brilliant Songbird, not to mention Noels double A-side Little By Little/ She is Love. Unfortunately outside of the singles, the rest of the album is a bit bland. Gem Archer and Andy Bells offering definitely take this album down a notch quality wise. Hung in a Bad Place and A Quick Peep are dreadful. If you replaced those tracks with 2 more Noel penned tracks it would have been a really good record. Instead, it's not bad. I also think if the best parts of this record was combined with the highlights of SotSoG, Oasis might have brought out a real classic. Expand
  39. Mar 8, 2013
    8
    With Heathen Chemistry Oasis return to their typical sound, after the "experiments" of their previous album.
    It is a good album, but very far from their first two. However some songs are wonderful, especially Stop Crying Your Heart Out and Little By Little. I also like Probably All In The Mind and some others.
  40. Jan 15, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best Oasis album of the 2000's era, includes greatest rock song like The Hindu Times, Force of Nature & (Probably) All In The Mind, are greatest rock song, all the album is amazing,perfect, the best masterpiece & The 2nd. best Oasis album, after (What's The Story) Morning Glory?, i got nothing more to say, is perfect Expand
  41. Jul 22, 2014
    6
    The weakest album by Oasis. Definitely not as great as "Standing on the Shoulder of Giants", but it tries. The best song of the album it's called "Songbird" and surprisingly, it's written by Liam. This song is a Lennonesque ballad with the simplicity of three chords and amazing lyrics. Another great tune in the album it's called "Stop Crying Your Heart Out", this one it's written by NoelThe weakest album by Oasis. Definitely not as great as "Standing on the Shoulder of Giants", but it tries. The best song of the album it's called "Songbird" and surprisingly, it's written by Liam. This song is a Lennonesque ballad with the simplicity of three chords and amazing lyrics. Another great tune in the album it's called "Stop Crying Your Heart Out", this one it's written by Noel and ignoring the similarity to Wonderwall , it's a great and motivational tune. So, this album it's not bad, but it's not great either. Expand
  42. Jan 22, 2019
    3
    Many people turn to albums like Be Here Now and Standing On The Shoulders Of Giants as the worst albums by Oasis. Be Here Now had its moments and I believe that SOTSOG is actually a solid record. No no, the worst Oasis has ever been being on 2002's Heathen Chemistry.

    The album starts out promising with The Hindu Times. It isn't creative, but it gets the blood pumping and is a very
    Many people turn to albums like Be Here Now and Standing On The Shoulders Of Giants as the worst albums by Oasis. Be Here Now had its moments and I believe that SOTSOG is actually a solid record. No no, the worst Oasis has ever been being on 2002's Heathen Chemistry.

    The album starts out promising with The Hindu Times. It isn't creative, but it gets the blood pumping and is a very strong opener. It isn't as strong as the demo recorded by Noel himself, but it is a solid tune. However, this song also shows the albums weak and **** points. All the songs are guitar-driven, but not in a good way. The only instrument you can hear is a guitar which is a disappointment after the rich instrumentation of the last album.

    Most of the songs are just overly long guitar rockers or ballads. A force of nature is an arrogant and sour slug of four minutes. Born on a different cloud and Stop crying your heart out are overly sentimental and melodramatic. She is love is just bland.

    But Oasis doesn't just bore in their own way. No, they copy sounds from other bands. Hung In A Bad Place is a z-list Black Crowes song. Songbird is Liam just trying to be John Lennon.

    There are two other bright spots on the album aside from the opener. Little by Little is fine. On another oasis album this would be filler, but here it's a nice break of pace. A quick peep is amazing. It's an original song that takes influences and uses it in an interesting way. It should have been the entire album.

    Heathen Chemistry is disappointing in every way. It doesn't live up to the promise of new sounds by their superior album that came before. It doesn't feel like an interesting album. And it isn't a very good album. Luckily Oasis kinda redeemed themselves on their next album, because this leaves a sour taste for a long time after you listen to this shadow of a once great band
    Expand
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 22
  2. Negative: 3 out of 22
  1. Pretty much the same Beatles-esque pub-rock with Middle Eastern punches you'd expect--though with more shared singing and songwriting duties than past outings have had.
  2. Heathen Chemistry gets back to what Oasis do well.
  3. While the electronic flourishes and arrogant bombast that respectively marred the band's last two efforts are thankfully gone, there's nothing on Heathen Chemistry to suggest that the "Wonderwall" commercial glory days of the mid-'90s are coming back.