User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 44
  2. Negative: 5 out of 44

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jake
    Oct 20, 2004
    0
    You've GOT to be kidding me. Insufferably pretentious horsesh-t.
  2. BenjaminBunny
    Apr 17, 2004
    8
    Inventive and genuinely touching. "Red Right Ankle," "I Was Meant For The Stage" and "Los Angeles I'm Yours" are amonst the best songs of the year. Top 20/2003.
  3. ShepP
    Mar 7, 2006
    3
    They have their moments, but in the end the Decemberists are just too pretentious and annoying to bear. Someone should tell the singer he's not British. He's from Montana, but you'd never know it with the psuedo-accent and the references to trousers, knickers, etc. Give me a break.
  4. TheCritic
    Jul 17, 2006
    10
    Everyone out there, DO NOT LISTEN TO "President Bush" because all he does is say "crap" and doesn't even explain why he says so. I've been to a lot of his reviews and he embarrasses the website DO NOT LISTEN TO HIM
  5. VincentH
    Mar 19, 2007
    10
    I could write an extremely long essay on how much the Decemberists mean to me and how obsessed I am with them. I won't get into it, but needless to say picking up this album from my local library one Fall day 3 years ago changed my life. I often have a difficult time choosing between this album and "Castaways and Cutouts", and my choice often changes, but right now it's this I could write an extremely long essay on how much the Decemberists mean to me and how obsessed I am with them. I won't get into it, but needless to say picking up this album from my local library one Fall day 3 years ago changed my life. I often have a difficult time choosing between this album and "Castaways and Cutouts", and my choice often changes, but right now it's this one. I would have to say personally that this was my favorite period of theirs musically, from 2002 (their 1st album) thru 2003 when they released this album and the 5-Song EP (which contains a few of their best songs). All the songs they made from this period are classic, with "Her Majesty..." being IMO, the best indie-pop album since "In the Aeroplane Over the Sea". Expand
  6. AsiaZ
    Jun 13, 2004
    8
    Very much worth the investment. The Decemberists are sure to become one of the most respected folk rock bands around, thanks to the steady lyrical content and inspired melodies.
  7. AabraJ
    Aug 10, 2004
    9
    Excellent sophomore effort from this unique, uber-literate Portland, OR-based five piece. More tuneful and upbeat than "Castaways" without abandoning the soulful, mournful, sea-washed roots of their 2002 album.
  8. katherine
    Aug 6, 2004
    9
    one of me favs!
  9. HollyS
    Mar 26, 2005
    9
    I don't normally like winy pop indie music...or whatever you classify this under, but I think this album is amazing....everything... it has great orchastration and composition and the heartfelt vocals make this album worth owning to torture your tough skinned pretentious friends :)
  10. Luke
    Apr 16, 2005
    10
    Tthe best album I have ever purchased for the sake of one song - "The Soldiering Life."
  11. JessicaO
    Jul 21, 2005
    10
    Listen to their CDs or see them live, either way once you hear their music you'll be a dedicated fan!
  12. PresidentBush
    Jul 9, 2006
    0
    just crap
  13. BradS
    May 29, 2004
    10
    Awesome
  14. VinceH.
    Jun 19, 2004
    10
    Colin Meloy is a genius! A great collection of songs that manages to be nearly as great as their first classic, "Castaways & Cutouts". Can't wait to see them in concert.
  15. RayM
    Nov 19, 2006
    10
    Lyrics are wonderfully crafted, deep and thougtful. The music itself is a work of art. God Bless you Decemberists.
  16. PedroP
    Mar 13, 2007
    9
    Original and well crafted from beginning to end. The evocative lyrics and the amazing creativity may make this one the best of 2003.
  17. Apr 11, 2011
    6
    Meloy still needs to diversify his sound here, but it's coming along. Her Majesty is not the treasure trove of songs that their next two albums would be. Best songs: The Soldiering Life and The Chimbley Sweep.
  18. Dec 15, 2012
    7
    This album is good. It has it's moments and several songs are so good I listened to them over and over again. However the album as a whole is lacking especially when compared to later Decemberists albums. It's worth the money but if you're thinking of getting this album as your first Decemberists album then I'd recommend you listen to one of the later albums first.
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Colin Meloy's songwriting makes them one of the strongest bands working today.
  2. The band's newfound willingness to experiment leads to overkill.
  3. Clever without being pretentious.