Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
Buy On
  1. Nov 21, 2011
    90
    Integrity to the fans, the fun tongue-in-cheek of the album and the no-*** rock n roll makes Here and Now a standout record for 2011, and may even win Nickelback some new fans.
  2. Nov 10, 2011
    78
    It's a well-crafted brand of meat 'n potatoes hard rock.
  3. Nov 23, 2011
    70
    Nickelback's seventh studio album arrives nearly three years after their multi-platinum-selling, 2008 release Dark Horse.
  4. 58
    Their ambitions may get the best of them on Here and Now, an album that finds frontman Chad Kroeger volunteering to "kick a hole in the sky."
  5. Nov 22, 2011
    50
    Even as Here And Now inspires massive eye-rolls, the nefariously catchy songs stick like stepped-in dog crap.
  6. 40
    Here And Now might prove to be a step above the last effort, but likewise a step high enough to hang its creators on a barn rafter.
  7. Nov 22, 2011
    40
    The fist-pumping earnestness of the Bon Jovian "Spaceship" is less objectionable and far more bland. Say this about Nickelback: It knows what works.
  8. Nov 17, 2011
    40
    Here And Now reinforces all the reasons so many people hate Nickelback, but those are exactly the same things that make fans pump their fists in the air.
  9. Kerrang!
    Dec 12, 2011
    20
    This Means War and Bottoms Up are such generic rock "anthems" that they could have been releases in any decade since the '80s. The lyrics, meanwhile, seem to date from the '70s, possibly the 1870s. [3 Dec 2011, p.51]
User Score
4.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 116 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 116
  2. Negative: 53 out of 116
  1. Nov 23, 2011
    4
    A typical Nickelback album in many ways: semi-catchy melodies, crunching guitars, and the familiar growl of Chad Kroeger following "MidnightA typical Nickelback album in many ways: semi-catchy melodies, crunching guitars, and the familiar growl of Chad Kroeger following "Midnight Queen" (about a girl he'd like to offer a 'sucker' to) a few tracks later with "Trying Not To Love You". Sure, Chad, whatever you say. The incongruous tone to the album is among its amusing qualities.

    It's basically channeling Dark Horse and the last few albums they've made, and the truth is, they know how to make this type of music, and it sells. There are worse bands out there, even if the thought of this band making 4-5 more albums as the years go along doesn't exactly fill me with anticipation. Standouts (in this case meaning less mediocre than the rest of the album): This Means War, Lullaby and When We Stand Together.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 23, 2011
    1
    I'm getting really tired of this. Here we go again: formulaic, uninspired, meat and potatoes, playing it safe, repetitive, songs are eitherI'm getting really tired of this. Here we go again: formulaic, uninspired, meat and potatoes, playing it safe, repetitive, songs are either about sex, drugs, alcohol, parties, sex, drugs or sex. I'm getting tired of writing and or saying the same thing when I review a Nickelback album. Come on guys, if you're going to make **** music, then at least give me something else I can say about it? Full Review »
  3. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    another awesome album...nice follow-up to darkhorse...I'm almost certain that this album will get hate just because it's made by Nickelback...another awesome album...nice follow-up to darkhorse...I'm almost certain that this album will get hate just because it's made by Nickelback... Which is completely unfair. With hits such as "Don't ever let it end" and "Trying not to love you", Here and Now is possibly one of the best albums released by the band. It sticks largely to the usual formula, but there are a few moments where they try something new - and it pays off. Definitely worth a buy. Full Review »