• Record Label: American
  • Release Date: Jul 25, 2006
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. REAPER
    Aug 6, 2006
    1
    The only reason I did not give this a zero is because it's Tom Petty, but his voice is gone south, his creativity is gone south, and this album is nothing more than an attempt to get money. Come on, 12 years since his last album... whatever! I don't like giving bad reviews or sounding negative but this is absolutely awful!
  2. Jennifer61
    Sep 30, 2006
    9
    Love my Petty! True Gainesville Green!
  3. AndyW
    Oct 23, 2006
    8
    Using similar riffs and harmonies, this CD sounds like the "Full-Moon fever" and "Wildflowers" efforts. Almost too much so..still enjoyable nonetheless.
  4. Rev.Rikard
    Aug 5, 2006
    10
    The album opens with the lyric, "it is hard to say who we are these days." In perhaps the best rock album of the year it is evident Petty knows who he is as an artist and as a man. He sounds comfortable in his own skin. This is, for me, his most existential album as he finds meaning in all facets of life. "Saving Grace" and "Going South" are prime revelations of Petty's perception of The album opens with the lyric, "it is hard to say who we are these days." In perhaps the best rock album of the year it is evident Petty knows who he is as an artist and as a man. He sounds comfortable in his own skin. This is, for me, his most existential album as he finds meaning in all facets of life. "Saving Grace" and "Going South" are prime revelations of Petty's perception of life and what is important. Though one will hear the unmistakable "Petty sound" the recording remains fresh and captivating. Petty employs many styles of music from country/folk flavored ballads to great rock pieces with memorable hooks. It is nice to hear another "boomer" aging well and conveying it in his music. Expand
  5. AlexF
    Sep 20, 2006
    8
    Only a middling effort, when compared to the rest of Petty's catalogue. That being said, that's still a lot better than most albums currently being released. Even an average Tom Petty album is something to get excited about, in my book. It also signals more of a return to fine form after the embarrassing "The Last DJ". This is "a must" for Petty fans, but for the more casual Only a middling effort, when compared to the rest of Petty's catalogue. That being said, that's still a lot better than most albums currently being released. Even an average Tom Petty album is something to get excited about, in my book. It also signals more of a return to fine form after the embarrassing "The Last DJ". This is "a must" for Petty fans, but for the more casual listener, one of his better-known earlier works will continue to suffice. Expand
  6. CarlL
    Sep 27, 2006
    9
    I'm gratified to see others noticed the "Dylanesque" connection. As a matter of fact, when I first heard Track 4 "Down South", I thought it was a Dylan song, with the same instrumental approach used by Dylan when he was backed up by Robbie Robertson and the Band (Blonde on Blonde, for example). The Traveling Wilbury influence is particularly strong in Track 7 "Big Weekend". This song I'm gratified to see others noticed the "Dylanesque" connection. As a matter of fact, when I first heard Track 4 "Down South", I thought it was a Dylan song, with the same instrumental approach used by Dylan when he was backed up by Robbie Robertson and the Band (Blonde on Blonde, for example). The Traveling Wilbury influence is particularly strong in Track 7 "Big Weekend". This song could get Lazarus out of his grave and make him start dancing. I didn't detect any Neil Young influence. While Neil Young is one of my favorite artists, he's more melancholy. This album has restored my faith in music. It's nice to hear some traditional American rock-and-roll once again. Expand
  7. jyotirmayad
    Nov 12, 2006
    8
    I have never bought a Tom petty album before but this one will have me going through his back catalogue to see what else I have been missing. A solid effort with great melodies and lyrics.
  8. DougC
    Oct 23, 2006
    7
    Spare in production. Strong in lyrical impact. The more I listened, the more I liked it.
  9. BrandonS
    Jul 25, 2006
    8
    Is it as good as WIldflowers and Full Moon Fever? No. Is it an excellent collection by one of the greatest songwriters of our time? Absolutely.
  10. CindyH
    Jul 27, 2006
    10
    The work is reminiscent of his best.
  11. NiklasY
    Jul 28, 2006
    9
    Is it as good as Full Moon Fever? Oh yes, it is better, though it "lacks" a free fallin hit. But a hit doesn't make a great record. And it is more consistent than Wildflowers. It grows on you every time you listen to it, probably one of Petty's most deep and melancholic albums.
  12. ToddW
    Sep 27, 2006
    7
    The mere fact that he's fought the law, aka the Record Industry, as well as championing the likes of genuises like Roger McGuinn, who the suits long ago forgot, for his entire career spurs me to buy anything he does. The man may not be putting out the quality songs of his early Heartbreaker years, but at least he still has something worthwhile to say. Listen up, Sheep.
  13. GuyH
    Oct 12, 2006
    6
    It is fair to say that this album is hardly groundbreaking ... but there is something undeniably appealing about Tom Petty's music. I recently purchased 5 albums along with Highway Companion - and I would definitely rate this as the weakest of the bunch. However, when it comes to choosing a soundtrack to my journey home from work each day - Petty wins almost very time! 'Nuff said.
  14. MarkD
    Oct 12, 2006
    9
    Tom was around for the best of Rock and or Rollin. Tom has allowed his music to evolve into 2006. Love this record!
  15. MattD.
    Jul 25, 2006
    10
    If not equal to his very best, it's close. Nothing really different here musically, but that's ok - good old Tom Petty music is fine with me. Lyrically, it speaks to people his age, but the lyrics can be appreciated by all.
  16. TrevorB
    Jul 25, 2006
    9
    I got this CD about two weeks ago and have got to say that it's been in pretty much constant rotation since then. The way Petty communicates the feeling of time fleeting and loss is relatable by everyone. The songs are beautiful and inspired. By far, this is the best CD so far of 2006.
  17. NateK
    Jan 27, 2009
    10
    While I rank this 4th best in Petty's catalogue, with or without the Heartbreakers, Highway Companion is a lyrical masterpiece. It's almost Dylan-calibre, but without ever being self-conscious of it; in the end, it's all Petty. The predictable Jeff Lynne production, while leaving some to be desired in musical creativity, actually works to focus our attention to the lyrics While I rank this 4th best in Petty's catalogue, with or without the Heartbreakers, Highway Companion is a lyrical masterpiece. It's almost Dylan-calibre, but without ever being self-conscious of it; in the end, it's all Petty. The predictable Jeff Lynne production, while leaving some to be desired in musical creativity, actually works to focus our attention to the lyrics in many very subtle ways (the use of electric piano on "Night Driver", the vibraphone on the waltz, "The Golden Rose"). The album's grooves unapologetically borrow from many (Dylan, Young, but especially George Harrison), but through the course of Petty's war-weary yet crisp voice--on top of his incredible round-a-bout tales of displacement, lack of closure, and coming to terms with it all--we soon realize we're not looking for anything new; we're coming home full circle. Expand
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. If [Petty]'s third solo album proves to be his last, he has delivered one of rock's most eloquent goodbyes.
  2. A surprisingly moody affair.
  3. Los Angeles Times
    75
    It's... a more writerly exercise than typical of his concise and straightforward Heartbreakers hits. [23 Jul 2006]