User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 143 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 143
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 16, 2022
    10
    Best pop release of 2022 so far. Incredible melodies, vocals and production. Stunning body of work.
  2. Sep 16, 2022
    10
    Just hold the **** girl. That’s all!
  3. Sep 16, 2022
    10
    Rina Sawayama is the pop star 2022 needs, but one must wonder whether we deserve her. As so many have already noted, Rina is quite possibly the only artist to debut in the last decade with the charisma, show(wo)manship, and unrelenting dedication to her art to justify comparisons to Lady Gaga. Where her debut, Sawayama, was experimental and wrought with fiery angst, her sophomore release,Rina Sawayama is the pop star 2022 needs, but one must wonder whether we deserve her. As so many have already noted, Rina is quite possibly the only artist to debut in the last decade with the charisma, show(wo)manship, and unrelenting dedication to her art to justify comparisons to Lady Gaga. Where her debut, Sawayama, was experimental and wrought with fiery angst, her sophomore release, Hold the Girl, presents a new Rina - introspective, fragile, yet endlessly headstrong about who she was, is, and plans to be. Each track is meticulously crafted for maximum emotional impact - ranging from the subtle nuance of “Minor Feelings” to the fractured electronica of “Frankenstein.” Prepare for a journey through the psyche of pop’s rightful next megastar. Expand
  4. Sep 16, 2022
    10
    Rina really outdid herself with this one. When you think SAWAYAMA couldn't be topped, she goes and does this. One on my favorite albums of 2022, congrats Rina, you've done it again, constantly raising the bar for us all, and doing it flawlessly. I would say that I'm surprised but i know who you are. slayage
  5. Sep 16, 2022
    10
    Lyrically, amazing. The generational trauma, the story. It tells such a story that it's not even an album, it's like a whole storybook, an emotional rollercoaster of a movie. The insane vocals, beautiful melodies, and I can't understand the lyrics, but still love it! The transitions, the whiplash! I cried during this... my expectations were high, and this album blew me away.
  6. Sep 16, 2022
    10
    Seriously one of the best projects of the year... becoming one of my fav projects of all time. An amazing piece of work!
  7. Sep 16, 2022
    10
    This album is so freaking good, It's a stunning piece of work and she is RINA SLAYWAYAMA
  8. Sep 16, 2022
    10
    'Hold The Girl' the best alternative pop album of the year, is an album that through its lyrics makes you feel, it's wonderful how rina can make a song give you goosebumps and make you cry, RINA SAWAYAMA is totally the ARTIST OF THE YEAR, I hope that one day I can be as famous as other artists because I DESERVE IT, I luv u rina, thanks xoxo
  9. Sep 16, 2022
    10
    All the sound distribution, diversity of rhythms, whether they are dancing, animated or slow with a message behind.
    Rina dedicated herself to this album and you can see meaning through the whole musical union.
    Just wonderful.
  10. Sep 16, 2022
    10
    I'm crying. That's all. I cannot express how incredible this piece of art is. She really outdid herself
  11. Sep 16, 2022
    10
    Rina plays genres like the fiddle. As she has stated in interviews, she dresses her songs in a flavour specific to that piece as a means of enhancing it’s tone or message. You’d think it would sound disjointed l but it’s beautifully threaded.
  12. Sep 16, 2022
    10
    You would think after dropping the pop bible it would take her at least 5 years to deliver another prophecy but here she is just saving lives again in just 2 years it almost feels like we’re all living in rina’s simulation and she’s just here to guide us
  13. Sep 16, 2022
    10
    Innovative and revolutionary. The way rina sawayama connects her feelings to sounds is indescribable. I identified with the lyrics from start to the finish. Congratulations Rina for this flawless record.
  14. Sep 16, 2022
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Masterpiece! RINA is the revolution. What a singer!!!
    TOTALLY UNIQUE! ❤️❤️❤️❤️
    Expand
  15. Sep 16, 2022
    10
    Rina never disappoints, this is the absolute album of the year, great music, great lyrics, amazing
  16. Sep 16, 2022
    10
    Excellent album. Rina treats topics such as self discovery, religion, family issues and queerness in a crazy way. Her best album. Couldn’t expect less from her
  17. Sep 16, 2022
    10
    IT'S THE BEST ALBUM THAT CAME OUT THIS YEAR. Thank you, Rina, for saving the year. And pop music.
  18. Sep 16, 2022
    10
    While it did not reach the excellency of her first LP entitled “SAWAYAMA”, this still hits the spot. Almost all tracks contribute to the album’s cohesiveness. Some of her best works are present in the middle of the album. To put it in short terms, she did not disappoint.
  19. Sep 16, 2022
    9
    I love this album! My favourite songs are Minor Feelings, Catch Me in The Air, Hold the Girl and Imagining
  20. Sep 17, 2022
    10
    i was shocked when SAWAYAMA came out but she surpassed herself with Hold The Girl. 0 skips, the production is amazing. a body of art
  21. Sep 19, 2022
    10
    Phenomenal album that cured my childhood trauma, thanks mother! Personally prefer HTG to Sawayama.
  22. Sep 17, 2022
    10
    This is, in my opinion, the best pop album of the year. Rina came with an album deeper and more personal than her first one (who was also excellent). Everything is perfect, her vocals, the lyrics, the production… 10/10.
  23. Sep 17, 2022
    8
    Girl... u did it once again. u saved pop music! Rina managed to release perfect albums back to back, this is something not everyone is capable of! She is extremely talented and i love the sound direction she took on this album. Even if i think some songs are just not my cup of tea, i cannot deny how good they are. Lyrics are just so beautiful, all the songs are very well made. Hold theGirl... u did it once again. u saved pop music! Rina managed to release perfect albums back to back, this is something not everyone is capable of! She is extremely talented and i love the sound direction she took on this album. Even if i think some songs are just not my cup of tea, i cannot deny how good they are. Lyrics are just so beautiful, all the songs are very well made. Hold the girl, This Hell, Imagining and Frankenstein are just some of the best pop songs i have heard lately. I can't even believe she gave us Imagining for free... This album is gonna be on repeat for weeks just like i had Sawayama on repeat for weeks back in 2020. No denying that this is one of the best albums released this year, definetely top 3! Expand
  24. Sep 16, 2022
    10
    Top tier album by my sons favourite Rina Sawayama!! We are definitely Pixels in this house!
  25. Sep 16, 2022
    10
    Rina sounds absolutely gorgeous. The album brings a freshing and refined pop with such bangers. Really good.
  26. Sep 16, 2022
    10
    the sound, the lyrics and the voice of rina is what makes this album special, without a doubt it is one of this year 2022,
  27. Sep 16, 2022
    10
    Very good album my favorite tracks are frankenstien,imagining and forgiveness overall very good vocals and production an enjoyable listen and a satisfying album
  28. Sep 16, 2022
    10
    beautiful mix of emotional songs and pop bangers. You can feel her evolution as an artist from her previous release. Really beautiful follow-up to the legendary SAWAYAMA. Rina is really underrated and deserves more fame! congrats queen continue to out do yourself❤️
  29. Sep 16, 2022
    10
    Frankenstein alone should qualify this album for a 10 out of 10. Stunning sophomore album
  30. Sep 16, 2022
    0
    Loved her last ep , it sounded so fresh and new to the ear but i thought that her next project will be something fresh as well but unfortunately she played so safely
  31. Sep 16, 2022
    3
    Rina plays it safe on her latest LP with underwhelming results. Much of the character of her debut is completely gone, replaced with weaker lyricism centered around self healing and aiming for a middling pop rock sound with none of the gusto.
  32. Sep 16, 2022
    5
    A safe bet but nonetheless satisfying. Rina doesn't seek to improve on her past magnum opus but instead to focus on grounding her sound. Less ambitious isn’t less fun.
  33. Sep 16, 2022
    0
    el mejor album del año, rina es una gran escritora con canciones como send my love to john y phantom, ademas de utilizar electropop en imagining y frankestein
  34. Sep 23, 2022
    10
    Rina guides us through the soundscape of trauma recovery. Her powerful and buttery vocals deliver emotional blows ranging from sadness, regret, anger, snark, acceptance, relief, gratitude, elation, and beyond. Once again, Rina demonstrates incredible breadth and comfort in different genres and tempos while maintaining a logical flow from one to the next. Strong thematic cohesion gives thisRina guides us through the soundscape of trauma recovery. Her powerful and buttery vocals deliver emotional blows ranging from sadness, regret, anger, snark, acceptance, relief, gratitude, elation, and beyond. Once again, Rina demonstrates incredible breadth and comfort in different genres and tempos while maintaining a logical flow from one to the next. Strong thematic cohesion gives this body of work a sense of unity and the track list never fails to deliver strong melodies and interesting production to keep your focus no matter which emotion she is commanding from us. Expand
  35. Sep 17, 2022
    10
    Cultural reset. Catchy beats with deep and meaningful lyrics. I had high hopes for Rina's second album after her iconic debut, and she didn't disappoint. SLAYWAYAMA!!!
  36. Sep 18, 2022
    10
    This girl i swear !!! Most underrated artist in our generation. What can i say . These lyrics hit so deep . Anyone that is a part of the lgbtq , can relate so much with these songs . Production as always SO GOOD . Favorites have to be Hold The Girl, Imagining, Your Age , Send my love to John , Holy( till you let me go) and To Be Alive
  37. Sep 16, 2022
    9
    Skipless album! She came back in full force more confident than ever and she delivered a self appreciation and reflection of self in a banger album of guitars, great hooks and bubbly pop at times!
  38. Sep 16, 2022
    10
    This album allows you to transcend to a different plane with the vocals, lyrics, and production. Everything. All around amazing work. No skips. You hear newer genres then you’re used to with Rina’s previous work but it still manages to stay true to her. Tears were shed. Thoughts were thought. Rina does not disappoint. She is versatile. She’s an icon. A living legend in the making. She isThis album allows you to transcend to a different plane with the vocals, lyrics, and production. Everything. All around amazing work. No skips. You hear newer genres then you’re used to with Rina’s previous work but it still manages to stay true to her. Tears were shed. Thoughts were thought. Rina does not disappoint. She is versatile. She’s an icon. A living legend in the making. She is the moment. Expand
  39. Oct 3, 2022
    8
    Hold The Girl é um album pop como já não ouvíamos há muito tempo. Com vocais perfeitos, verdade nas letras e ambição na produção, tornando-o um dos melhores albúns do ano e um dos melhores álbuns pop lançados nesta década.
  40. Sep 17, 2022
    9
    While Sawayama is wild, karmic, angrier and expansive about her family tree, Hold the girl is the therapy process with her inner child.
  41. Sep 19, 2022
    10
    RINA IS MOTHERRR!!! Album of the year! The 4-track run of Holy Til You Let Me Go - Frankenstein is immaculate. Really related to these 4 tracks. Can’t wait for the future of Rina.
  42. Sep 24, 2022
    10
    O álbum da rina sawayama hold the girl é perfeito do início ao fim cada música muito bem feita, arranjos e melodias sensacionais rina merece só nota 10 Álbum perfeito.
  43. Sep 17, 2022
    4
    A mixture of different genres and sounds, I don't get the concept of the album. A lot of songs remind me of other songs/artists, for instance Imagining looks like a direct extension of Kill V. Maim by Grimes, or Send My Love To John to Xtatic Process by Madonna... just to name a couple of them. I think Rina Sawayama has potential but I still fail to see her charisma and originality, onlyA mixture of different genres and sounds, I don't get the concept of the album. A lot of songs remind me of other songs/artists, for instance Imagining looks like a direct extension of Kill V. Maim by Grimes, or Send My Love To John to Xtatic Process by Madonna... just to name a couple of them. I think Rina Sawayama has potential but I still fail to see her charisma and originality, only shown in the title track Hold The Girl, best song in this album by far. Expand
  44. Sep 17, 2022
    9
    Being one of the best album’s of the year, “Hold the Girl” is an Pop/rock album with an incredible strong vibe of the 2000’s. SAWAYAMA's successor can't beat it, but it features an incredible production and lyrical. The songs are honest and addictive, and the album tracks are better than the singles, at least the most part of it, and they could easily be big hits if they had a goodBeing one of the best album’s of the year, “Hold the Girl” is an Pop/rock album with an incredible strong vibe of the 2000’s. SAWAYAMA's successor can't beat it, but it features an incredible production and lyrical. The songs are honest and addictive, and the album tracks are better than the singles, at least the most part of it, and they could easily be big hits if they had a good investment. Favorite tracks: Imagining, Holy (Til You Let me Go) and Frankenstein. Expand
  45. Sep 22, 2022
    9
    This album is a wild, chaotic and emotional journey to past. Rina has here a master production, wich grows leaving the listener to unexpected sounds and reflections about life. She lead us to a heal process, she touches points that I thought it were hided or forgot. She shows her past, present and her future, even her inner energy, feelings and processes. At the same time, it becomes aThis album is a wild, chaotic and emotional journey to past. Rina has here a master production, wich grows leaving the listener to unexpected sounds and reflections about life. She lead us to a heal process, she touches points that I thought it were hided or forgot. She shows her past, present and her future, even her inner energy, feelings and processes. At the same time, it becomes a double journey, cause she translate our own self. Unique artist, unique album! Versatility and talent as songwriter, Rina is the future of the industry. Expand
  46. Sep 16, 2022
    10
    Um album excelente e coeso, Rina acertou novamente e brilhou mais ainda, merece ser mais reconhecida na indústria com toda certeza do mundo.
  47. Sep 16, 2022
    10
    I love how she puts so much effort in telling her feelings in a lovely and thoughtful way, totally can relate to her
  48. Sep 16, 2022
    10
    I really love this Album , it's amazing every song is so different. Rina is a singer who deserves more recognition, her music is so transparent and full of good messages, she tells us many things about her personal life, I think that sharing that with her fans unites us more
  49. Oct 3, 2022
    10
    the album is a work of art, fresh sounds but also nostalgic. Plus, it has great lyrics!
  50. Sep 16, 2022
    10
    Best pop release of 2022 so far. Incredible melodies, vocals and production. Stunning body of work.
  51. Sep 16, 2022
    9
    Indeed a cut below her magnum opus - the flabbergasting debut album, "SAWAYAMA" - but still a masterpiece. I just love how concise is this tracklisting, it has an introduction, a development chapter and a conclusion with some kind of synthesis of all the experience in the end. She MADE it again. Yet I expect her to keep on improving and surprising us.
  52. Sep 16, 2022
    9
    Um álbum muito vulnerável, muito bem produzido, com influências de pop moderno, country, rock, entre outras.
  53. Sep 16, 2022
    10
    9.8/10
    This Hell & Hold The Girl are the best in the album.Rina wrote a great album again.I really love this album.
  54. Sep 17, 2022
    10
    Best album of the year so far. For a pop album, the greatest thing about it is the mixing of incredible catchy melodies with so profound lyrics that distance itself from the standard (and empty) romance pop industry used to write about. Rina is the popstar that this world needed.
  55. Sep 17, 2022
    10
    A spectacular album from start to finish, rina is a genius of modern pop music
  56. Sep 17, 2022
    10
    Rina … I have no words, for me the best album of the year, so far … a magic and deep experience into a world full of emotions, every song is a masterpiece!
  57. Sep 18, 2022
    10
    Current and catchy - one of the best releases this year. Frankenstein and imaginary are a standout
  58. Sep 18, 2022
    10
    Incrível!!! E de novo você entregou um trabalho coeso, tocante, dançante, reflexivo e verdadeiro. Que venham mais e mais obras primas dessa artista maravilhosa
  59. Sep 19, 2022
    10
    I find this album grow on me, for the first listening I may give a 7, but now it sounds quite different, every single is interesting and excellent, but it’s kinda tiring to listen to the whole album, the emotion is overwhelming. But it’s such an amazing body of work, thank you Rina ; )
  60. Sep 20, 2022
    8
    It's not as good as the first album, but it's good enough. Starting with this album, she became a mainstream artist.
  61. Sep 25, 2022
    9
    Rina's refined taste got us her gorgeous debut album SAWAYAMA. She then took another step in elevating her gender warping abilities to deliver an even more polished body of work, Hold The Girl cements Rina as true (alt) pop royalty. New Musical Express (NME) said it all, "the best British pop album of the year". Rina and Clarence are making it way too hard on us at this point.
    Top 3:
    Rina's refined taste got us her gorgeous debut album SAWAYAMA. She then took another step in elevating her gender warping abilities to deliver an even more polished body of work, Hold The Girl cements Rina as true (alt) pop royalty. New Musical Express (NME) said it all, "the best British pop album of the year". Rina and Clarence are making it way too hard on us at this point.
    Top 3: Forgiveness, Hold The Girl and Frankenstein.

    Critic Score: 9.4/10
    Expand
  62. Sep 29, 2022
    10
    This album is incredible. The focus on overcoming childhood trauma and healing is perfectly paired with wonderful vocals. All of the songs on this LP are powerful, but the title track and “Catch Me In The Air” are the best in my opinion. I love all of her work, but I prefer this album to SAWAYAMA.
  63. Sep 30, 2022
    10
    Rina conseguiu superar o quase insuperável "sawayama" e entrega talvez o melhor álbum de 2022. Com grandes influências do começo dos anos 2000, "Hold the Girl" é um álbum maduro com letras profundas e diversas sonoridades. Destaque para "Frankenstein", "Hurricanes", "Phantom" e "Hold the Girl"
  64. Oct 1, 2022
    10
    Refreshing, healing and meaningful pop with purpose. Rina makes an emotional comeback from her debut 2020 album Sawayama, dealing with issues ranging from gaslighting, religious trauma, guilt and self parenting.
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Sep 29, 2022
    79
    With bops and tearjerkers aplenty, Rina’s sincerity in how she confronts her past demons cannot help but warm even the iciest heart.
  2. Sep 20, 2022
    70
    It’s a respectable record with easily enough depth and conviction to hint at something thoroughly vital, but it folds so much of itself along lines too deeply creased into forms too clean-edged to bear the kind of authorial stamp its many raw qualities beg for.
  3. Sep 20, 2022
    70
    Her experiments aren’t as bold or memorable as those of her debut, and the hooks throughout Hold the Girl aren’t as immediately catchy. Nonetheless, Sawayama’s undeniably fierce willingness to gaze further inward and confront thornier topics makes the album compelling in its own right.