Hush Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third album for the New York indie-rock band was produced by Chris Zane.

Top Track

Me & Mary
Call your name and spinning while I sigh Drown my eyes at the summer sky Say goodbye to the happy times Say goodbye Fail to keep the memories on... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Mojo
    Hanna's sub-Kevin Shields guitars and Chikudate's sparkling keyboards eddy across the Blondie-esque layers. [Feb 2009, p.113]
  2. 80
    Asobi Seksu do something My Bloody Valentine can't--leave Shields behind.
  3. The dozen tracks on Hush" offer more in the way of tone and texture than they do melody and groove.
  4. Despite their gift for undeniably soothing melodies and luminescent keyboard and guitar textures, the duo’s album falls into the “grower” category, and it’s possible that less resilient listeners won’t stick around to be dazzled by its early morning shimmer.
  5. On their third release Asobi Seksu have toned down the fuzz’n’raunch of old and come over all Cocteau Twins-y and mature--not necessarily a bad thing, just quite a bit less visceral.
  6. Under The Radar
    Hush finds the band careening dangerously close to the realm of pastiche. [Winter 2009, p.69]
  7. New York dreampop combo meander a bit.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. keineheldenmehr
    Mar 1, 2009
    Very impressive album, doesn't quite surpass citrus, but still worth a listen.
  2. angelicar
    Apr 26, 2009
    This is a great album, less direct the their previous ones, more subtle and cerebral and needs of time and attention to be completely understood.