Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 14 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Sep 9, 2022
    100
    This is an astonishing debut album, one to immerse yourself in and live with for weeks, if not months – an intoxicating statement which announces one of Britain’s most exciting new bands.
  2. 100
    ‘I Love You Jennifer B’ is the product of a voracious appetite to find the gaps in between the familiar, a record emblazoned with such pristine, disorienting, unsettling originality that at first, you don’t quite know what to do with it.
  3. Sep 6, 2022
    100
    On their debut album, I Love You Jennifer B, the duo show their beating heart, without sacrificing the chaos or creativity. ... It’s a labyrinth of a pop album.
  4. Sep 26, 2022
    90
    I Love You Jennifer B is provocative and ambitious, testing attention while operating on a fine line between listenability and overkill. The way Jockstrap play with expectations keeps listeners on their toes. Trying to anticipate the next 180-degree turn or sudden zero to a hundred acceleration makes them an exciting listen.
  5. Sep 9, 2022
    90
    A successfully adventurous debut that bears countless relistens.
  6. Sep 9, 2022
    90
    I Love You Jennifer B is pop at its most baffling, but its considered arrangement keeps the album not just listenable, but thrilling, even as it dives off of various sonic cliffs into the unknown.
  7. Sep 7, 2022
    90
    ‘I Love You Jennifer B’ feels like everything that’s come before has just been a trial run. It’s bolder, more rewarding, and so much more cohesive.
  8. Sep 12, 2022
    86
    They round out the subtle complexities in the seemingly simple story of longing; a tip-toeing toybox melody reflecting the delicacy of the situation, digital glitches suggesting the distance between them, sighs that relay the inner conflict. This precision features throughout Jennifer B, and it’s thanks to these careful touches that each song connects on a deeper level, despite their structurelessness and unpredictability.
  9. Sep 8, 2022
    84
    On Jennifer B, plot twists play out like a delicious art school scandal. Just when you think these orchestra enfant terribles will stick to their notation books, Jockstrap scurry to the bridge and chuck every page into the Thames.
  10. 80
    Ellery and Skye have managed cohesion amid the cacophony. I Love You Jennifer B is a dramatic outing that combines the modern, the classical and everything else in between.
  11. Mojo
    Sep 6, 2022
    80
    While production high jinks threaten to override shapeshifting songs like Neon and Angst, the delicate balance between Ellery's lithe effectual voice and Skye's layered abstractions continues to confound expectations in singular skew-whiff fashion. [Oct 2022, p.89]
  12. 80
    It’s positively thrilling to witness a band perpetually committed to pushing boundaries and creating music unlike anything else released before it.
  13. Uncut
    Sep 6, 2022
    80
    Together they make smart but unstudied pop music, as invigoratingly weird as it is instantly winning, stuffed with gleefully incompatible styles and with a broad emotional range. [Oct 2022, p.31]
  14. Sep 22, 2022
    40
    It’s the first track that commands serious momentum, though the closer “50/50” isn’t too shabby either. ... Its novelty burns off by the halfway mark, but there’s a strong sense that here, at least, was a direction worth doubling down on. Kudos. The rest of the record is an over-calculated mess.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 2 out of 18
  1. Sep 9, 2022
    9
    One of the greatest debut albums I've listened to in a long time. The music is methodic, measured and controlled, but, at the same time, itOne of the greatest debut albums I've listened to in a long time. The music is methodic, measured and controlled, but, at the same time, it has a carefree, explosive quality. The songs never get too comfortable with their own parameters and find ways to surprise the listener with their exquisite blend of pop, electronic music and sonic experimentation, while Georgia's immaculate vocals glue all the ideas together. Overall, "I Love You Jennifer B" is an exciting record, full of promising ideas, weirdly captivating pop songs and a freshness that is as rare as it is admirable. Full Review »
  2. Sep 18, 2022
    8
    I love this album. I love the vocals, sequencing, and the slight feeling of musical chaos throughout. It’s not exactly my taste, but I canI love this album. I love the vocals, sequencing, and the slight feeling of musical chaos throughout. It’s not exactly my taste, but I can recognize good music when I hear it. Full Review »
  3. Sep 14, 2022
    10
    This is one of the most unique albums that I've heard in the last time, It's an incredible experience of different sounds and textures withThis is one of the most unique albums that I've heard in the last time, It's an incredible experience of different sounds and textures with also gorgeous vocals and a superb production, you definitely can't miss this one. Full Review »