• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
I Need a New War Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 4 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third and final part of the The Hold Steady frontman's solo trilogy of albums that began with 2015's Faith In The Future was produced by Josh Kaufman.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Apr 24, 2019
    It’s a record about moving forward, appreciating "tiny triumphs" and staying open. It may also be Finn's most timely release to date.
  2. 90
    He, producer Josh Kaufman, and the supporting musicians have added lovely flourishes along the way. This album luxuriates at times in languid, jazzy ambience, while female backing vocalists coo in response to Finn’s lead and brass coexists winningly with synths.
  3. Apr 25, 2019
    Regardless of the song or sentiment, Finn's skill for detail never wavers. In that, I Need A New War ranks among his best.
  4. Apr 26, 2019
    He’s gone as far as he can go, done all he can. He’s lost in a bursting world of endless storefronts, in an America he no longer recognizes. He hasn’t a clue what he needs, only that he needs it. Songs as easy to imbibe to as to heave a sigh to, these are fogged, fading portraits for the ages. We all need a new war.
  5. Jun 3, 2019
    What these songs capture is the darkness of life, of America, of the cities and surroundings inhabited by the characters in the songs, of the systems in place that lead to the richest country in the world being home to some if its most broken, desperate people.
  6. May 3, 2019
    There’s not necessarily any closure here as Finn brings his trilogy to an end, but there is a sense of completion. After examining these characters in different lights, from various angles, it’s as if he has done what he can to make their stories resonate. Whatever he decides to do next will indeed be the start of a whole new war.
  7. Mojo
    Apr 24, 2019
    Sitting down with this album is like listening to a friend who assumes you know all the same people they do. [May 2019, p.90]

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of