User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 360 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 360
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 2, 2015
    10
    The greatest album of the year for me! I love The xx so much, and Jamie suprise me with how perfect he can be. An artist that should be reconize for all the world, because he's so good with music, production, songwriting. I loved it and I'll love it till the end of time. ♥
  2. Jun 16, 2015
    9
    What a gorgeous debut. The tracks are all really well-crafted and everything on here stands out in a way. I even like the Young Thug track, and I really don't like any of Young Thug's own material. Must-have.
  3. Jun 3, 2015
    9
    9
    I'm just kitten. This album is pretty good. It's a 9/10 in my book. The only hindrance is Young Thug playing in one of the songs. Of all cameos....... Young Thug? Really? Could be 10/10 album, yet tainted by one choice.. If you're going to be hipster and edgy and make good tunes with rappers, bring back Nas
  4. Jun 2, 2015
    10
    I think In Colour is a modern classic & one that music lovers & discoverers will look back on in years to come - similar to how the Chemical Brothers Dig Your Own Hole has.
  5. Jun 2, 2015
    9
    Wooow, what a nostalgic and amazing album!

    First, it was strange to hear something so magnificent and brilliant, but in the second run I admitted to myself that this is an album to listen to for all my life. Jamie xx knew how to put his experience, learning and intelligence in a unique album. And that's what makes him a great producer, a large current artistic creator.
    Wooow, what a nostalgic and amazing album!

    First, it was strange to hear something so magnificent and brilliant, but in the second run I admitted to myself that this is an album to listen to for all my life.

    Jamie xx knew how to put his experience, learning and intelligence in a unique album. And that's what makes him a great producer, a large current artistic creator.

    Congratulations! An incredibly detailed album and near perfection.
    Expand
  6. Jun 2, 2015
    9
    Raw, gritty and yet somehow comforting.

    Jamie's glasses may be rose tinted, but they're convincingly scratched. He aches for the 'good old days' but he's hardly ever sentimental. A good, honest ache. A 5.30am smoking area ache.
  7. Jun 2, 2015
    10
    An outstanding album with great tracks. The album starts off with the great track "Gosh" and ends with "Girl" overall the album has good stand alone track and great feature tracks. "Album of the Year" so far. With tracks like Good Times, Seesaw, Loud Places and Strangers in a Room this album is far better than any of The xx album. This is the kind of production that I would love to see onAn outstanding album with great tracks. The album starts off with the great track "Gosh" and ends with "Girl" overall the album has good stand alone track and great feature tracks. "Album of the Year" so far. With tracks like Good Times, Seesaw, Loud Places and Strangers in a Room this album is far better than any of The xx album. This is the kind of production that I would love to see on a new The xx album. Loud Places and Strangers In A Room are great tracks that reminded me of the first The XX album. Looking forward to more Jamie xx and The xx music. Expand
  8. Jun 5, 2015
    10
    Wow, Jamie has expanded the xx universe. It's so much fun to see him work. I want to listen to this every day for a while, and wait for what he does for the next xx album.
  9. Jun 2, 2015
    9
    This is probably one of the year's best albums.

    Jamie xx's music doesn't hold back. His music packs a punch full of emotion, creativity and intelligence.

    This is the kind of refreshing album we need in a time when EDM a very tiresome and formulaic genre is taking over.

    This album is definitely up there with other albums like Burial - Untrue and Four Tet - Rounds.
  10. Oct 16, 2015
    10
    They're all fantastic songs. Even (I Know There's Gonna Be) Good Times, even though I'm not a fan of Young Thug. Obvs (see what I did there?) the best tracks are Seesaw, Loud Places and Stranger In A Room, but there actually no filler moments here. Sleep Sound is a bit silly, but I like it and you can hear Alicia Keys in the song, too. Obvs is a great song, kinda reminds me of Reunion.They're all fantastic songs. Even (I Know There's Gonna Be) Good Times, even though I'm not a fan of Young Thug. Obvs (see what I did there?) the best tracks are Seesaw, Loud Places and Stranger In A Room, but there actually no filler moments here. Sleep Sound is a bit silly, but I like it and you can hear Alicia Keys in the song, too. Obvs is a great song, kinda reminds me of Reunion. Gosh is quite fascinating, kinda like a song which would fit for an outer space theme. Overall, a flawless album from start to finish. I'm still waiting for the next xx album, though. Expand
  11. Jun 2, 2015
    9
    One of the most wide-spectrum'd album of the year. It has so many genres, so many diversified synths and beats that it fulfills the function of more than one album. It is pristine, well-scoped. It achieves so much with so little.

    Definitely the best album so far this year.
  12. Jun 2, 2015
    10
    I know there's gonna be good times when you listen this album. The greatest album of the year so far. You can feel the colours of jamie when you listen to it.
  13. Jun 8, 2015
    9
    One of the best producers in the scene right now encapsulates different types and genres of 21st century club/dance music almost perfectly. I love how his solo work differs from the xx' music (excluding the song Stranger in a Room, which really reminds me of some of the band's work). A couple tiny misses and a certain kind of riskless execution rules out the album's great chances of beingOne of the best producers in the scene right now encapsulates different types and genres of 21st century club/dance music almost perfectly. I love how his solo work differs from the xx' music (excluding the song Stranger in a Room, which really reminds me of some of the band's work). A couple tiny misses and a certain kind of riskless execution rules out the album's great chances of being a true masterpiece, which it might feel like from time to time, but it still manages to be a colourful, catchy, supernal, clever mosaic of the best electronic made in a long time. Expand
  14. Nov 21, 2015
    10
    Showing emotions does not necessitate dreary balladry. Case in point, Jamie XX's In Colours is so richly diverse and complex emotionally on all levels. Whether it is an instrumental track or a guest-vocal one, Jamie XX shows off his polished and intricate compositions and direction. When partners in crime from The XX, Romy Madley-Croft and Oliver Sim join him on tracks See-Saw andShowing emotions does not necessitate dreary balladry. Case in point, Jamie XX's In Colours is so richly diverse and complex emotionally on all levels. Whether it is an instrumental track or a guest-vocal one, Jamie XX shows off his polished and intricate compositions and direction. When partners in crime from The XX, Romy Madley-Croft and Oliver Sim join him on tracks See-Saw and Stranger in a Room respectively, magic of a different kind, apart from their main group, is sparked. The best track, Gosh, which also starts the album is simply the track of the year. The instrumental bringing you from the mid-section right to the end will be the most dazzling and emotive thing you will ever hear this year. Not even a certain mega-diva could rival that. Expand
  15. Jul 3, 2015
    10
    Best album of 2015 thus far. There are no dud's on this album. From start to finish, every vocal, sample, note, beat and even the spaces between them all has been arranged by a master craftsman. As close to a perfect album as I've ever heard.
  16. Jun 11, 2015
    8
    In Colour is just that: colorful. An enjoyable mix of electronic and pop tracks with absolutely stellar production, this record really proves that Jamie can pull off an impressive solo effort. Not every song is fantastic (Stranger in a Room), and it is a little under-ambitious, but it is overall a really great album - one of the best of 2015.
  17. Jun 22, 2015
    8
    This sometimes feels perhaps a little too cornered to the accessible area, and additionally a little too smooth a flow but still it's a beautiful listen,
  18. Sep 29, 2015
    10
    Never an electronic albums has hit me this hard in the brain. Is great, fun, challenging and most of all, expressive. I knew nothing about Jamie xx before I heard this album, and now, I'm just sitting here listening it a lot, along with The xx albums, waiting for more.
  19. Jun 4, 2015
    9
    If you like the xx, you'll definitely like this album. It's unique in its own right, but it's immediately accessible and satisfying. The beats and the production are awesome, and the music is catchy and melodic, even the purely instrumental parts. I actually think the rainbow on the cover is a pretty accurate representation of this album. The songs are pretty different from each other, butIf you like the xx, you'll definitely like this album. It's unique in its own right, but it's immediately accessible and satisfying. The beats and the production are awesome, and the music is catchy and melodic, even the purely instrumental parts. I actually think the rainbow on the cover is a pretty accurate representation of this album. The songs are pretty different from each other, but the flow is absolutely impeccable, making for a very engaging listen. The standout track in my opinion is Loud Places. Expand
  20. Jun 9, 2015
    8
    With minimal Romy and no Gil Scott in sight, the spotlight is thrust upon the London producer, and he more than delivers. Breezy and profoundly pretty, "In Colour" emerges as what it was intended to be, using minimalist melodies, percussion and atmospheres to capture the essence of relaxation and contentment. The album is cohesive, albeit takes no remarkable risks - that is until the 9thWith minimal Romy and no Gil Scott in sight, the spotlight is thrust upon the London producer, and he more than delivers. Breezy and profoundly pretty, "In Colour" emerges as what it was intended to be, using minimalist melodies, percussion and atmospheres to capture the essence of relaxation and contentment. The album is cohesive, albeit takes no remarkable risks - that is until the 9th track when the breathtaking crossover track "I Know There's Gonna Be (Good Times)" brings enigmatic rapper/singer Young Thug to the fore to create an explosion of personality. In Colour is an excellent debut, with Jamie Smith's strengths even more prevalent than they were on the xx's self-titled album. Expand
  21. Jun 2, 2015
    10
    Beautifully produced and written by the 1/3 of The xx. The house music is relaxing and the beats are just as good as you think. This album will be all over the best end of the year album lists.
  22. Jun 10, 2015
    9
    When I listened to In Colour, there was not a song I wanted to skip (besides "Loud Places", which is still a relatively good song). The album is never boring. Jamie xx here produces some of the best and most musical electronica in recent memory, from the samples of "Gosh" to the harmonious vocals of "Sleep Sound" to the steel drums of "Obvs". "I Know There's Gonna Be (Good Times)" is anWhen I listened to In Colour, there was not a song I wanted to skip (besides "Loud Places", which is still a relatively good song). The album is never boring. Jamie xx here produces some of the best and most musical electronica in recent memory, from the samples of "Gosh" to the harmonious vocals of "Sleep Sound" to the steel drums of "Obvs". "I Know There's Gonna Be (Good Times)" is an essential collaboration between Jamie, rapper Young Thug known for his often-incomprehensible lyrics and his original style, and reggae vocalist Popcaan, that is the sequel to Thug's biggest hit "Lifestyle" that is sure to be a fantastic summer song. And I do like the originality Jamie puts into his music. To be honest, I would not have expected any of the TNGHT-esque sampling of "Gosh", the Caribbean vibe of "Obvs" or the accentuated offbeats of "The Rest Is Noise". I think it was a brave move on "Stranger in a Room" to have the harmony (the synths) be higher in tone than the melody (Oliver Sim's vocals). In Colour may not be To Pimp a Butterfly, but it is certainly a must-hear for all fans of The xx or electronic music in general. Grade: A. Highlights: "Sleep Sound", "Hold Tight", "I Know There's Gonna Be (Good Times)", "Girl". Worst song: "Loud Places" Expand
  23. Jun 21, 2015
    9
    An astonishing piece of work, perfectly encapsulating the experience of being at a 90s rave. Some stunning single-worthy songs on here, including the anthemic "Loud Places" featuring bandmate Romy xx. However, Jamie's made some interesting choices - Young Thug seems so out of place on this record it's almost laughable. Feels a little like that might have been a label choice to boost USAn astonishing piece of work, perfectly encapsulating the experience of being at a 90s rave. Some stunning single-worthy songs on here, including the anthemic "Loud Places" featuring bandmate Romy xx. However, Jamie's made some interesting choices - Young Thug seems so out of place on this record it's almost laughable. Feels a little like that might have been a label choice to boost US sales. That blip notwithstanding this is a stunning debut and an excellent exhibition of what Jamie xx is capable of. Expand
  24. Jun 30, 2015
    9
    Jamie's experimentation pays off during this record.His sounds are sometimes mesmerising and rarely repetitive or dull.One of the greatest albums in a year of great albums.
  25. Jul 30, 2015
    9
    In Colour is the only album in 2015 to push the boundries of what dance music can be. This album has so many songs that can make you feel a whole spectrum of emotions. And, "Good Times" is the best song on the whole album. A great focus on production and rhythm.
  26. Sep 16, 2015
    10
    A truly fantastic album. He got it right the first time round, and got it almost perfect. You cannot even skip the songs, you want to listen to every one. One of the best albums of this century, let alone this year. An 87 is way too low!
  27. Sep 5, 2017
    10
    An album that never disappoints, from start to finish, it holds a consistent element of what music can become when it has the right elements and a magnificent production. Overall its what it can be considered as a perfect body of art.
  28. Dec 10, 2015
    9
    Simply great, not much else to say. Almost every song in this album sounds very unique and amazing. The Young Thug song is honestly the only song I didn't enjoy that much.
  29. Nov 5, 2016
    9
    9.5
    zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
  30. Jul 31, 2016
    9
    Talk about exceptions to the rule. I didn't think that an modern, sample-heavy electronic record could be this good. With such a saturated electronic genre these days, it's uplifting to hear something like this, an electronic artist who has not yet slipped into the banality of edm production companies such as Spinnin' or Monstercat. Listening to this, you catch a glimpse into theTalk about exceptions to the rule. I didn't think that an modern, sample-heavy electronic record could be this good. With such a saturated electronic genre these days, it's uplifting to hear something like this, an electronic artist who has not yet slipped into the banality of edm production companies such as Spinnin' or Monstercat. Listening to this, you catch a glimpse into the complicated strategies required for making an electronic album that is not only original but also one that has all the right samples in all the right places. Jamie xx is by far my favorite electronic artist still in the game (unless Aphex Twin counts). Expand
  31. Oct 30, 2016
    10
    The only fault I can honestly give this album is the inclusion of 'I Know There's Gonna Be (Good Times)' which sounds like a basic chart song, Thuggers lyrics are awful aswell. But the rest of this album is too good, it would feel unjust if I didn't award a 10. An absolute masterclass in electronica, you can tell Jamie has a real appreciation for the genre, doesn't overproduce, just stripsThe only fault I can honestly give this album is the inclusion of 'I Know There's Gonna Be (Good Times)' which sounds like a basic chart song, Thuggers lyrics are awful aswell. But the rest of this album is too good, it would feel unjust if I didn't award a 10. An absolute masterclass in electronica, you can tell Jamie has a real appreciation for the genre, doesn't overproduce, just strips it down and let's the beautiful melodies shine through. This isn't a club album, rather the kind you would listen to during some late night walking, has a very introspective vibe. Best album of 2015. Expand
  32. May 23, 2017
    7
    Great album with a very strong sense of style and originality. The whole record has a very nice flow throughout. The songs are both smooth and otherwordly. It's a very pleasant listening experience.
  33. Jul 8, 2016
    9
    I love Jamie xx's brand of reverb heavy EDM. It gives all of work such a unique sound. I never really got into The xx but this album is such a departure from that style. And I love the fact he brought his bandmates from The xx to sing on this album as well. Really hope he continues releasing albums in the future.

    Favs: Loud Places ft. Romy, Sleep Sounds, I Know There's Gonna Be Good
    I love Jamie xx's brand of reverb heavy EDM. It gives all of work such a unique sound. I never really got into The xx but this album is such a departure from that style. And I love the fact he brought his bandmates from The xx to sing on this album as well. Really hope he continues releasing albums in the future.

    Favs: Loud Places ft. Romy, Sleep Sounds, I Know There's Gonna Be Good Times ft. Popcaan, Young Thug, Stranger In A Room ft. Oliver Sim
    Least Favs: Gosh, The Rest Is Noise
    Expand
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Jul 14, 2015
    80
    A modern pop echo chamber, In Colour pushes the pleasure principle with ease, intelligence, grace, and a myriad of reflections that become one spectrum. RIYL: anything.
  2. Jun 25, 2015
    78
    While the tale and methods of In Colour are well-worn, Jamie XX, like Burial and Four Tet before him, proves himself a master storyteller.
  3. Jun 18, 2015
    80
    As it moves from reflective to engaging and back again, In Colour covers the entire spectrum of Jamie xx's music, delivering flashes of brilliance along the way.