User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mark
    Jun 6, 2005
    4
    I was really dissapointed in this cd because it strayed away from the punk music that Saves the Day was started on. All the songs sound exactly the same and they all have that pop sound to them, sniff, has STD lost its "punkness", they are comming out with a new cd soon and I only hope its different b/c after listening to this one, STD is nothing close to the punk band they used to be. I was really dissapointed in this cd because it strayed away from the punk music that Saves the Day was started on. All the songs sound exactly the same and they all have that pop sound to them, sniff, has STD lost its "punkness", they are comming out with a new cd soon and I only hope its different b/c after listening to this one, STD is nothing close to the punk band they used to be. Could this really be the end??? Expand
  2. Leon
    Jun 27, 2004
    6
    Yeah the musicianship is great but the songs are kinda boring and don't pack much punch.
  3. JohnnyL
    Apr 1, 2005
    5
    The lyrics and rythmns are somwhat repetitive and boring, but i would agree that the musicianship is better.
  4. DanfromJersey
    Nov 2, 2003
    1
    The first thing I thought when i bought this was "What The Hell?"..The songs all sound the same, his vocals are annoying, there is no energy behind their songs.
  5. JessicaG
    Jan 21, 2004
    10
    STD just keeps getting better. The album was definitely not what I was expecting, and that's why I've loved these guys for so long. Their music has grown a lot since "Can't Slow Down"; this album was a great progression.
  6. Andy
    Aug 16, 2006
    9
    Their best effort to date. They strip away the emo for a more pop-rock feel. The guitar work is better than ever with the use of distorted jazz chords to give it an original feel. Ironically, this seems to be the album the fans dislike the most...growing and experimenting are good things.
  7. JordanM.
    Oct 9, 2007
    9
    I personally like this album a lot, it was the first of theirs I heard and have since listened to others, but "In Reverie", different as it is from their other more popular albums is undoubtedly my favorite.
  8. WowWow
    Nov 7, 2003
    9
    First listen I was pretty much indifferent. Always a sign of a good album, as pretty much every track is a grower. It is actually fantastic album. Yay!
  9. SteveL
    Jan 5, 2004
    10
    I don't get you guys. I musta have missed where a band cannot change their sound once they release an album. I missed the rule where a band can not just change genre if they so please. This as with every other Saves the Day album is absolutely amazing. I love every song on it and the melodic composition of the whole thing is just plain masterful. It may not have the poppunk or emo I don't get you guys. I musta have missed where a band cannot change their sound once they release an album. I missed the rule where a band can not just change genre if they so please. This as with every other Saves the Day album is absolutely amazing. I love every song on it and the melodic composition of the whole thing is just plain masterful. It may not have the poppunk or emo sound of previous records but it is, and forever will be Saves the day, and in my opinion at the height of their greatness. In closing just because a band changes their sound doesn't make the new sound bad. It is sad that many close minded people will not enjoy this ablum merely because they won't give it a chance. Expand
  10. [Anonymous]
    Feb 7, 2004
    10
    A Stunning compilation of melodic chilled out emo. So many other emo bands could learn alot about how to develop a sound from this band who just keep getting better. ignore it at your own peril
  11. Gabe
    Apr 27, 2005
    10
    I'm glad to see that Saves the Day has strayed away from the usless dribble of punk. Chris' voice wouldn't be able to sustain that much pressure. The lyrics are sub-par compared to SWYA, but they are still wonderful.
  12. AdamR
    May 14, 2005
    10
    anyone who thinks the lyrics are sub-par to swya...must not be listening too well. Chris's lyrics on In Reverie are a lot more mature than the stories of girlfriends, pickup lines, and teenage angst of swya. If you listen carefully enough and delve into the songs of In Reverie, you'll see/hear that the lyrics are more about the world going on around us, and importand problems anyone who thinks the lyrics are sub-par to swya...must not be listening too well. Chris's lyrics on In Reverie are a lot more mature than the stories of girlfriends, pickup lines, and teenage angst of swya. If you listen carefully enough and delve into the songs of In Reverie, you'll see/hear that the lyrics are more about the world going on around us, and importand problems that we face. Not saying that swya is a bad CD, i thought it is great to say the least. Just leaving a comment in hopes that you will all now re-listen to the CD and find the true meanings of the songs.... ps, it's not a CD to slit your wrists to. Expand
  13. Gary
    Oct 5, 2009
    10
    This is one of my favorite albums ever, and in my opinion the best Saves the Day album. Listen to it a few times through if you don't like it at first. It will most likely grow on you. There isn't a bad song on this cd.
  14. JayW
    Oct 21, 2003
    9
    The first time I listened to this album, the only song I liked was the title track; "In Reverie", but I kept playing it, because I felt the exact same way when Stay What You Are came out. Now the album is always in my stereo. The songs are structured in a much more complex way than 99% of the other crap out there now. Every single song on this album kicks out, and the b-sides that you get The first time I listened to this album, the only song I liked was the title track; "In Reverie", but I kept playing it, because I felt the exact same way when Stay What You Are came out. Now the album is always in my stereo. The songs are structured in a much more complex way than 99% of the other crap out there now. Every single song on this album kicks out, and the b-sides that you get access to for buying the cd are just as good. For ayone who gets this, if you don't like it at first, give it some time. It's certainly worth it. Expand
  15. fineholiday
    Feb 14, 2005
    10
    Chris is a genious. Well he would be if he got vocal lessons. The voice is a bit hard to take, but overall lyrically and musically it's okay. To the emo kids out there, grow up. Saves the day did!
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. There'll be plenty of emo kids disappointed by STD's move out of the emo ghetto with In Reverie. Don't let their posturing keep you from exploring a fantastic pop record.
  2. Blender
    70
    Conley could use a few more breakups to check his sentimentality. [Oct 2003, p.126]
  3. The band's poppiest and most upbeat and musical record yet.