• Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Jun 14, 2005
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 162 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 162

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 28, 2011
    6
    While it has a number of enjoyable tracks the problem with In Your Honor is the way it's twenty tracks are arranged. Rather then having a blend of hard and soft It groups all the "loud" songs onto the same disc and the "quiet" tracks onto a separate disc. While it's an interesting idea it doesn't work so well in practice and the end result is that both discs lack any kind of flow, both endWhile it has a number of enjoyable tracks the problem with In Your Honor is the way it's twenty tracks are arranged. Rather then having a blend of hard and soft It groups all the "loud" songs onto the same disc and the "quiet" tracks onto a separate disc. While it's an interesting idea it doesn't work so well in practice and the end result is that both discs lack any kind of flow, both end up sounding the same from beginning to end. Of the two the acoustic disc fares better then the rock when listened to on it's own. About half the tracks feel unnecessary and if they had blended the best tracks from both discs we would have had a great album with a half decent b-sides release to boot. Expand
  2. j30
    Sep 28, 2011
    5
    Half of the songs are great and the other half feels filler and a bit boring. A really ambitious project and I applaud them for that.
  3. JohnN
    May 16, 2006
    4
    3 great songs on this album all on the Rock part which simply cannot justify a double album. The Acoustic album is pathetically awful and this album was meant to define their careers if you want to hear a career defining album listen to American Idiot by Green Day. This is by the numbers in comparison does not leap out at you and unfortunately it has been a long time since the Foos have 3 great songs on this album all on the Rock part which simply cannot justify a double album. The Acoustic album is pathetically awful and this album was meant to define their careers if you want to hear a career defining album listen to American Idiot by Green Day. This is by the numbers in comparison does not leap out at you and unfortunately it has been a long time since the Foos have produced that kind of music remember Everlong and Monkey Wrench its been a while since we heard anything that good. Expand
  4. AndrewG
    Jun 29, 2006
    5
    Really this album should be looked at as two seperate albums. The first disc is easily thier greatest, every song fires and really a 10/10 success. Unfortunately, the same cannot be said for the acoustic disc. None of the songs really stick in the mind for very long and, unusually for the Foos its all a bit...dull. So advice when buying this album: listen to the first disc constantly then Really this album should be looked at as two seperate albums. The first disc is easily thier greatest, every song fires and really a 10/10 success. Unfortunately, the same cannot be said for the acoustic disc. None of the songs really stick in the mind for very long and, unusually for the Foos its all a bit...dull. So advice when buying this album: listen to the first disc constantly then just...throw away the second disc and act like it never existed Expand
  5. AndrewL.
    Jun 29, 2007
    4
    I have to agree with Tom B. I like their older albums but I'm disappointed with "In your hornor".
  6. ScuzzBucket
    Jun 14, 2005
    6
    While most of the songs top everything from "One By One," it sounds like Dave is trying to hard to be epic. Please Foo Fighters: Go back to writing songs like 'Weenie Beenie' & 'For All The Cows.' We can only take so much of the personal crap. 2 STARS deducted for the copy protection b.s.
  7. TomB
    Jun 15, 2005
    4
    Whatever Dave and Co. have used to sucker millions of people into thinking that this music is anything more than bland, tuneless, boring, pointless music, I will pay gladly to get the secret. My God people, what do you see in this? Grohl is incapable of writing a song. So what, then? He's a great guy, I'll buy all his records? Bleh.
  8. sean
    Jun 15, 2005
    6
    first disc reliably good. second disc has a few good moments, but geez is that norah jones duet awful!!!
  9. [Anonymous]
    Jun 27, 2005
    4
    Bland Bland Bland, the only thing that shines is Dave's voice.
  10. TboneM
    Jun 29, 2005
    4
    Wow this is total rock schlock. The screaming is a desperate plea for relevancy. I could only force myself to listen to the first album once, thank buddha I didn't buy it.
  11. PaulH
    Jul 11, 2005
    4
    Some of the reviews say that there's a great one disc album buried in these two discs, i disagree, maybe a good ep, maybe.
  12. PatrickM
    Dec 20, 2005
    6
    Sadly, the Foos have completely plummeted ever since the release of One by One. The second CD is actually pretty good, but their rock sound, which is found on the first CD is nothing like it used to be. It completely lacks memorable songs... Dave has stuck a cheesy dragged out yelling chorus in every song which doesn't suit his voice at all. I'll just cling to the first three Sadly, the Foos have completely plummeted ever since the release of One by One. The second CD is actually pretty good, but their rock sound, which is found on the first CD is nothing like it used to be. It completely lacks memorable songs... Dave has stuck a cheesy dragged out yelling chorus in every song which doesn't suit his voice at all. I'll just cling to the first three releases and try to forget that the last two ever came out. Expand
  13. Nov 9, 2013
    6
    I thought this was a superior record to One By One, which was so boring I can't remember most of the songs. On here, tracks like "In Your Honor", "No Way Back", and "DOA" actually succeed in taking off and shaking the floor, while the new acoustic section boasts a lovely little surprise in "Miracle" which has actually become one of my favourites by this group. As with any Foos releaseI thought this was a superior record to One By One, which was so boring I can't remember most of the songs. On here, tracks like "In Your Honor", "No Way Back", and "DOA" actually succeed in taking off and shaking the floor, while the new acoustic section boasts a lovely little surprise in "Miracle" which has actually become one of my favourites by this group. As with any Foos release though, inconsistency is a major problem. A couple of the mellower tracks on the second half fall completely flat, and "Best of You" is one of the most irritating and anti-climactic big-release singles I've heard, sadly. Still, not a bad effort just could have done with some generous editing and quality control. Expand
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. The New York Times
    70
    The rock CD overpowers the acoustic one. Yet among the quieter songs, there are enough supple melodies and hypnotic guitar patterns to suggest fine prospects for a follow-through album that would dare to mix plugged-in and unplugged. [12 Jun 2005]
  2. Los Angeles Times
    88
    Loud, anthemic, joyous and bitter, it's easily the best Foo Fighters album in a decade. [12 Jun 2005]
  3. It is clean, polished rock with a vaguely punk edge that stays within a clear set of boundaries but in doing so manages to appeal to indie-kids and metal-lovers alike.