User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 100 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 100
  2. Negative: 3 out of 100

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SashoK.
    Oct 9, 2007
    10
    Its a great soundtrack album, calm and quiet except for a few songs. Eddie did this one in a week and a half. To the previous poster and to the others that dont know: Hard Sun and Society are covers, not original Eddie songs. And one more thing: all the songs on this album are performed by Ed except some help from Sleater Kinney's singer backing vocals on Hard Sun and also backing Its a great soundtrack album, calm and quiet except for a few songs. Eddie did this one in a week and a half. To the previous poster and to the others that dont know: Hard Sun and Society are covers, not original Eddie songs. And one more thing: all the songs on this album are performed by Ed except some help from Sleater Kinney's singer backing vocals on Hard Sun and also backing vocals and guitar from the original songwriter of Society. I give this album a 10 because its growing on me and it becomes better with every new listen, thats the power of Ed's melodies , which is the power of Pearl Jam also, his amazing melodies and his beautiful vocal. Expand
  2. ArasB
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    Great song....society is a phenomenal song.
  3. BJB.
    Dec 6, 2007
    10
    Both music and words are extremely evocative of the spirit, philosophy and events in one individual's life, yet they also relate to something in each of us. There are dark moments, but the music also captures the adrenalin rush of setting out, the joy of freedom and the love of nature.
  4. SteveS.
    Oct 7, 2007
    10
    Movie is awesome and the is partly to do with the soundtrack vedder and penn did awesome jobs .
  5. TopcatMe
    Oct 8, 2007
    10
    Excellent! Eerily reminiscent of early Neil Young, poignant yet powerful, mellow yet militant, and short yet symphonic! I can't get the music out of my mind and it's been a very long time since any music's moved me like that. Hope the movie is as well done as the soundtrack. Kudos Eddie - well done!
  6. KellyR.
    Oct 9, 2007
    10
    beautifully written and sung, makes one cry.
  7. JewelsR.
    Sep 20, 2007
    10
    Best album I have ever heard. Eddie Vedder is a genius.
  8. TyusG.
    Sep 20, 2007
    10
    This is a masterpiece!
  9. yoavt.
    Sep 29, 2007
    10
    Loved it. especially track # 5. it reminds me of pj's strangest tribe.
  10. HelenM.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    Listening to this beautiful music makes me feel like I'm reaching into my past. A past almost forgotten, something I've lost touch with. Eddie Vedder's voice lyrics and musica has an amazing way of transforming my spirit. I'm left greatfully reaching to find myself again. Thank you for making this beautiful music Eddie.
  11. JohnP.
    Oct 16, 2007
    10
    Awesome album- Eddie Vedder fans will love this.
  12. PH.l
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    Guaranteed!
  13. PaulM.
    Sep 20, 2007
    10
    A beautiful little album that showcases Eddie Vedder's immense singer-songwriter skills. Some reviews have graded it down because of its length and simplicity -- but after all it IS a soundtrack, and in the context of the novel/movie, simplicity is the only thing that would be appropriate here.
  14. OwenP.
    Jan 13, 2008
    10
    A very moving soundtrack to a very sad story. Eddie Vedder does an amazing job at matching the music with the movie, although the music often made the movie at times. I highly recommend this album to anyone under "the big hot sun".
  15. OlafurB.
    Feb 15, 2008
    10
    A great new side of the master.
  16. TeriW
    Jun 24, 2009
    10
    This is the most beautiful music I have heard for a very long time. What a voice, what poetry and the raw but clear, jangly music. Mesmerising. It gives me the same feeling as a long bushwalk.
  17. KellyP.
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    This album grows on you. It is too short but, I highly recommend it.
  18. BeataB.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    Hear hear Paul M. I wholeheartedly agree. The soundtrack fits the messages of the movie perfectly, one of which is the continuous internal struggle of humanity to find that perfect fit between the complexities of the modern world and the simplicity that can be provided to us for free through nature. The music is truly beautiful and thought provoking - no matter the length of the songs.
  19. IC
    Oct 29, 2007
    10
    Anything Vedder does is awesome. He is a metaphorical God who can put thoughts into song into feeling with only an ounce of energy. What he writes, sings and touches, is in my opinion- the best music I have ever heard in my lifetime. Sean Penn has a keen eyesight (and ear) for what people want to know. him asking Eddie to sing the entire soundtrack (and play most all the instruments) was Anything Vedder does is awesome. He is a metaphorical God who can put thoughts into song into feeling with only an ounce of energy. What he writes, sings and touches, is in my opinion- the best music I have ever heard in my lifetime. Sean Penn has a keen eyesight (and ear) for what people want to know. him asking Eddie to sing the entire soundtrack (and play most all the instruments) was a natural. I give this cd a huge 10. Expand
  20. MartinL.
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    Playing non-stop in my car!
  21. Ed
    Sep 21, 2007
    10
    Great work by rocks best voice. Only complaint I have is that I wish it was longer.
  22. MelanieB.
    Sep 23, 2007
    10
    Soulful, rustic, raw, poetic. He continues to amaze me with his talent and ability to translate his voice and thoughts into music that changes me at my core.
  23. Lisa
    Sep 28, 2007
    10
    The songs on this exceptional CD roll across you with emotion and are deceptively simple. Off putting at first because of their brevity, these songs are a sparkling showcase of songwriting skills unmatched in popular music. They're simply beautiful, loaded with melody, evocative lyrics and marvelously performed. I wish they were longer, but perhaps we are lucky to have them at all. The songs on this exceptional CD roll across you with emotion and are deceptively simple. Off putting at first because of their brevity, these songs are a sparkling showcase of songwriting skills unmatched in popular music. They're simply beautiful, loaded with melody, evocative lyrics and marvelously performed. I wish they were longer, but perhaps we are lucky to have them at all. This is one of the best CDs I've picked up this year and I've purchased dozens. Song like Rise and Long Nights won't leave you quickly. Society is the weakest song for it's lyrics but Eddie Vedder overcomes even that with a nuanced, almost sobbing vocal. I can't recommend this strongly enough. 11 out of 10 but the site doesn't let us. -- they need to update the scoring on the front page. This is getting rave reviews. Why aren't they listed here? Expand
  24. RichardJ.
    Apr 11, 2008
    10
    Superb-best album of '07, fits the film perfectly too.
  25. ArianaM
    Jul 16, 2008
    10
    beautiful melodies and lyrics that really transport you into the middle of a forest, far away from the hustle and bustle of the real world. it's a wonderful soundtrack to listen to while taking a walk by yourself. the only gripe i have is that some songs are too short!
  26. fredf
    Aug 19, 2008
    10
    Our generation's Dylon. Wow. Finally, pearl jam doesnt suck ass. thank you eddie, well done. well done. thought you were a douche, but no, you got a fing soul. a real soul.
  27. JanetO
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    Listen my children and you shall hear... one young mans effort to bring himself back to reality by leaving behind the one that man has struggled for thousands of years to evolve from. This album, each and every song, touches on either the emotion or the mindset of McCandless as he travels this remarkable journey. The brevity of the songs is well founded; they can best compared to Listen my children and you shall hear... one young mans effort to bring himself back to reality by leaving behind the one that man has struggled for thousands of years to evolve from. This album, each and every song, touches on either the emotion or the mindset of McCandless as he travels this remarkable journey. The brevity of the songs is well founded; they can best compared to snapshots in an all too short two year adventure. As I see it, Vedder chose very well using Hard Sun and Society as part of his narration. And the songs he wrote are a perfect fit as well. I put this cd on every day as I leave work. I am almost able to personally live this journey through theses words and melodies as I leave the city and head to my rural home. Brave Eddie. And thank you. Expand
  28. MacS.
    Nov 29, 2007
    10
    Just perfect!
  29. rond.
    Dec 15, 2007
    9
    Great solo project of Eddie Vedder. Altough short , great album.
  30. StephenM.
    Sep 22, 2007
    9
    Amazing, immersive, thought-provoking! You can feel the passion in every song, and Vedder's song-writing and singing are as keen as ever! If you love the slower side of Pearl Jam, or good folk music, you will be in heaven!
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. These songs all feel like a score, and that's not necessarily a good thing. They all seem to be of a piece, but musically there isn't enough imagination to distinguish them, to set the tension of dynamic in motion.
  2. Vedder effectively conjures the endless possibilities of the open road with sparse, never morose, tracks.
  3. Though the album is flawed (some tracks on the 33-minute disc are so brief that they never leave the ground), there is still something here that's compelling enough to stand alone, even without its real-life inspiration.