User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 28
  2. Negative: 2 out of 28

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KellyW
    Apr 29, 2005
    10
    Beautiful and delicate, yet dark and frightening. A absolute must for fans of Radiohead and Modest Mouse.
  2. AdamP.
    Sep 21, 2001
    8
    Never buy Spin magazine ever. Or Blender for that matter.
  3. wonkwonkle
    Oct 19, 2001
    9
    Meet it halfway -- you'll love it
  4. TimS
    Sep 24, 2005
    9
    i love this album more than i love my girlfriend.the lyrics are like some kind of poetry written in a forest about a hundred years ago.
  5. JohnnyComelately
    Jan 26, 2004
    9
    One of the best albums of recent years. Absolutely beautiful to listen to. It is an very mellow and somewhat dark album but it will sonically deliver, in abundance, to the willing listener. Radiohead did not personally ask Sparklehorse to be their European opening act for nothing. David Fridman's production perfectly brings out the haunting artistry of Mark L. Total ear candy.
  6. Jul 8, 2020
    9
    "It's A Wonderful Life" is one of those albums that has clung on to me since I first heard it. I'm a fan of all of the Sparklehouse material and love their unmistakable sound but on this particular record it all comes together. A blend of indie cool and aching beauty. I'd argue its one of the more beautiful records you'll hear. The arrangements and range of melodies present is staggering"It's A Wonderful Life" is one of those albums that has clung on to me since I first heard it. I'm a fan of all of the Sparklehouse material and love their unmistakable sound but on this particular record it all comes together. A blend of indie cool and aching beauty. I'd argue its one of the more beautiful records you'll hear. The arrangements and range of melodies present is staggering and it is produced to perfection. You will swing from the indie rock anthems of "Gold Day", "Piano Fire" and "King of Nails" to the melancholic heartbreak of "Sea of Teeth", "Eyepennies" and "More Yellow Birds". The only misstep for me on the whole record is the Beck type "Dog Door" which feels out of place completely. Guaranteed to make your day gold. Expand
  7. May 23, 2019
    10
    One of the greatest and saddest artists that exist and an amazing piece for the soul
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Blender
    60
    Too often, songs drift off into a fog of vague guitar atmospherics. [Aug/Sep 2001, p.130]
  2. Magnet
    90
    It's a Wonderful Life raises the bar already set high by fellow post-modern woodsmen types like Grandaddy and Mercury Rev. [#51, p.116]
  3. The most focused Sparklehorse effort yet, the album flows along with the grace of a river occasionally stirred by a rapid or two.