User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 960 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 26, 2019
    3
    Are you people ok? This is a disaster, I simply can't believe what I just heard
  2. Oct 26, 2019
    3
    The albums feels unfinished and the lyrics are so unimaginative they feel like he put the most basic religious terminology in a bag and started doing madlibs. There seem to be no interesting ruminations on faith and it seems pretty shallow. Selah, is decent And has some epic production but so many other tracks fail to say anything profound that the album feels waaaay below his usualThe albums feels unfinished and the lyrics are so unimaginative they feel like he put the most basic religious terminology in a bag and started doing madlibs. There seem to be no interesting ruminations on faith and it seems pretty shallow. Selah, is decent And has some epic production but so many other tracks fail to say anything profound that the album feels waaaay below his usual standard. Feels weird to see the iconoclastic contrarian rebel that kanye is become so tame and mainstream. Disappointment all round. Expand
  3. Oct 25, 2019
    0
    The best thing I can say is that it's short. Pretentious, boring -- and Kanye singing, which is always horrendous. Kanye is the worst kind of born-again-type -- boorish and self-absorbed - and now he want's everyone to believe what he does, because, you know, he's the greatest.
    Rubbish
  4. Oct 26, 2019
    3
    Really bad album. It's not just the theme, it's bad executed..
    Only thing that's keeping it from 0 is some beats like selah and on god.
    Wasted beats on that album, I never thought I'd say this for a kanye album.
  5. Oct 26, 2019
    3
    Awful album. Not Kanye standards. He could ave done a gospel masterpiece but failed badly!
  6. Oct 26, 2019
    3
    The Kanye we love has left the building. This felt entire album felt like false sentiment, making religion seem like a fad.
  7. Oct 25, 2019
    0
    this album sounds like a really bad joke. The fact that this album is about god doesn't justify the lackluster lyrics and production. I loved every kanye album but this one is a hot mess.
  8. Oct 25, 2019
    3
    This is so boring ....Nothing special. Music for churches. Where are the MBDTF days?
  9. Oct 25, 2019
    2
    I gave Ye a pass because the production was amazing, but this album is just bad through and through. I'm not sure how anyone is into this and the only redeeming quality is the Clipse feature.
  10. Oct 26, 2019
    3
    So on the nose lyrics it's unbelievable. Some beats are OK but a handful of songs are unbelievably bad (closed on Sundays is mind numbing)
  11. Oct 26, 2019
    0
    Absolute garbage, the fact that this man is still making music is an embarrassment not only to himself but to music as a whole.
  12. Oct 25, 2019
    0
    Jesus is King is a terrible album from a total loser aka kim's husband
    all trash
  13. Oct 26, 2019
    0
    O pior álbum da carreira dele. Espera bem mais mas pelo jeito ele morreu depois da briga com a Taylor Swift...
  14. Oct 26, 2019
    3
    Trump? Jesus? Trump? Jesus? Ye? Jesus? Jesus! JESUS!! GOD! Trump? YE! HESUS! JEEEESUSSSS!!
  15. Oct 26, 2019
    3
    Religion has always been an interesting part of Kanye's work, the devout moments of "Ultralight Beam" and "Jesus Walks" contrast with the extreme self-worship of "I am a God" (and much else in his discography). This tension between Kanye's beliefs and actions was the driving force behind his most important record - MBDTF. So a record that explores the lighter side of his beliefs hasReligion has always been an interesting part of Kanye's work, the devout moments of "Ultralight Beam" and "Jesus Walks" contrast with the extreme self-worship of "I am a God" (and much else in his discography). This tension between Kanye's beliefs and actions was the driving force behind his most important record - MBDTF. So a record that explores the lighter side of his beliefs has promise, for example in shedding light on how Kanye uses his faith to battle the demons that he showed on ""I Thought About Killing You".

    There are moments here where these themes are explored - Kanye fighting with his dad on "Follow God", feelings of hypocrisy on "Hands On". Unfortunately though, the bulk of the record is spent in full megachurch preaching mode, which quickly feels repetitive and empty. I imagine this style of unbalanced worship quickly frustrates intelligent believers too, who carry their faith with full understanding of the doubt and difficulty that it comes with. Really this is a form of christianity suited for uncritical capitalists, amusingly confirmed when Kanye bemoans his tax bill and claims that the sky-high prices of his clothing lines are to stop his family from "starving".

    Even the most preachy form of Christianity could have been carried with an original hip-hop infused take on gospel instrumentals though, and Kanye has form in this area. There are somewhat successful moments - Follow God uses a gospel sample effectively, but seriously, compare this to the detail and dynamism on "Father Stretch My Hands Pt. 1", and it pales in comparison. This feeling is consistent throughout the record, most of the beats are very simplistic, with one or two elements that have no exciting interplay. This explains why the tracks are so short, there simply aren't many musical ideas here. Sometimes the instrumentation is able to carry the track for its runtime, but this is often not true. At its worst, we have the execrable "Water" which is based on a meandering bass tone that feels like a preset from a cheap synthesiser.

    Overall, the album fails both lyrically and musically. Evangelical christians can probably find something to like, but secular listeners praising this are surely grading on an "it's kanye" curve. Seriously even go back to the uneven Life of Pablo and you'll immediately hear the difference.
    Expand
  16. Oct 27, 2019
    0
    horrivel, nem a anitta com meningite teria a capacidade de produzir tanto lixo sonoro
  17. Oct 25, 2019
    3
    Sonically dull, lyrically uninspired, and completely un-Kanye-like. Eleven songs and not a catchy hook in the bunch.
  18. Oct 26, 2019
    0
    Totally bad album, lack of cohesion and lack of articulation left the album Totally "poor".
  19. Oct 25, 2019
    0
    Most confusing album ever......
    Wonder who’s still into him at this time...
  20. Oct 25, 2019
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Horrível, Jesus não gosta disso, e nunca gostara, tire jesus das suas bocas, jesus não apoia quem apóia a escravidão, o machismo e o racismo. Expand
  21. Oct 25, 2019
    0
    This is so bad and I mean bad as in terrible. Not sure if he's ordering a fast food meal with that, "You my Chick-fil-A / You’re my number one / With the lemonade." Lol! Or how about "Everybody wanted Yandhi / Then Jesus Christ did the laundry." I kid you not. Then there's this, "That’s why I charge the prices that I charge / I can’t be out here Dancing With the Stars." I listened to thisThis is so bad and I mean bad as in terrible. Not sure if he's ordering a fast food meal with that, "You my Chick-fil-A / You’re my number one / With the lemonade." Lol! Or how about "Everybody wanted Yandhi / Then Jesus Christ did the laundry." I kid you not. Then there's this, "That’s why I charge the prices that I charge / I can’t be out here Dancing With the Stars." I listened to this on you tube for free and I am so glad I did because I can't imagine anyone paying actual money for this self masturbatory crock of hoo ha. I didn't expect any better from someone that would name their child psalm. So there you go. Hard core religious fanatics and sycophants will no doubt give me the thumbs down but this honest review is worth it. I do not recommend this album. Expand
  22. Oct 26, 2019
    0
    Honestly, I was expecting more from Kanye. It's bland, doesn't contain any new elements, and his over confidence ruins it all. "I never trust a narcissist, but they love me".
  23. Oct 26, 2019
    0
    Hard to stomach someone so full of himself spouting a Christian message. Gratitude. Humility. Justice. Care for others. These are hallmarks of Christianity. They are also values Kanye doesn’t live and I would guess knows nothing about.
  24. Oct 26, 2019
    0
    This album is the second worst thing to happen to jesus, I can't even believe in this ****
  25. Oct 26, 2019
    0
    Kanye West hasn't delivered a good album in years. He has become the musical equivalent of these art galleries that put up toilets for exposition and if you criticize it, they'll say you didn't understand the genius behind such art as that toilet.
  26. Oct 26, 2019
    0
    I don't know what disturbs me more, the fact that Kanye West is turning to religion to earn money, or the fact that the horrible lyrics, the autotune and boring beats are merged together in this album to create barely-2-minute songs that sound like a teenager talking about religion for the first time.
  27. Oct 25, 2019
    1
    Maybe Kanye should go back on his Bipolar medication because this feels like an entirely different and far worse Kanye speaking throughout this album, even far worse than the disappointing Ye. The lyricism is poorer than prior albums, the beats and vocals are paltry and weak with Kanye’s vocals sounding truly terrible at points. Even when looking at this album from a gospel perspective,Maybe Kanye should go back on his Bipolar medication because this feels like an entirely different and far worse Kanye speaking throughout this album, even far worse than the disappointing Ye. The lyricism is poorer than prior albums, the beats and vocals are paltry and weak with Kanye’s vocals sounding truly terrible at points. Even when looking at this album from a gospel perspective, it’s pretty meh. But as a rap album and a Kanye album, this is bar-none his worst content yet. Expand
  28. Oct 28, 2019
    0
    The album Jesus is king is so annoying, repetitive and boring. As músicas são clichês e previsíveis
  29. Oct 28, 2019
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I wish I didn’t waste my time listening to this. Gross, bad, my ears are bleeding. Expand
  30. Oct 27, 2019
    3
    This album is insulting to Jesus and I'm not even religious. While the album is poor in its own right, it's especially poor when taken in the context of the leaks leading up to this album, all of which were better than just about any song on the final product.
  31. Oct 28, 2019
    0
    Sem identidade, músicas péssimas, uma pessoa que não segue valores cristãos, usando religião.Espero que um dia faça algo que realmente transparece o que você é.
  32. Oct 28, 2019
    0
    An unfunded and cliche album. Kanye did best, but just in the 2000s. This sounds like a joke.
  33. Oct 28, 2019
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Álbum sem graça é muito curto.. aliás as músicas não fazem o menor sentido Expand
  34. Oct 28, 2019
    3
    Starts of pretty ok, but just gets more and more boring after that. Someone who is christian might enjoy it more than I do, but for me there is very little to enjoy about it.
  35. Oct 28, 2019
    0
    poderia citar uns vinte sinônimos da palavra "ruim" para me referir a esse álbum
  36. Oct 28, 2019
    0
    It just isn’t a good album. Messy, and the best parts are the parts without Kanye
  37. Oct 28, 2019
    0
    EsunamierdaEsunamierdaEsunamierdaEsunamierdaEsunamierdaEsunamierdaEsunamierdaEsunamierdaEsunamierdaEsunamierdaEsunamierdaEsunamierda
  38. Oct 28, 2019
    1
    This is so sad. He has really gone off the rails. This is by far the worst album he has ever produced/made. Sounds more like a Sunday morning in church than a rap album
  39. Oct 28, 2019
    0
    Kanye's new album is devoid of emotion and talent. It lacks in every category from the lyrics "You're like Chick-fil-a on a Sunday." to the basic music compositions that have been heard before. Skip it, mute it, listen to something else.
  40. Oct 29, 2019
    0
    West's Jesus is King is very boring album and his worst album also one of the worst album this year so far.
  41. Oct 31, 2019
    3
    Jesus is King is a mediocre Kanye Album. His weak rhymes and mediocre production ruin a would be decent album.
  42. muz
    Nov 1, 2019
    1
    Once a great music artist, now devoid of any artistic talent, the greatest BS artist of all time serves up this drivel, running under 30 minutes and calls it an album. Bye Kanye. Sad.
  43. Oct 28, 2019
    2
    Sad that it's the music of XXI century. Spare the time and listen to some good 70's bands instead
  44. Oct 26, 2019
    3
    By far Ye's worst offering, not fit for a King, the best thing I can say is it's short!
  45. Oct 25, 2019
    1
    A new low-point for Ye. Hyper-religiosity is a common attribute of mental illness, and I cannot fault him for his sincere beliefs. However, the rhymes are weak and childlike.
  46. Oct 25, 2019
    2
    Man oh man, what a let down. The 11 track, 27 min album was a big disappointment. In my opinion, the best track on there is "Everything We Need." Though that is my favorite track, I still have issues with it. One being the fact that its less than 2 min long. That song had full potential of being a banger but it just ended way too fast. I know a lot of yall were wanting another MBDTF; this isnt it.
  47. Oct 26, 2019
    0
    Kanye is trying too hard to sound original in "Jesus Is King", but the truth is: the album is completely boring, the tracks feels unfinished, his singing voice it's just ridiculous, i think he should keep selling his ugly shoes, he's not good at making music anymore, nothing impressive, nothing new, nothing special.
  48. Oct 27, 2019
    0
    Total rubbish, honestly is the worst thing I have heard this year. Go stream selenas music if u want something decent
  49. Nov 1, 2019
    1
    I'm not a hater. In fact, I think Kanye has released some of the fantastic albums of the century. 808s and MBDTF are classics in my book! However, this is tragic. The lyric about chick-fil-a is absolutely abhorrent, and the only real highlight here is Kenny G's solo. Also, why is it 27 minutes long? It feels rather lazy at that length.
    I don't know what Kanye was thinking here, but it's
    I'm not a hater. In fact, I think Kanye has released some of the fantastic albums of the century. 808s and MBDTF are classics in my book! However, this is tragic. The lyric about chick-fil-a is absolutely abhorrent, and the only real highlight here is Kenny G's solo. Also, why is it 27 minutes long? It feels rather lazy at that length.
    I don't know what Kanye was thinking here, but it's clear that he's thought harder at earlier stages of his career...
    Expand
  50. Oct 28, 2019
    0
    The world moves on, another day, another drama, but not for me, not for me, all I think about is karma. And the world moves on but one things for sure, maybe I got mine but you'll all gets yours
  51. Oct 28, 2019
    0
    A piece of trash, useless and extremely boring and totally not necessary...
  52. Oct 27, 2019
    2
    Two tracks on album is about to be good.
    “Follow god” & “on god”.
    Others are meanless and experimental hollow.
    Really, really, TOTALLY wasted release!
  53. Oct 29, 2019
    1
    Después de todo el marketing y los retrasos que ha tendio esto es lo que hay, lo siento, no es para mi
  54. Oct 26, 2019
    3
    Bad flow weak bars bad mixing messy thematic continuance... weakest Kanye album ever and I'm nervous to see where he goes from here
  55. Oct 26, 2019
    1
    Completely garbage. This album is so far the worst album of all time. Kanye tried to get a buzz saying that he ws the greatest artist of all time but all that showed here was a desperate try that of course failed in matter of minutes . There are at least ONE song that everyone's ear don't bleed while it listens to it. Bad, too bqd. Kanye, you promised us yhe best lbum ever, where is it?
  56. Oct 26, 2019
    0
    the whole album is trash, why he still making music? it's embarrassment to music industry, he nothing but a narcissist man with trash idea mind
  57. Oct 26, 2019
    0
    Kanye is not a rapper anymore, he’s just back to being a producer, this album is by far his worst project. I miss the old Kanye, straight out the go Kanye, chop up the soul Kanye, I really really really hate the new Kanye
  58. Oct 25, 2019
    0
    A sonic experience like no other, even if you aren't the religious type. Very comparable sonically to 808s and Yeezus, with a blend of new themes brought forward by Kanye. Although current reception is mixed, I believe this album marks a new and welcomed shift in his discography, not necessarily in a permanently religious way but instead in a more authentic portrayal of voicing his innerA sonic experience like no other, even if you aren't the religious type. Very comparable sonically to 808s and Yeezus, with a blend of new themes brought forward by Kanye. Although current reception is mixed, I believe this album marks a new and welcomed shift in his discography, not necessarily in a permanently religious way but instead in a more authentic portrayal of voicing his inner ideas in a direct way. I applaud the fact that he took this risk.

    My favorite song off the album so far is Hands On, due to the immense soundscape produced on the track.
    Expand
  59. Oct 26, 2019
    0
    Worst thing that happened after whatever happened to Jesusimong mama king hahaha
  60. Oct 26, 2019
    0
    ariana grande rainha do pop kanye west fracasso da industria, esse album e horrivel
  61. Oct 26, 2019
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Lixooooo mds
    Ta pior que o KISSES KKKJ
    Espero que flop muito
    Lixooii humano
    Expand
  62. Oct 26, 2019
    0
    I just can’t stand this new Kanye West with this new personality who’s a Trump Republican supporter, and at the same time “Gospel”. Like Lana Del Rey said “Kanye West is dead”. I heard the album and it’s just TRASH!!! I couldn’t finish the whole album because it’s THAT BAD! Don’t waste your time. 0 rating
  63. Oct 26, 2019
    1
    Lana ended him as she should. We don't support Trump supporters, perioddddd
  64. Oct 26, 2019
    0
    nossa que album ruim, tudo ruim, produção ruim, eu nunca esperava isso do kanye eu era fã dele a 4 anos e ele ja fez tanta besteira q pensei que esse album ia vingar e impedir de eu pular do barco, mas nao ele veio com um lixo mal produzido, até meu cachorro lambendo as patas produz um som melhor, enfim, não faço mais parte da fã base, muito decepcionado com o album
  65. Oct 26, 2019
    0
    Kanye...imma let you finish...but Kanye had one of the worst albums of all time! It sounds like a bunch of unfinished demos...his career is over. It’s sad to think in the same decade he released MBDTF he released THIS MESS.
  66. Oct 26, 2019
    0
    Very dull and lacks any type of credible music. kanye west is a failure!! well like his whole career has been...
  67. Oct 26, 2019
    0
    What a mess. Not an album for Kanye fans, not an album for fans of gospel. I'm not sure why this was made.
  68. Oct 26, 2019
    1
    The album in it of itself is not revolutionary. It does not contribute to culture or art, is it redundant and a step back for Kanye.
  69. Oct 26, 2019
    0
    wtf??? Even my lil' brother crying sounds better than kanye singing, i'm totally terrified by his voice, this is completely awful
  70. Oct 26, 2019
    0
    horrível meu pai kkkkkkk chega a ser profano, jesus deve estar com vergonha desse troço
  71. Oct 26, 2019
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. a própria radiação de Chernobyl.
    álbum horrível, de longe o pior do ano.
    lixo, lixo, lixo
    Expand
  72. Oct 26, 2019
    0
    Literally a piece of s****. Who can listen this? Pure garb@ge. Kanye is cancelled.
  73. Oct 31, 2019
    0
    Worst thing ever released! What a piece of crap and painful stuff to listen to
  74. Oct 30, 2019
    0
    Oh man what self indulgent **** this is. It's so terrible I thought I downloaded a spoof version.... Nope.
  75. Oct 29, 2019
    0
    Can you say trash music?
    Everybody:...
    Flopanye North: JESUS IS KING!!!!!!!!!
  76. Nov 1, 2019
    0
    Very bad. Lyrics are very weak and not good. As kanye is bad person the album is also showing the effect even also by inserting name of god the album can not be saved
  77. Oct 29, 2019
    0
    This album is the worst thing Kanye has ever produced, it's corny, incoherent, and feels rushed even though it was delayed for a year. The real slap in the face was that I had avoided listening to any leaks until after I listened to the album. I just don't get how Kanye could have listened to yandhi and decided to scrap it for this steaming pile of sh*t of an album.
  78. Oct 29, 2019
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Shameless, egocentrism, superficial, bored. Kanye uses your mouth to produces the worst quality of song, without sense, tragegory, Expand
  79. Oct 29, 2019
    0
    Look in my eyes, what do you see?

    I exploit you, still you love me.
    I tell you one and one makes Ye.
  80. Oct 26, 2019
    1
    The music isn’t all completely terrible, but the new Kanye is awful. I just don’t buy this whole Christian act. And this whole Trump supporter act? It’s awful. At times the music on here is decent, but the lyrics tend to be cringy and feels more like they should be sung at bible camp by a bunch of Trump supporters. And I guess that’s ultimately what it is, music for Trump supporters. I’veThe music isn’t all completely terrible, but the new Kanye is awful. I just don’t buy this whole Christian act. And this whole Trump supporter act? It’s awful. At times the music on here is decent, but the lyrics tend to be cringy and feels more like they should be sung at bible camp by a bunch of Trump supporters. And I guess that’s ultimately what it is, music for Trump supporters. I’ve already seen a ton of people who had dissed him in the past or never listened to him in the first place who are now supporting him due to this album, and I’m not buying it. Can’t believe he kept us waiting for this trash. Expand
  81. Oct 26, 2019
    0
    That was one of my WORST experiences EVER. He's been falling since The Life Of Pablo, **** tracks, **** lyrics, **** production, Kanye is not a thing anymore, this man is claiming for help, he's just an crack head
  82. Oct 27, 2019
    0
    This should’ve been released for April Fools rather than Halloween. Once upon a time, Kanye West was a legitimate, respected rapper who said basic truths like, “George W Bush doesn’t care about black people.” His first huge hit was condemning a gold digger who only wants black men with fame and fortune. Fast forward to 2019, and as the only celebrity of color to endorse an openly racistThis should’ve been released for April Fools rather than Halloween. Once upon a time, Kanye West was a legitimate, respected rapper who said basic truths like, “George W Bush doesn’t care about black people.” His first huge hit was condemning a gold digger who only wants black men with fame and fortune. Fast forward to 2019, and as the only celebrity of color to endorse an openly racist POTUS, and following his marriage to an amateur porn star who continually upgraded from one black athlete/celebrity to another until reaching peak levels of fame in Kanye, the state of his life is so absurd now as to be a tragedy. And most significantly, the music is utter garbage. The lyrics about chick-fil-a, in particular, will genuinely make you ask if this is a joke or an actual record. Unfortunately, absolutely no one is laughing, and that includes the utterly joyless Kanye himself. Expand
  83. Oct 29, 2019
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Literally What the hell is this...
    Just bad. I can't understand how a 27 minutes album feels so long...
    Expand
  84. Oct 30, 2019
    0
    Tragic, mejor artista? Mejor egocentrico, de los peores discos que he escuchado, deja tu ego un tiempo y vuelve ha mejorar tu música porque este cd no vale la pena
  85. Oct 26, 2019
    0
    Meu deus que álbum ruim kkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk nem a p-rca da ariana conseguiu fazer algo tão sem identidade e sem proposta como o kanye, ele tentou se destacar pegando essa fórmula de rap mesclado com gospel e saiu ruim desse jeito, que decadência pra quem tem um My Beaultiful Dark Twisted Fantasy na discografia, volte a vender sapatos kanye, vc não serve mais pra música
  86. Oct 27, 2019
    0
    It’s a new way of his music. rap and religion. i particularly don’t enjoy this.
  87. Oct 26, 2019
    3
    Jesus is King is definitely Kanyes worst full length album. The beats that aren't generic are generally bad, the flows are basic, the lyrics are bad, and the message comes off as too preachy.
  88. Oct 27, 2019
    0
    Álbum péssimo, letras fracas, instrumental entediante, Kanye l1x0 humano. Poderia fazer coisa melhor, até meu filho de 10 meses faz barulho melhor com as panelas.
  89. Oct 29, 2019
    0
    this is horrible, i can't believe kanye had the courage to release this complete mess. a terrible message with a terrible production with lyrics that are even worst.
  90. Oct 26, 2019
    0
    Such a disappointment. Really underwhelmed after waiting this long. Feel like he’s strayed too far from what made him great. I really doubt I’ll come back to this album like I do to the rest of his discography. Total misstep
  91. Oct 26, 2019
    0
    Yikes. Such trash. So overrated. I am unsure why he ever thought he was good and just continues to spiral.
  92. Oct 26, 2019
    0
    horrible album. his worst yet. can’t believe he’s gone this downhill since 2009...
  93. Oct 26, 2019
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This album is terrible... definitely his worst one yet i could barely sit through some of the songs.. Expand
  94. Oct 26, 2019
    0
    God would not approve of this , this is a false god hunty. Stream lover so that god can forgive you for giving us this trash
  95. Oct 26, 2019
    0
    really disappointed with this album. there's no good part of this album and i'm just shocked that kanye put this trash out
  96. Oct 26, 2019
    0
    Almost one year to wait for this piece of garbage, sorry not sorry Kanye
  97. Oct 26, 2019
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Pathetic, ewww, production is poor, sounds so dull, the unknown person who is singing sounds terrible
    Dont listen to him
    Expand
  98. Oct 26, 2019
    0
    Horrible album
    Kanye always thoights that he has the best, but app not....
    This just shows
  99. Oct 27, 2019
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It sucks, the most narcissistic thing I've ever seen.... it sucks don't listen to this Expand
  100. Oct 27, 2019
    0
    Horrible... The way this album was written and named feels like he was Christian is whole life but the way it's presented feels like he just joined the faith yesterday.
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 23
  2. Negative: 3 out of 23
  1. Nov 12, 2019
    50
    As with every Kanye album, there’s some magnificent production on a majority of “Jesus Is King” courtesy of Pi’erre Bourne, Timbaland and Boogz, among others. ... Kanye just seems like he’s in his own world; disregarding what’s going on around him. Other times, Ye’s writing delves into eyerolling contradictions and ego-driven intentions.
  2. Nov 12, 2019
    50
    The only saving grace, pun possibly intended, is God Is, where West's voice genuinely cracks as he calls the Lord over a soulful sample. As you might imagine, the production overall is expectedly top-notch. But that's the slight upside to an otherwise tepid attempt at finding commonality with his devout followers—except that we never wanted West to come across as ordinary as the rest of us.
  3. Oct 31, 2019
    70
    Despite the occasional lyrical misstep, Jesus Is King is a wonder of production, housing some of West's most focused and inspired work since 2013's Yeezus.