User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 951 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 1, 2019
    6
    JESUS IS KING by Kanye West

    Every Hour: 1 Selah: 1 Follow God: 0.5 Closed On Sunday: 0.25 On God: 0.5 Everything We Need: 0 Water: 0.5 God Is: 0.75 Hands On: 0.5 Use This Gospel: 0.75 Jesus Is Lord: 1 6.75/11 ~ 6/10 I know this review is in the yellow territory, but I count this as a good review. Yes, it’s not quite a fantastic album, but it is an enormous step forward
    JESUS IS KING by Kanye West

    Every Hour: 1
    Selah: 1
    Follow God: 0.5
    Closed On Sunday: 0.25
    On God: 0.5
    Everything We Need: 0
    Water: 0.5
    God Is: 0.75
    Hands On: 0.5
    Use This Gospel: 0.75
    Jesus Is Lord: 1

    6.75/11 ~ 6/10

    I know this review is in the yellow territory, but I count this as a good review. Yes, it’s not quite a fantastic album, but it is an enormous step forward from ye. I am impressed that Kanye West came out with this album, that must’ve not been easy to create something so different than what he has created in the past. I really like the message that this album gives its listeners, and hopefully it has influenced others to follow in the footsteps of West. That being said, JESUS IS KING is still plagued by generic drum machines and random noises here and there, though the explicit content is gone, thankfully. Plus, I’m not sure if the purpose of Closed On Sunday was to get me to laugh, but if so it succeeded. I hope that Kanye continues on this path, because if so, we can expect some amazing albums soon. Chick Fil-a! Highlights (there actually are some this time!): Every Hour, Selah, and Jesus Is Lord.
    Expand
  2. Oct 29, 2019
    6
    Sort of like it. Mix got better after one day so it's kind of cheating. Selah and Use Gospel are the best, Water is bad.
  3. Oct 28, 2019
    4
    While a small departure I’m impressed and this is coming from someone who doesn’t consider themselves religious. In enjoyed it more due to the fact that it shows his journey to what he sees is his path to follow.
  4. Nov 1, 2019
    5
    In Jesus Is King, production and beats are great as always, but lyrics are superficial, shallow, clichés, predictable, totally forced out and vocal melodies are weak
  5. Oct 31, 2019
    5
    Kanye returns from the seminal ye with a disappointing follow up. Just as disjointed as ye but minus the honesty, emotional effect and charm, Jesus Is King is an uninteresting, messy and annoyingly preachy christian hip hop project that serves as not much more than a novelty in the Kanye West discography
  6. Oct 29, 2019
    5
    "Eh" is how I'd describe this. I really wasn't impressed with much on here. I liked Selah, I thought Use This Gospel was great, loved that track. God Is and Follow God were pretty aight imo, I enjoyed Water too. But other than that I really didn't get much out of this. Not only can I not see myself revisiting this, but only about half of what was on here kept me listening. That being said,"Eh" is how I'd describe this. I really wasn't impressed with much on here. I liked Selah, I thought Use This Gospel was great, loved that track. God Is and Follow God were pretty aight imo, I enjoyed Water too. But other than that I really didn't get much out of this. Not only can I not see myself revisiting this, but only about half of what was on here kept me listening. That being said, I still anticipate the next Kanye release, but jeez this was a let down. Expand
  7. Oct 28, 2019
    5
    This is easily the worst Kanye album in a while. That doesn't make it awful. Its not even bad. its just ok. Its got some high points and some low points. The high points are songs like "Use This Gospel", "Everything We Need", and "On God". But, there are awful songs too. Like the uninspired "Hands On" and the stupid lyrics of "Closed on Sunday, Your my Chick-Fil-A" on the song closed onThis is easily the worst Kanye album in a while. That doesn't make it awful. Its not even bad. its just ok. Its got some high points and some low points. The high points are songs like "Use This Gospel", "Everything We Need", and "On God". But, there are awful songs too. Like the uninspired "Hands On" and the stupid lyrics of "Closed on Sunday, Your my Chick-Fil-A" on the song closed on Sunday. for every misstep on this album it comes with a positive. So that makes it a 5 out of ten. Expand
  8. Oct 30, 2019
    5
    This is a disappointment. It feels half-baked, unfinished, rushed. Still some favourable tracks, but overall the album just doesn't work
  9. Oct 28, 2019
    4
    The lyrics and vocals are annoying. Production and mixing arent finished. Thought some tracks were alright but have so much room for improvement. The entirety of Ultralight Beam is miles better than every track here combined. Jesus Walks is miles better too. I really hope this gets the TLOP treatment and gets patched
  10. Oct 30, 2019
    5
    Some of Kanye's worst tracks and by far his worst album ever. 'Every Hour' and 'Follow God' were great tracks and 'God Is' had potential, however, like many tracks here, Kanye has lost the plot. His "one-take" type delivery is poor and lacks passion. Its sad to see this record ruining Kanye's discography, cementing him in a position where there will never be another stellar record likeSome of Kanye's worst tracks and by far his worst album ever. 'Every Hour' and 'Follow God' were great tracks and 'God Is' had potential, however, like many tracks here, Kanye has lost the plot. His "one-take" type delivery is poor and lacks passion. Its sad to see this record ruining Kanye's discography, cementing him in a position where there will never be another stellar record like Yeezus or MBDTF. This is the start of Kanye's downfall (well... kinda spawned by 'Ye') and most likely nearing towards the end of his music career. As a Kanye fan, it is hard to rate this album so low but in all honesty, for a Kanye album, this album sucks. However, weighing this album against general music, it is fairly average. So... I'll be giving Mr West a 5/10 for his 9th studio record 'Jesus Is King'. Expand
  11. Oct 29, 2019
    4
    Perhaps to be expected, if still not exactly anticipated, from the increasingly hit-or-miss West, "King" is the rapper's first true misfire, shockingly inept in its presentation with all the subtlety of someone whacking you over the head with a Bible. What could've been Kanye's "Coloring Book" is instead a largely disjointed affair that feels rushed, unfinished, and overly preachy, like aPerhaps to be expected, if still not exactly anticipated, from the increasingly hit-or-miss West, "King" is the rapper's first true misfire, shockingly inept in its presentation with all the subtlety of someone whacking you over the head with a Bible. What could've been Kanye's "Coloring Book" is instead a largely disjointed affair that feels rushed, unfinished, and overly preachy, like a robot doing its best to approximate the sound of gospel but with none of the passion, soul, or joy so inherent to the genre.

    Choice Cuts: "On God", "Everything We Need (feat. Ty Dolla $ign and Ant Clemons)", "God Is"
    Expand
  12. Oct 26, 2019
    4
    Only two tracks stands out here, Selah and Follow God. The rest are such a bore to listen to. What a fall from TLOP (don't even bother about Ye). Even Follow God felt like it was ended abruptly and doesn't flow well into the next track. Maybe because I'm not American/Christian, so I don't feel what's so great about the whole gospel feel to this album. I just couldn't 'feel' the music, ifOnly two tracks stands out here, Selah and Follow God. The rest are such a bore to listen to. What a fall from TLOP (don't even bother about Ye). Even Follow God felt like it was ended abruptly and doesn't flow well into the next track. Maybe because I'm not American/Christian, so I don't feel what's so great about the whole gospel feel to this album. I just couldn't 'feel' the music, if that makes any sense. Sorry Ye but Jesus wept, then said THIS AIN'T IT. Expand
  13. Oct 25, 2019
    4
    This is pretty bad. The lyrics are really corny, the mixing is incredibly inconsistent. The mastering sounds like they ran it through a limiter and called it a day. The yandhi leaks, even incomplete, are better than this.

    Some sonically interesting ideas don't hold it together. Only thing that makes this better than The Big Day is it's mercifully short.
  14. Oct 26, 2019
    4
    Mostly Kanye praising the lord. Hoped for more introspection and how he tries to emulate Jesus. But, I guess, Kanye does not like to look inside anymore. Friendly sound, not a lot depths.
  15. Oct 25, 2019
    5
    It isn't good, that's for sure. Lyrically it's devoid of substance. Run of the mill generic gospel content and subject matter. Take it or leave it, non-essential to either Kanye fans or gospel fans.
  16. Oct 26, 2019
    6
    A letdown by Kanye. Awesome production and some great melodies ruined by bad mixing and shallow lyrics. Non of the songs really stand out mainly because most of them feel unfinished and cut short. A huge potential wasted on this one.
  17. Oct 27, 2019
    6
    It seems that Kanye has fallen further away from what used to make him great. I used to listen to every song on every record and they were all great. Granted this album may grow on me more overtime, but after one and a half listen I think its probably the worst album of his career. Now that is a high bar in my opinion, but i'm not to sure i'm able to listen to most of the songs on theIt seems that Kanye has fallen further away from what used to make him great. I used to listen to every song on every record and they were all great. Granted this album may grow on me more overtime, but after one and a half listen I think its probably the worst album of his career. Now that is a high bar in my opinion, but i'm not to sure i'm able to listen to most of the songs on the album more than once. So to me that makes it just okay. Expand
  18. Oct 25, 2019
    6
    Album is very cool stylistically and is something that I guess was better than nothing. If you’re not Christian, this album is a bit of a groan. Don’t get me wrong, there are def some highlights, but if you don’t indulge in religion, it kinda comes off as a little preachy. Though, hey, it’s new Kanye, so I mean I’ll take that over inconsistent release dates any day.
  19. Oct 25, 2019
    4
    I've been a Kanye fan since MBDTF. I've listened to almost every album he has made and continue to listen to them to this day. After listening to Jesus Is King I can say this is the first time Kanye truly misstepped. The production is clean, but the content itself is somewhat shallow. I think he could have brought an interesting twist to Gospel. I mean, Ultralight Beam is one of myI've been a Kanye fan since MBDTF. I've listened to almost every album he has made and continue to listen to them to this day. After listening to Jesus Is King I can say this is the first time Kanye truly misstepped. The production is clean, but the content itself is somewhat shallow. I think he could have brought an interesting twist to Gospel. I mean, Ultralight Beam is one of my favorite songs by him. But this album devolves into Kanye simply using Jesus as a mascot. There is no greater insight into religion, faith, love of God, etc. Too often it feels like Kanye yelling "I love my God!" It's disappointing too, as this album has been hyped up for what feels like 10 years. I was really hoping he'd once again hit it out of the park. I'm still interested to see where he goes next, but I hope that he can find a way to meaningfully talk about his religion without ignoring the complexities of one's own faith and belief in God. Expand
  20. Oct 25, 2019
    5
    Although there are some very good songs in there, such as "Follow God", "Everything We Need" and the excellent "Use This Gospel", the whole album is way too much confusing and mediocre at best. Most of the production feels nice but the non-existence of any cohesion in the whole album, makes it surely not good. As for the lyricism, the themes do look decent and sincere for Kanye himself butAlthough there are some very good songs in there, such as "Follow God", "Everything We Need" and the excellent "Use This Gospel", the whole album is way too much confusing and mediocre at best. Most of the production feels nice but the non-existence of any cohesion in the whole album, makes it surely not good. As for the lyricism, the themes do look decent and sincere for Kanye himself but lack any form of originality or innovation, which is very much needed, if you take into account most of his previous albums. It's a very mediocre 5 for me. Expand
  21. Oct 26, 2019
    4
    Hands down Kanye's worst album. An extremely disappointing effort from one of my favorite musicians. Generic lyrics with no real substance, just seem to be basically pandering to the christian crowd. You know it's bad when the leaked versions of these songs with incomplete lyrics are 100x better than the final versions...
  22. Oct 26, 2019
    5
    If any other artist rather than Kanye would have released this album, it would have been panned by critics. I get it, Kanye is a living legend in the hip-hop scene, he has put out amazing albums like My Dark Twisted fantasy and classics like The College Dropout and Late Registration. But please let's stop acting like everything he releases is amazing. Overall this is just a very average album.
  23. Oct 26, 2019
    4
    As a Kanye fan this album was extremely disappointed. We neither needed nor wanted this album. None of the songs are really memorable, or had any time to develop. The length of the songs wouldn’t be so bad if they weren’t so one dimensional. The leaked versions of some of the songs were so much better than the final version, so it got me thinking what happened to this album? To get intoAs a Kanye fan this album was extremely disappointed. We neither needed nor wanted this album. None of the songs are really memorable, or had any time to develop. The length of the songs wouldn’t be so bad if they weren’t so one dimensional. The leaked versions of some of the songs were so much better than the final version, so it got me thinking what happened to this album? To get into specifics, the opening track is extremely uninteresting, the loud snares on Selah are not on the right beat which makes them not very impactful, Follow God is probably the most well made track on the whole album, Closed on Sunday is pretty interesting but I wish it had more substance, On God is a banger but doesn’t really develop at all,Everything We Need has these dull sounding harmonies by Ty Dolla, but it wouldn’t be that bad if we didn’t change the “Uh Hu, Uh, Hu”, I swear the leaked version of this song was so much better, Water is a great sounding song but It never really developed into something great, and the Kanye verse is extremely stagnant and preachy , God Is is extremely uninteresting, same with Hands On, which is also extremely stagnant, Use This Gospel is pretty cool but it also suffers from the same stagnation, and the beautiful arrangement would have better done with some hard hitting drums, and the sax solo at the end was probably the best part of the whole album.extremely disappointed with this album I don’t know what Kanye was thinking. Expand
  24. Oct 26, 2019
    6
    You can’t deny it’s a fascinating listen - and that it contains some lovely moments (the smooth “Water”) - but overall the album feels unfinished, rushed, and contains West’s weakest lyrics to date. West is still the genius he’s always been, but despite his convictions and passion, this album doesn’t seem to accomplish anything substantial.
  25. Oct 27, 2019
    4
    Jesus is King is an odd mixed bag in the fact that songs Like Fallow God, Every Hour, and Hands On aren't terrible. The best song on the album is by far Fallow God as it has the old Kanye flow. This album honestly feels like a lousy chance the rapper album and makes me feel like Kanye is going the same way as Eminem, the one plus is this makes me have a new respect for Ice cube in that heJesus is King is an odd mixed bag in the fact that songs Like Fallow God, Every Hour, and Hands On aren't terrible. The best song on the album is by far Fallow God as it has the old Kanye flow. This album honestly feels like a lousy chance the rapper album and makes me feel like Kanye is going the same way as Eminem, the one plus is this makes me have a new respect for Ice cube in that he still makes good music. Eminem and Kanye take a note from Jay-Z's book and work behind the scenes cause this is just sad. Expand
  26. Oct 27, 2019
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Jesus Is King for sure, but the album is not that good. Sorry Kanye u can do way better. Expand
  27. Oct 26, 2019
    4
    There's not much that you can write about in gospel music, as a singer. But I feel like in rap there was more than much space to create something completely innovative into blending these two genders (that we've seen before together). West failed to do so falling in the same patterns mainstream gospel, and serving disapointing vocals (especially hard to listen in God Is). Lyrics areThere's not much that you can write about in gospel music, as a singer. But I feel like in rap there was more than much space to create something completely innovative into blending these two genders (that we've seen before together). West failed to do so falling in the same patterns mainstream gospel, and serving disapointing vocals (especially hard to listen in God Is). Lyrics are confessive, but predictive and the interpretation ain't convincing. The good tracks: Follow God, Hands On and Selah. Kanye is way too far from being the greatest artist alive today. Expand
  28. Oct 26, 2019
    4
    It's not offensively bad but still bad, and probably Kanye's worst album. Most of the songs are really unremarkable, the gospel is honestly very underused. The biggest problem is probably the mixing, the volume is inconsistent, often the beat is too quiet, or the vocals are too loud. Mild sync problems also. The best songs for me were Selah, Everything We Need and God Is, but I have myIt's not offensively bad but still bad, and probably Kanye's worst album. Most of the songs are really unremarkable, the gospel is honestly very underused. The biggest problem is probably the mixing, the volume is inconsistent, often the beat is too quiet, or the vocals are too loud. Mild sync problems also. The best songs for me were Selah, Everything We Need and God Is, but I have my problems even with them. Really didn't like those pompous drums on Selah, reminded me of Imagine Dragons, Everything We Need should've been longer and needed more variety. The album is also pretty short, with eleven tracks two of which are just intro/outro thingies (Every Hour is actually a neat gospel piece but I didn't like how abruptly it started and ended). The best things on this album are probably fantastic gospel vocals (even if there's not enough of them) and instrumentals. But mediocre lyricysm and mixing problems put the album down immensely, Expand
  29. Oct 26, 2019
    4
    This album is so frustrating to listen to, lots of great foundations that were never explored both sonically and thematically
  30. Oct 26, 2019
    6
    After numerous delays, built up hype and the mystery of Yeezus religious path, JESUS IS KING has risen! However, falls short from the lengthy previous productions of his last project such as MBDTF and Life of Pablo. The album carries a time of 27 minutes total. The production and instrumentals slaps in this song, to really experience the full power of the instrumentals and in-depth, IAfter numerous delays, built up hype and the mystery of Yeezus religious path, JESUS IS KING has risen! However, falls short from the lengthy previous productions of his last project such as MBDTF and Life of Pablo. The album carries a time of 27 minutes total. The production and instrumentals slaps in this song, to really experience the full power of the instrumentals and in-depth, I recommend full, surround sound speakers of the best noise cancelling headphones you can buy. Also, note that Kenny G saxophone solo is so so sweet to the soul. When it comes to Ye and his lyrical flow that we've seen for nine albums straight, it falls short and it's nothing but a disappointment. Expand
  31. Oct 26, 2019
    6
    Jesus is King, the title and the message of the album are one and the same. However, the musicality lacks memorability compared to the rest of West's catalogue. Particularly, the cringe worthy moments where West got lazy with the effects on his vocals on tracks like "God Is" are painfully disappointing. The highlight of the entire record is Kenny G's sultry solo on "Use The Gospel" ..theJesus is King, the title and the message of the album are one and the same. However, the musicality lacks memorability compared to the rest of West's catalogue. Particularly, the cringe worthy moments where West got lazy with the effects on his vocals on tracks like "God Is" are painfully disappointing. The highlight of the entire record is Kenny G's sultry solo on "Use The Gospel" ..the best track on the record by far. Expand
  32. Oct 26, 2019
    6
    Kanye's latest album is certainly something new for him. While I can certainly see why it could be given some amount of scrutiny for its shaky production, I believe that it can be something good. Track-wise, I quite like the first half of the album, while the second half could use some work, but other than that, I do like the new direction Kanye's going, though based off this album, IKanye's latest album is certainly something new for him. While I can certainly see why it could be given some amount of scrutiny for its shaky production, I believe that it can be something good. Track-wise, I quite like the first half of the album, while the second half could use some work, but other than that, I do like the new direction Kanye's going, though based off this album, I think he needs some time to perfect his craft in gospel-rap. Expand
  33. Oct 26, 2019
    4
    Exceptionally not worth the hype. While there are shinning tracks on this album, such as Selah, for the most part the album comes together sloppily and seems incredibly incoherent. The track Hands On has some semi-interesting lyrics about Christian's being the first person to judge Kanye, but besides that the album says nothing more than "God good. Devil Bad." Production wasn't horrible,Exceptionally not worth the hype. While there are shinning tracks on this album, such as Selah, for the most part the album comes together sloppily and seems incredibly incoherent. The track Hands On has some semi-interesting lyrics about Christian's being the first person to judge Kanye, but besides that the album says nothing more than "God good. Devil Bad." Production wasn't horrible, but nothing like some of his better albums. Expand
  34. Oct 26, 2019
    6
    I’m disappointed, I expected more, album has its good points, but I expected more, because it’s Kanye
  35. Oct 26, 2019
    6
    Kanye with the brilliant production as usual, as well as some unusual and inventive flows by his standards - however, the album is held back in my opinion, due to the sheer amount of ham-fisted attempts to push the religious message of the album.
  36. Nov 5, 2019
    4
    I have never been a religious person or listened to religious music so my take is a bit skewed. However, from listening to Kanye growing up this album is promising but another generic album. Gone are the hip hop days of Kanye with amazing beats and fire lyrics. In with the gospel choirs and repeating messages. There is nothing inherently wrong with that but not my taste compared to whoI have never been a religious person or listened to religious music so my take is a bit skewed. However, from listening to Kanye growing up this album is promising but another generic album. Gone are the hip hop days of Kanye with amazing beats and fire lyrics. In with the gospel choirs and repeating messages. There is nothing inherently wrong with that but not my taste compared to who Kanye used to be. Expand
  37. Nov 11, 2019
    5
    Production and beats are on point but its essentially one long Gospel Album.
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 23
  2. Negative: 3 out of 23
  1. Nov 12, 2019
    50
    As with every Kanye album, there’s some magnificent production on a majority of “Jesus Is King” courtesy of Pi’erre Bourne, Timbaland and Boogz, among others. ... Kanye just seems like he’s in his own world; disregarding what’s going on around him. Other times, Ye’s writing delves into eyerolling contradictions and ego-driven intentions.
  2. Nov 12, 2019
    50
    The only saving grace, pun possibly intended, is God Is, where West's voice genuinely cracks as he calls the Lord over a soulful sample. As you might imagine, the production overall is expectedly top-notch. But that's the slight upside to an otherwise tepid attempt at finding commonality with his devout followers—except that we never wanted West to come across as ordinary as the rest of us.
  3. Oct 31, 2019
    70
    Despite the occasional lyrical misstep, Jesus Is King is a wonder of production, housing some of West's most focused and inspired work since 2013's Yeezus.