User ratings in Music are temporarily disabled. More info
Jump Rope Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Be the first to review!

  • Summary: The first full-length studio release from Boston alternative rock band Buffalo Tom in six years was self-produced.
Buy Now
Buy on
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Jun 10, 2024
    This is the best and most satisfying album Buffalo Tom has made since they returned to recording with 2007's Three Easy Pieces, and if it sounds different than these men did when they were in their twenties, it sounds just like who they are, and in this context, that's a gift.
  2. May 30, 2024
    In truth there's little here that wouldn't belong on the 1992 breakthrough, Let Me Come Over, their enduring warm embrace marking Buffalo Tom as a band you can grow old with. [Jul 2024, p.84]
  3. Uncut
    May 30, 2024
    Their trademarked scuffed jangle sparkles on the likes of “Pine For You”, and such downbeat cuts as “Rifled Through” demonstrate that none of their facility for the lachrymose epic has ebbed since “Taillights Fade”. [Jun 2024, p.29]
  4. May 30, 2024
    The band – still comprised of all three founding members – singer/guitarist Janovitz, bassist Chris Colbourn, and drummer Tom Maginnis – approach this record with the same relaxed, effortless vibe that made the trio such a consistently great act throughout the 1990s. The harmonies on “New Girl Singing” and the effortlessly cool vocals on “Recipes” and “Come Closer” sound like a band that have spent decades working together and anticipating where the song goes next.
  5. 70
    Continue to sound just as fresh as they did when the band first formed 40 years ago. [Jul 2024, p.78]